We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pilot Cottage, Exmouth for a traditional seaside...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pilot Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Kitchen
Lounge
Lounge  (2nd view)
Double Bedroom
1st Single Bedroom
2nd Single Bedroom
Bathroom
Exmouth Marina
Stuart Line Pleasure Cruises
Sailing on the Exe
Sunset on the Exe
Pilot Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Exmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
J2158VOda...
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pilot Cottage, Exmouth for a traditional seaside holiday”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Pilot Cottage has a large living room, a good size, eat-in kitchen and three comfortable bedrooms. We liked the large living room which gave space for everybody to do their own thing and the separate kitchen which is both large enough to eat in and is well provisioned with high quality equipment and utensils.
Pilot Cottage is quite close to the harbour and train station and is, therefore, convenient for taking boat trips, train journeys and walks along the Exe estuary while being only a short distance from the town centre and the beach.
I first came to Exmouth more than 17 years ago and like it both as a traditional seaside town and because there is a good variety of attractions within easy travelling distances. For nature lovers there are several estuarine and inland nature reserves and the surrounding countryside itself is, of course, very attractive.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L D
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great accommodation for Exmouth”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our 4th year staying at pilot cottage and we have already booked again for next year. Great amenities within the cottage with all essentials covered, with lovely kitchen and in an excellent location. Spacious lounge so that on the odd rainy day our two boys (5&6 yrs) have room to play without getting cabin fever!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarechee...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Excellent location and very well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a very enjoyable stay at Pilot Cottage during a sunny half-term, when Exmouth was very busy. It was a great asset to have a parking space as one of our party had mobility difficulties, although we were very close to the sea and the town, so you don't need a car to have great access to Exmouth beaches and other attractions! (The cycling was great too - we took bikes!)
The cottage is in a very good position near the sea, although there was no sea-view (which we were told about beforehand.) It is very well equipped (particularly the kitchen and bathroom) and a lot of helpful extras are provided.
Pilot cottage suited us very well and I would recommend it particularly for a trip like ours where we took an elderly relative on holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seafront location
Liked least: The lounge furniture could have been more comfortable.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jobrooks3...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely fitted the bill”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I booked Pilot cottage to take my very elderly father away for a week in Devon. It was a perfect venue, warm, comfortable, all facilities almost a home from home. Alfred and his wife were really helpful and friendly, offering pre holiday advice around hiring mobility scooters, on line shopping deliveries etc and suggestions on arrival of restaurants, facilities to try.
Would absolutely recommend Pilot cottage to anyone.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan A
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday at Pilot Cottage, Exmouth, home from home”
Reviewed 21 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Exellent service a lovely cottage we had a lovely holiday. Exmouth has lot's going for it, lovely beach nice walk's very friendly people great bus service. Pilot Cottage is in a perfect location for all amenities and it was lovely and comfortable perfect thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing