We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
146
28
12
5
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
146
28
12
5
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hope cove hot water well stocked shop excellent campsite toilet block clean facilities great site every morning fresh croissants under canvas summer holidays highly recommend this site spring water sea mist fridge and freezer worst weather beautiful position
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

We’ve just returned home after a fabulous week camping at Karrageen. Phil and Nikki we’re very welcoming and the facilities provided were immaculate....the cleanest camp site we’ve been on!
If you like star gazing this is the place to go and your guaranteed to see shooting stars each night.
In summary this is a wonderful family run campsite which is so near to many beauties our country has to offer and if your like us and fancy a good wine then Phil and Nikki know their stuff.
Thanks again for a wonderful week,
Scott, Katherine and children.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank katheriner290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karrageen, General Manager at Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Thank you for your kind review.

We aim to offer peace and tranquillity and are glad to hear that you achieved this by star gazing.

Yes, all the wines have been tried and tested before they are sold...as is a must surely?

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We absolutely loved our 3 night stay at Karrageen, despite having the worst weather there's been for months! Booking process and communication were excellent - I wanted to make sure we had a pitch next to our friends.

Site itself is in a beautiful setting. Neither of us had any phone signal while we were there, but that suited us perfectly. I believe there is WiFi (I think you need to pay but can't be sure as we didn't use it).

There is one toilet and shower block, but it's not too far even from the furthest pitches (although uphill!) but it was extremely clean all the time. One of the things i've previously hated about camping is grimy, muddy toilets and showers but this was never the case here, even when it had been torrentially raining! You need to bring 20ps for the hot water, which is explained that it is due to the water coming from a spring and they need to heat it themselves.

With 3 young children between us, we found the family shower room invaluable (and also spotlessly clean!).

There is also a fridge, freezer, laundry facilities and 3 washing up sinks.

The campsite is lovely and quiet and still welcoming for families. Our toddlers were very safe and loved it.

Finally the owners are just fantastic and couldn't be more helpful and friendly. They go out of their way to make sure things are ok for everyone without being intrusive.
Thank you Phil & Nikki - we'll see you next summer!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzieb303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karrageen, General Manager at Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

What a lovely review- thank you!

Your review seems to sum up everything we try to uphold for our guests and are so very glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us.

We look forward to seeing you and your family next summer.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed last weekend and the site was great. We'll maintained and great facilities. The weather was atrocious but the setting and Hope Clive down the road are stunning. We headed to Woodlands with our kids and they loved it. It would be nice to come back when it's not 50mph winds and wall to wall rain.

We also loved the pastries and fresh bread. The shop was well stocked.

You might not like the narrow lanes leading to it and need to be skilled I'm the master of reversing.

Overall great site, nice owners and fab location and facilities.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Rachisgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karrageen, General Manager at Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Thank you for your review-what a shame about the weather during your trip but glad to read that you still enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to the South Hams...and that you are skilled in reversing as that is a must down here!

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018

What a great campsite! My girlfriend and I had a wonderful stay at Karrageen for 3 nights. The campsite itself it superbly maintained, nicely laid out with plenty of hedges for shade (were fortunate to be able to choose our pitch), the facilities are thoroughly cleaned every day and there is a very well stocked shop on site. There are plenty of good walking routes nearby and it is an easy enough stroll down to Hope Cove where there is a good pub and bar/restaurant as well as nice beaches, including one a little further on towards Thurlestone. I would definitely recommend Karrageen and would gladly come back myself.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexedwards87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karrageen, General Manager at Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Thank you for your review- although a brief stay we are happy to read that you enjoyed your holiday and will be returning!

Look forward to seeing both you next year.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Ignore the stupid negative review of this place . The people that left it were obviously cretins ! We've just returned from an excellent weekend at this campsite . Phil kindly moved us to a spot of our choice on arrival . Super clean toilets and facilities , amazing views from the top field . Easy and beautiful 15 minute walk down to the beach . Although the site was full on our stay there was so much space that it didn't feel so. Nice shady hedges to camp beside . Really clean and tidy everywhere yet still had a proper country campsite feel to it. Well stocked shop at reception selling beer , wine , cider , cereal , toiletries , meat etc . Cracking beaches down in the cove . All very good. Well done Phil and team . We will return ! .

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JoshHyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karrageen, General Manager at Karrageen Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Your review has made us chuckle, as well as voiced some of our thoughts!!

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to your return next year.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews