We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family walk”

Roadford Lake Country Park
Ranked #5 of 13 things to do in Okehampton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Walked from Lakeside along part of the Coombe Park route following an Easter story trail. Beautiful area even in the drizzle today. Paths well maintained, although a few muddy spots but that's to be expected. Loved the Jubilee Sundial.

Thank Keturah_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna S, Manager at Roadford Lake Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Good afternoon. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope yo see you back at the lake soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"function room"
in 5 reviews
"water sports"
in 5 reviews
"bird hide"
in 5 reviews
"lovely location"
in 3 reviews
"high ropes"
in 3 reviews
"parking fee"
in 3 reviews
"cake"
in 6 reviews
"wedding party"
in 2 reviews
"gift shop"
in 7 reviews
"cafe restaurant"
in 2 reviews
"nice family"
in 2 reviews
"panini"
in 2 reviews
"lovely walk"
in 7 reviews
"cup of tea"
in 4 reviews
"views are stunning"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful area"
in 2 reviews
"lovely cafe"
in 2 reviews
Filter

22 - 26 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018

We frequently visit Roadford Lake with our dogs and it is certainly a well maintained and lovely place to walk. However lately there has been even more of an increase of dog owners who either can't read the 'dogs on leads' signs, think they are too entitled to obey those rules, or just lack all common sense. Near enough every walk now is met with someone who allows their dogs to run straight up to ours, or people who continue to throw balls for their dogs straight past ours which is infuriating and idiotic. Obviously the SW Trust can't be held responsible for other people's incompetencies, however some sort of enforcement of the 'dogs on leads' rule would be most appreciated, otherwise there is no point having the rule at all.

The off lead area is a great idea too, however the fences are way too low for our sighthounds. I've seen other people really enjoying that area, so thanks. We do also meet other really nice dog walkers who seem equally hacked off at the few stupid ones.

2  Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna S, Manager at Roadford Lake Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Hi Sophie. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Unfortunately dogs off of leads are an ongoing issue at the lake. We have been working hard to promote this rule and launched our 'Top Dog' campaign last year. There are a number of eye catching and friendly signs dotted around the site but unfortunately we still get the occasional dogs off of leads. Our wardens do their best to educate visitors about the reasons why dogs should be on leads and out of the water but cannot be on site 24/7.

More information about our Top Dog campaign can be found on our website - https://www.southwestlakes.co.uk/dog-walking/

We hope to see you back at the lake soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

What a treat! We were offered outstanding service from start to finish. I left it late to book but we were squeezed in at short notice. On arrival we were shown to our table and the carvery procedure was helpfully explained. The view was wonderful, the company and the ambience! The price was very reasonable too. I would definitely recommend Roadford restaurant. Thank you for giving us a lovely Mother's Day

Thank 811traceyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna S, Manager at Roadford Lake Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Wow, what fantastic comments. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we hope to see you back at the lake soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

Was welcomed by all the staff, the view of lake can be seen from the cafe, which is highly recommended by me and my family

Thank aeloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna S, Manager at Roadford Lake Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Good afternoon. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We hope to see you back at the lake soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2018

Lovely spot for picnic and walking. Ideal for journey break from trip to Cornwall.
Also the Lake can be used for fresh water swim but I believe this has to be arranged with certain authorities.
Visited before 2017

Thank Jaimie353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna S, Manager at Roadford Lake Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Good afternoon. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We hope to see you back at the lake soon.

We don't allow swimming in the lake for safety reasons however we do have external swimming events at our sites throughout the year which include the relevant safety cover. More information can be found on our website - https://www.southwestlakes.co.uk/events-upcoming-list/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roadford Lake Country Park also viewed

Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
Lydford, Dartmoor National Park
 
Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Roadford Lake Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing