We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It's All About Location!”

Review of St Crispins

St Crispins
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St Crispins
St Crispins View from the balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
St Crispins
St Crispins
View from the balcony
Lounge
Kitchen
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
New En-suite shower room
New En-suite Shower Room
VIew of the beach and St Crispins
Out to sea
View from the lounge
St Crispins from the other side of the bay
Combe Martin
The garden
Car Parking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NicJoy46
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It's All About Location!”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

St Crispins has the best location bar none in Combe Martin, from the fabulous coastal views to the short walk to the shops (and pubs!). Not only that, the bungalow is considerably spacious and has everything you require for a comfortable stay. Our boys are teens but had a fantastic stay, wifi always a bonus although you had to sit on top of it, but for a family with young children this is an ideal holiday base. It was lovely to be able to have a lazy morning and not rush to the beach to get a spot or worse, drive to the beach and bag a parking space. Combe Martin itself is a lovely village, friendly people, and has every store you require, there would be no reason to get in the car for supplies as it's all here. Particular favourites were the deli, bakery (bread and cakes amazing), Black/White chippy (a must and their pizzas were excellent too), Pack O Cards pub (good food and great garden). The beach is so safe for little ones too with no big waves or undercurrents to worry about, the sea goes out quite a distance and then there's lots of rock pools to explore. Dogs are also not allowed on beach from April to Oct (I think) and this was policed which was good to see, there is another bay round corner which I believe dogs can use. All in all we had a wonderful stay, even though weather was a bit hit and miss, the only negative for us was size of bed in master bedroom we found on the small side and mattress was not very supportive but that's personal choice I guess. There are some great attractions nearby, we particularly liked the Dinosaur Park (great food selection too), Lynton & Lynmouth Cliff Railway, Barnstaple town amongst others we visited. Walk/drive up to bungalow from car park is quite steep and is quite daunting at first but you soon get used to it and keeps you fit!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annette J
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best holiday home ever!”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a fabulous week at St Crispins in June - 3 adults & 4 pugs!
It was the best holiday home ever. I travel to Devon & Cornwall a couple of times every year, but this has been by far the most comfortable home from home ever (with the much added advantage of full 180 degree spectacular views).
A safe garden for the dogs. Excellent top class facilities & equipment. small walk for everything you need (though obviously a little steep). Combe Martin is a lovely unspoiled location; very clean & great for dogs too.
If I win the lottery I will make you an offer to buy St Crispins Alix - my dream retirement home!
Simply Fabulous!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location - the views
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul P
Bury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Awesome View!”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Was lucky enough to find this gem of a property with a view that you can’t stop looking at. The bungalow is modern and clean with everything you would want. The owner was a pleasure to deal with. It is positioned a short but steep walk from Combe Martin with its shops and pubs. You could leave the car parked up outside and not use it. We took our two dogs with us and enjoyed the walks available. The Main beach is not dog friendly but a short walk from it takes you to another where dogs are allowed. Altogether the best holiday property we have ever been to. Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally M
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A perfect rental home with stunning views, all within a short walk of Combe Martin!”
Reviewed 14 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A beautifully updated bungalow with everything you could need for a relaxing week by the sea. The views are stunning and the fact that you can literally walk to Combe Martin in 5 minutes is a real bonus. The booking process is simple and straightforward and the local housekeeper couldn't be more helpful. The mattresses have been replaced since we were there last year and the bathrooms are as fabulous as ever! Powerful showers and constant hot water! The kitchen could use a really large non-stick frying pan but other than that it was ideally equipped. We had another wonderful week, walking to the beaches and taking a short drive to Ilfracombe. Thanks you. We thoroughly recommend this property.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atravelle...
Oxfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic, we didn't want to go home!”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Six adults and two dogs, lots of space and fantastic balcony with the most superb views! We stay in holiday cottages regularly and found St Crispins to be one of the best equipped and cleanest places we have stayed in. It is fantastic that dogs are welcomed, we loved all sitting (dogs snoozing) on the balcony of an evening watching the world go by!

Highly recommend locally is the Dolphin - superb Sunday carvery all fresh with a huge choice of veg, and we were lucky enough to enjoy some live music in the courtyard there too! Also superb is Quackers, its about a mile away from the house so we got a taxi (bag a cab are excellent) there which was £3.50 and walked home as the roads were deserted and we enjoyed the wonderful sea air. Black and White fish and chip shop is also fantastic, good fresh fish and chips at a great price!

If you fancy eating in the local butcher can supply fresh fish to order, we ordered fresh scallops and sea bass, it was off that morning's boat and just tasted so fresh and much better than supermarket bought! It was beautifully prepared too, not a bone in sight.

Woolacombe nearby is a lovely sandy beach, dogs are welcomed on the far end of it and the car park runs right along the top so no problem parking.

Heddons mouth is also a good walk - although if possible avoid the music festival weekends as it is very busy with campers etc making parking difficult.

We are looking forward to visiting St Crispins again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fabulous views
Liked least: mattresses and pillows weren't very comfortable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing