We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steak!”
Review of The Powder Monkey

The Powder Monkey
Ranked #6 of 15 Quick Bites in Exmouth
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: J D Wetherspoon Pub. Providing food from 8am - 11pm Daily. Alcohol from 9am daily. All JDW Club promtions.
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

The Powder Monkey is a well presented Wetherspoons pub in the town centre of Exmouth.

Fast service especially via the Wetherspoons app!

No complaints on the food from a family outing of 9! Everybody was happy and tummys were filled. Children even were given colouring which entertained them after food so us adult could enjoy another drink.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Hayley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PowderMonkey2014, Manager at The Powder Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Hello Hayley, thank you so much for taking time to review our pub! It's great to know that we are getting things right and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

Very busy on a saturday afternoon, queuing at bar. Great selection of beers and ales and some are very cheap, so thats why its so busy.
Busy and lively.
Outside seating available.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank rayrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PowderMonkey2014, Manager at The Powder Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Hello, thanks for taking time to review our pub, we were very busy on Saturday but I am glad we still managed to get it right for you. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018

Nice pub just off the Strand. Prices are fair and the food was hot and served quickly. Lots of beer choice. Would recommend.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PowderMonkey2014, Manager at The Powder Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Hello Christopher, thanks for taking time to review our pub and I hope we can welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

We all know that the general Weatherspoon's is cheap and cheerful, which is why we go there - because we know what we are going to get. Sadly, this is one of the lower quality venues in the Weatherspoon's chain. When we arrived, there were several free tables in the 'family' area, all of which had not been cleaned and so, we cleaned it ourselves. The food did not take very long to arrive but all the staff were rushing around to cope with the lunchtime rush and they all looked miserable. When our food arrived, it felt like the server thought we were an inconvenience and she couldn't put the food down quick enough. It did not look like it had been cleaned for a while and it was awful entering and leaving because everyone is stood in the door way smoking! We ate there because the kids were getting 'hangry' and Weatherspoon's is usually a safe bet...however, in the future we will pack snacks and take more time looking at other options.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LMB_JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PowderMonkey2014, Manager at The Powder Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Hello, sorry to hear of your disappointment from our Pub, if you would like to contact us we would love to put this experience right for you. Kind regards Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018

On a stormy, windy day this venue was ideal. We needed a break from the weather & shopping. Interesting history of the building, huge menu & great decor passed the time well. Barman was most helpful when I found they did not have my favourite tipple available. Although busy, he took time to explain in detail all the alternatives. Our food arrived within the specified waiting time & was hot & delicious. I recommend the pizzas, very tastey & brilliant value for money. Just one tiresome feature - two flights of stairs to the loos! Everywhere was clean & tidy thanks to hard working staff. They cleaned & cleared tables fast so no-one was kept waiting long. We enjoyed reading Wetherspoons Magazine while drinking our lovely coffee. No hesitation in recommending a visit here.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank morgano12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PowderMonkey2014, Manager at The Powder Monkey, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Hello, thank you so much for your great review. Sorry about the toilets- it's the same in every Wetherspoon I am afraid (but it does mean we can fit more seats in downstairs)... We look forward to welcoming you again, Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Powder Monkey also viewed

 

Been to The Powder Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing