We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best restaurant in Exmouth”

The Chronicle Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 141 Restaurants in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 8 November 2018

Have been there several times as the menu is varied and the food is well cooked and of a very good standard with generous starters and well presented main courses. I can't comment on the sweets as don't eat them. The service is always attentive without being over so.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2018

I had heard a lot about this restaurant, and so was delighted to have the opportunity to come when I was staying recently in Topsham. I had smoked haddock and spinach quiche as a starter, which was delicately cooked and light and a fish duo for my main course which was truly outstanding. Beautifully cooked, a light sauce and generous portions. Others in my party had crab, scallops and pork roast fillet, and all said how delicious they were. The wine list is modest and the wine good and in all respects this is an outstanding restaurant.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bahram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

In a party of 8, bit of a squeeze but OK. This is a small restaurant but don't let that put you off.

The food, from starter to pudding was absolutely delicious, with generous portions and well presented. Very reasonably priced. Staff were friendly and helpful.

We will be going back next time we are in town.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Another delicious meal at the Chronicle - nothing is to much trouble - if you want to mix and match and you are never disappointed - YUM!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hazel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

A menu packed with local produce, always varied and cooked to perfection by Kathy. Ricardo is always welcoming and affable but don’t mention Brexit!!
Highly recommend

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank AndreaJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chronicle Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Chronicle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing