We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location, perfect accommodation.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunrise from the terrace towards Exmouth Sunrise from the terrace towards Exmouth
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Sunrise from the terrace towards Exmouth
Sunrise from the terrace towards Exmouth
View from the dining area towards Torbay
View from the terrace towards Lyme Bay
View towards dining area and terrace from kitchen
TV, Blue Ray, YouView and sound bar
View from hallway through living room
Additional seating and original artwork
View back to kitchen breakfast area
Double bedroom overlooking the sea
Double bedroom overlooking the sea
Bathroom vanity unit
Shower bath
The terrace and entrance to the houses 10m down from the road above
The sea wall below the cottage
View from Coryton cove back towards the cottage and town
View from the top of Langstone Cliff back towards the cottage and town
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dawlish, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Simon E
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location, perfect accommodation.”
Reviewed 22 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The Coastguard cottage at Dawlish is simply perfect. The standard of accommodation is faultless, and the location is sublime. Beautifully decorated and furnished, with the main open plan living space being the heart of this home from home. The owner Peter, really cares about your stay and this care can be felt throughout your stay.
The trains pass quietly below the cottage, never disturbing sleep, but great to watch from the terrace, the view takes in the bay, and we had perfect sunrises and moonsets too!
The walk with bags from the car isn't a real issue, and the quiet locatin adds to the cottages tranquility. High recommended.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2016
I'm so glad you enjoyed it Simon and that the weather was kind. Thank you for your positive review and I would hope that I can welcome you back again one day. All the best. P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaye S
Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage, wonderful view”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This cottage was so lovely, very clean and all the home comforts but its best feature was the amazing sea view especially when it was a bit stormy and the waves were crashing against the sea wall.
There was a lovely decking area at the front of the open living/dining area with a wooden picnic table and a couple of recliners. Just below the decking area there is the railway line runs and although there are frequent trains it just adds to the lovely atmosphere, it also makes for great photo opportunities.
The main bedroom at the front of the house also has the most amazing views of the sea and lovely sunsets/ sunrises.
It was thoughtful to have milk, tea,coffee etc all there ready for your arrival.we also found many items in the cupboards ie: sauces, salt, pepper etc.
I also would like to say that the communication from Peter the owner was great before and during our stay, just checking that all was ok.
I will agree that due to the cottages position it does mean you need to be reasonably fit although we daily went down a set of steps to the seafront and walked along to Dawlish which was only a few mins walk where the is the station, there are also frequent buses and also a lovely selection of shops, many independent traders and lots of great places to eat.
I would also like to mention the changeover team who made sure the cottage cleaned to a very high standard.
As recommended by the owner we did pack light so that it made it easier arriving and leaving the cottage due to its position.
So all in all we had a great time and didn't want to leave but we will always remember those fantastic views.
I would absolutely recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing sea view
Liked least: steps and slope from car to cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2015
That is a great review and you have captured it perfectly! I'm glad you had a good time and I hope we can welcome you back again one day soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
Shaw, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good Times”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Coastguards Cottage was a beautiful cottage with amazing views, a fab holiday had by all the family. Close to the centre of Dawlish and the beach, you can walk along the seafront into Dawlish, beautiful!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the balcony
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2015
Thanks for your kind words and glad you enjoyed it. Hope to welcome you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GermanFam...
Düsseldorf
2 reviews
“A great place to stay ....”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We (parents with three kids and a grandma) spent a wonderful week in Peter's Coastguard Cottage in July.
When we arrived, all rooms were clean and tidy and we immediately felt very comfortable. The apartment was very well equipped in any regards, may it be the kitchen with all necessary kitchen devices or the Smart TV including a Soundbar in the living room. The whole flat had a very modern atmosphere, which was really amazing for us.
Because of the nice wheather we could have breakfast and dinner on the large terrace with a fabulous sea view very often
By the way the sea was less than a minute to walk, giving our kids the chance for swimming and fishing, which they did very successful. So we had some dinners with fresh fished mackerels and sea basses.
The area around Dawlish gave us several opportunities for one day trips. For instances we visited the Dartmoor National Park, Torquay and the beautiful Warren Beach.
Peter is a very nice, uncomplicated and courteous person, who always helped us to make organization of our stay easier.
We definitely would recommend this flat and place to enjoy a wonderful holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2015
We are so pleased you enjoyed it. Our neighbour was grateful of the fishing lessons your sons gave her! We hope that you can make it back here again one day. P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzytap
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in every way ! ”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have stayed in lots of cottages in the last 11 years but none have been as good as this :)
Me hubby and 2 children 11 and 8 absolutely loved it - it's perfect location and sea view - I never grew tired of it and each morning couldn't wait to see what it looked like - every evening and every morning it looked different it was amazing .
There is nothing forgotten in this cottage the attention to detail is second to none :)
We will be back next August that's for sure - but I am regretting sharing my photos with my friends on Facebook as they all want to come too !
It's a must ! X
Thank you peter for making it very personal your communication is fab x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2015
Thanks for your kind words. I'm glad you enjoyed it. It also says alot for the quality of our changeover team. We look forward to wlecoming you again next year. P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$200
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing