We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent spot”
Review of The Grove

The Grove
Ranked #31 of 140 Restaurants in Exmouth
Price range: US$9 - US$23
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Grove is a traditional pub with a large beer garden located on the seafront in Exmouth. We serve seasonal British food and amazing Sunday roasts. Home to one of the best views in Exmouth, our balcony is the place to be in summer! We welcome all comers to the Grove, whether they use two legs or four. We host regular weekly events such as a quiz on Sunday nights and playgroups at Monday lunch not to mention our 'clocking off' every Friday evening at 6pm. On top of that we host big events and always have something going on. Check out our website for more details or follow us on twitter, facebook or instagram to keep up to date on all that is happening at the Grove! We look forward to having you here, from all the family of The Grove!
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Nice pub near the beach, reasonably priced and generous portions. Perfect after a day in the sun. Great view from the balcony and a nice garden area with plenty of seating.

Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroveExmouth, Director of Sales at The Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit here and we look forward to seeing you here at The Grove soon.

Regards
Kay- The Grove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

We have been coming here ever since it changed hands and have always had lovely food .... pies and fish and chips all good..

But it seems that when the summer comes, it’s just about taking the money and forget the quality...

When you ask to speak to a manager, you get the reply we have loads of managers which one ...

The burger and chips was the worst ever.... stall bap almost rock hard.

Didn’t ask for a refund as we are local so try to support the local pubs .... but the attitude from the staff results in you thinking why come back.

Your missing a little trick guys.... keep your locals happy and they will return when all the tourist have gone in the winter !

Two customers who won’t ever be back, such a shame they don’t see beyond the next week of trading!

If you want a cheap burger at high end prices then this is the place to go.

1  Thank budleigh1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroveExmouth, Director of Sales at The Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry you didn't find the service as you would've expected and we will speak to the Chef about your meals.

If you would like to get in contact to discuss this further our email address is- groveexmouth@youngs.co.uk

Regards
Kay- The Grove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Went for a quick early evening meal. Ham egg & chips were fine, draught Estrella Damm wonderful! Service very quick & friendly. It wasn't very good and it wasn't average, but those are the only buttons Trip Advisor allows!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DevonBlueboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroveExmouth, Director of Sales at The Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope you enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to seeing you again soon and i hope you will be more pleased with your visit.

Regards
Kay- The Grove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Visited the grove with family and 2dogs it was lovely to be able to eat inside with the dogs food was really nice the fish n chips were huge and the burger n fries were outstanding wish I'd had more time to spend there and have a few more beers would recommend it to anyone with or without dogs

Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroveExmouth, Director of Sales at The Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review it is greatly appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your time here.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Kay- The Grove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

Nice pub atmosphere and clean, menu very limited on a Sunday with no Good starter choices. Ordered a battered fish starter to share which arrived with bones included! Sunday roast then followed which was very substandard meat very fatty on both lamb and beef dinner with hard roast potatoes and Yorkshire pudding. Having eaten at the Grove for a number of years w now feel it is time to go elsewhere as although the location is great the food should reflect the prices of this place!

1  Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroveExmouth, Director of Sales at The Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Hi there, thank you for your feedback. We will take your comments on board and we will go over this with the chef. We thrive to produce the best standards of food here at The Grove. We hope that you will return to us and find it improved. If you would like to discuss this further please email us directly - groveexmouth@youngs.co.uk and we will be happy to discuss this with you.
Regards
Kay- The Grove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grove also viewed

 
Exmouth, Devon
 

Been to The Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing