We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A home away from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kingsbridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
C-BONE23
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“A home away from home”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, Judy anf Mike couldn't have been more helpful and had laid out a cream tea for our arrival. The kitchen was stocked with essentials to get us going, herbs, tea, coffee and oil for cooking along with all the pots and pans we needed for all the cooking we did (a lot). There were games and a lovely private gatden to sit in. We would highly recommend a visit for a quiet get away or, as we did, hire multiple cottages for all your friends too!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brucewill...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful short stay”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We recently returned from a wonderful short stay at Swallow Barn. A lovely cream tea on arrival. Excellent facilities, really comfortable accommodation. Thank you to Judy and Mick for allowing us to share their beautiful part of Devon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moomaloo2
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Real Home from Home”
Reviewed 16 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We pitched up at Swallow Barn in glorious, sunny weather to a very warm welcome indeed from Mike and Judy. The barn, whilst one of a number, felt very private with its enclosed garden. The property itself was one of the best equipped we have ever experienced and the fresh eggs, cream tea and bread were a real treat. Even though we had a few days of less than clement weather, the barn itself still felt very cosy and a perfect place to relax and wind down. The area is one we already know and love well having spent a few decades visiting family. How gratifying to know there is somewhere we can come back to and continue enjoying such a special part of the country. For anyone else looking to stay at Swallow Barn, check out Aune Valley Farm Shop for its award winning meat and farm shop and, next door, the Valley View cafe for its first class lunches and amazing breakfasts in just the most fantastic setting. Also, the South Devon Chilli Farm is also well-worth a visit and a bite to eat.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty K
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice cottage.”
Reviewed 8 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was a second trip following a very successful visit the previous year. We had a great time, Judy and Mike were as friendly and welcoming as ever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fully equip accomodation
Liked least: A little cold/damp downstairs in the December weather
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllenHatt
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful Haven in the Devon Countryside”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The accommodation was immaculatley clean throughout and there was a lovely welcome gift from the owner. Mike and Judy were very welcoming and helpful - even supplying body boards for our children to save us bringing ours with us. The garden is fantastic and both of our children loved the 'park' as well as the alpacas. Although our weather was mixed, there was plenty to do in the area and when the sun does shine, the local beaches are lovely.
The barn itself is very well equipped and the beds are comfy. A great place for a quiet getaway with the added bonus of having the owners nearby should you need anything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing