We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding”
other travellers have booked this property
No expense spared on the very comfortable king sized double or large twin bed(s)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
No expense spared on the very comfortable king sized double or large twin bed(s)
The exposed original oak beams are perhaps not often seen elsewhere
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
No expense spared on the very comfortable king sized double or large twin bed(s)
The exposed original oak beams are perhaps not often seen elsewhere
A large dining room table for two or plenty of room to invite friends for a meal!
Cosy wood burning stove with a plentiful supply of logs
A sleepy quiet lane - view from Shippon
1 view from shippon
Modern well equiped kitchen
Nearby view - beautiful Widecombe valley
1 view from Shippon Garden - spend time relaxing and watching lambs and foals playing
1 view from garden - quiet and secluded - and what a view beyond!
1 door
Horse Riding from your door at Shilstone Rocks
Our small flock of pedigree Dartmoor White Face Sheep
Horse Riding on your doorstep
Our Herd of Red Devon and Dexter Cattle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ruthirvin...
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 24 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

A home from home feel as soon as you step foot in the Shippon! People are so friendly and could not make you feel more comfortable! They go out of their way and even more with hospitality! Gorgeous place to stay, roomy, picturesque in every way, comfy and has everything you need and more. Also spotlessly clean. Riding is just a step over the road and the people and horses are all lovely! Great riding for any ability! You are made to feel very comfortable and taken out for a faultless hack with outstanding views from start to finish! Would highly recommend the local pubs which are just a 5 minuet walk for food and drink, very good food and always busy, which says it all! The walking and outdoor activities are endless and are like something off a postcard! This is our second year staying and we have been looking forward to it all year! Can't stay away!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BristolMa...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect little hideaway. ”
Reviewed 11 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We have just returned from a short break at The Shippon and can't find anything to fault. It was warm, cozy and felt like home from home so much so that we had to push ourselves to go out!!
Lovely walks on the moors were had when we did venture out and can recommend the local pub The Rugglestone Inn.
If you want to get away from it all then this is the place for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly W
Napa Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Idyllic Peace & quiet in a Historic location”
Reviewed 7 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This is a beautifully restored "cow barn" which is much bigger in life than the photos show. All 4 rooms are spacious especially the bedroom and living area. It would make a lovely romantic get away although we were two cousins doing family research. If you are a horse rider the stables are well equipped and the setting is gorgeous. We spent a week at the Shippon.

Although the barn sits right on the road the traffic is minimal and not heard from within. It is 1/2 mile to the Rugglestone Inn and a bit further to several more Pub choices in Widecombe in the Moor which is a picture post card Dartmoor Village. There is a private garden/picnic area across the road.

The decor and amenities are top notch and Alona is delightful but not intrusive. if you are looking for a real escape this could be it---no cell coverage but the Wifi worked well.

We had a bit of all types of weather from the remnants of a hurricane with wind and rain to bright sunny skies...A car is a must and getting here and wandering about the more is not for the faint of heart as the tall hedgerows and narrow single track roads are ubiquitous. But these two Americans did it so it is possible.

Thank you Alona and Rod for your hospitality! We had a great time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClareTrip...
Caterham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay ! So Cosy !”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Just come back from a lovely week at The Shippon, with my mum, 12 year old
son and my little doggy Yogi !

We all had a wonderful time here, it's so clean, comfy, cosy and quiet! Huge bedroom for the 3 of us! The Ruggleston Inn is a ten minute walk away, which is perfect after a day of walking, serving great pub food !

Would highly recommend.

(Thank you Alona)

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaroleC14...
2 reviews
“A home from home ”
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Absolutely loved staying at The Shippon, very welcoming owner.
A horse ride at their stables is a must

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing