We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location”
other travellers have booked this property
This is us
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This is us
We overlook the village Green
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This is us
We overlook the village Green
This is us from the back
The View from the front of the house
Our large lawn at the rear; Secured all round
The nearest beach approx 1km away
The nearest Beach 1 Km away
Slapton Ley Nature reserve 1 Km away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kingsbridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laurence...
1 review
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The house was wonderfully situated for exploring quaint villages and beautiful coves. The house itself was well equipped in a small village with adequate space for all our family which was three generations.
All the family enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2017
We are so pleased that you enjoy the South Hams as much as we do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdsunli...
Austrey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful place for my mother's 90th birthday!”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We went as a family holiday to celebrate my mother's 90th birthday. The cottage was all we had hoped for. The bedrooms were large and the layout of the cottage suited us just fine. The kitchen is spacious and the gardens were lovely. The separate dining room was excellent for eight people. There is a bbq which we used on a number of occasions and we went to the Tradesman's Arms for the evening meal on the special day. The Church House Inn was also very good although we didn't eat there. There is plenty of garden furniture.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the kind words
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrequentF...
1 review
“Fabulous holiday cottage in idyllic location”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed for a week (2adults, 3 kids and grandparents for part of the week) at Island House and would definitely recommend it. The cottage is spacious, comfortable and had everything we needed for our family holiday. The location is perfect for exploring the area. Great coastal walks, beautiful beaches, friendly pubs and delicious food are all on your doorstep. We were reluctant to leave and would love to come back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Thank you for your generous words. I'm glad that you had a good stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
469eileen...
1 review
“Mrs ”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely cottage very spacious everything there we needed for 8 guests. Village green opposite great for bird watching. Set in a buitiful area local pub served great food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2017
Thank you for your great review. We hope to welcome you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storytell...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 26 April 2017 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here during the winter months due to work commitments in the nearby area. We could not have wished for a better house to stay in. It was perfect!

The house itself is to a very high standard and has a lovely homely feel. Four large bedrooms and an upstairs toilet on the first floor, and a bathroom, living room and kitchen/dining room. The kitchen was great with a very good cooker/oven. All kitchen utilities (pots/pans etc) were there which was handy.

The only slight issue (if that!) was the TV signal wasn't great and very intermittent but that is the general case for rural areas. But the wifi was good.

During the winter months, we used the heating which was very efficient and kept the cottage warm and comfortable despite the cold outside. Despite the longer nights of winter - the views across the valley from the upstairs rooms were beautiful.

The house had enough parking space for about 2/3 cars which was great whilst we worked in the area. The house was located about 4 doors from the pub "The Tradesman" which did very good food (I would recommend the steak and ale pie!) and a little further on was another pub, "The Church House".

Clive, the owner, was brilliant and extremely accommodating for our needs and any queries whilst we were letting for a longer period.

I would most definitely recommend the house to anyone looking to stay in the area. It felt like a home away from home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2017
Thank you for taking such care on our home from home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing