We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Book it! Don't hesitate.”
other travellers have booked this property
Windover Farm Cottage, with ample gravelled parking area and wooden gates to the rear of the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Windover Farm Cottage, with ample gravelled parking area and wooden gates to the rear of the cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Windover Farm Cottage, with ample gravelled parking area and wooden gates to the rear of the cottage
the comfy sitting room with inglenook and woodburner
view from the front door
I am very keen on cooking and therefore you'll find a well equipped and practical kitchen in the cot
wellies by the back door
pigs at Windovers
Beer beach around 30 minutes drive from the cottage
you are welcome to look after the hens collect their eggs and enjoy eating them (the eggs, that is)
are whole area is great for walking and enjoying the countryside - walking books and maps are suppli
Rush hour!
views across the farmland to Dunkeswell Abbey
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hemyock, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Rachel B
1 review
“Book it! Don't hesitate.”
Reviewed 24 March 2017 for a stay in October 2016

My husband, our 4-year-old son and I spent 5 days in Devon at this fab cottage last October. So comfortable! The photos are pretty good, but it's so much more comfortble than you expect. Absolutely everything you could possibly need, and some gorgeous touches from the owners - a HUGE freshly baked cake to greet us, delicious home-reared sausages, and chickens providing fresh eggs for breakfast. Plus, Sarah put our groceries away for us before we arrived. Such a nice thing to do. Super friendly. AMAZING value! Open fire. Huge garden wide wide-open views of the countryside. All the paraphernalia you need for young kids. And such a lovely welcome. Loads to do and explore nearby, but also brilliant getaway from city life. Is there more air in Madford than the rest of the country? Don't hesitate. Book it!! We'll be going back for def.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
Hi Rachel, thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. It was lovely to make you and your family welcome and I'm glad the cottage exceeded your expectations! We'd love to welcome you back sometime. Thanks again, Sarah and family xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fan0fdev0...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulously beautiful and clean well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in August 2016

A little piece of Devon perfection. It's in the middle of fields and feels very peaceful and isolated but it's close enough to shops to only be 5 minutes away from milk and bread. The cottage is incredbly well equiped and we've made a full roast with yorkshire puddings, cakes and all sorts in the kitchen although the welcome cake is big enough for a family for a week! The bath and shower are lovely and you can sit in the bath and look out the bathroon window at the sky, hedge and sheep in the nearby field.
In some ways I'm reluctant to write a review as I don't really want anyone else staying there.
We enjoy looking after the hens but you don't have to if you're not interested. Sarah is an amazing and accomodating host and I can't wait to book another stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
63Gary
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A gem of a cottage with fantastic hens!”
Reviewed 21 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Great cottage, well equipped and clean. Comfortable bed and excellent bathroom. Perfectly located in the quiet countryside but close to many interesting places. Sarah and Sheamus made us very welcome as did the hens! The cake (yum!) and goodies left for us on arrival were delicious. If eating out try the Anchor at Seatown. Otter Valley dairies ice cream and the deli at Culmstock were also excellent. We will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8751970
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Cottage. Delightful owners.”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at Windover Farm Cottage for a number of years. The cottage is well maintained and is beautifully appointed with all you could need for a fabulous holiday. The marmalade, bacon and home made sponge cake are delicious and it is a real treat to arrive to find your on line groceries have been delivered and unpacked.nothing is too much trouble for the owners, who are friendly and unobtrusive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Relaxing and Beautiful”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A lovely place in the country. We stayed for two weeks (myself, my husband and our two sons aged 6 and 7). The cottage has everything you need and more. Sarah and her family were very helpful but non obtrusive. Our online grocery delivery was unpacked and ready for us when we arrived as was a delicious victoria sponge cake. The cottage is more spacious than the photos depict and so a two week stay was a delight.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing