We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Cottage in the heart of Dartmoor”
other travellers have booked this property
Moorland View Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Moorland View Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
103 reviews
Moorland View Cottage
The sandy beaches of the South Hams are a 50-minute drive away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 103 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ravi S
LONDON (UK)
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Cottage in the heart of Dartmoor”
Reviewed 3 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We spent a 4 nights in this great cottage which managed to blend historical charms with modern comforts (think sonos, spotify integrated through the house!). Everything from the traditional fireplace to the well equipped kitchen made us feel welcomed. The marshmellows with a long fork by the fireplace were a nice surprise as was the bottle of wine and homemade biscuits.

We made good of use of the facilities at Bovey Castle (Pool, Sauna) that were included with our stay and to top it off there was a 2* Michelin restaurant (Gidleigh Park) a short drive away.

Some nice hikes and cute villages completed our stay here. We look forward to returning.

Rav & Sve

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suesawyer
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“5* Luxury Boutique, Idyllic & Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a gem! As my title states, 'Moorland View Cottage' is an amazing, thatched cottage in the village of North Bovey, where nearly all of the other properties are thatched, with an old church, surrounding the village green and the village pub, which is two/three hundred yards down the road from the cottage, (The Ringing of the Bells) which is due to be restored in October 2017. Moretonhampstead is the nearest small town with a Cooperative Food Store, a delicatessen, a butcher and a number of pubs, including a very interesting and historical Vintage Motor & Motorcycle Museum, located at the town's Bus Depot, exhibiting about 100 vehicles. It is run by an enthusiast and admission is £6.00 pp.
The Cottage is beautifully furnished, styled and equipped to the highest standard, with everything from cosy nights in, cooking a meal in the well-equipped, but quaint kitchen, accompanied with the complimentary, red wine from friendly and helpful Suzy, the owner, (thank you so much) lighting the open fire with the supplied coal and logs, flickering candles that are offered, listening to the high spec Bose hifi, that's controlled from every room, before slipping into the white, fluffy bath robes, after a soak in the copper, deep bath, using any of the top quality supplied toiletries, a scented candle or two in the bathroom corner flickering, (or a shower under the rainshower shower head above) or amusing the hours away, sat on the comfy sofa, or on the window seat, admiring the pretty back garden, with one of the many supplied games, books or House & Garden magazines, before heading upto the the most comfortable bed that we have ever slept in; to sitting outside on the vintage-styled bench, with a chilled G & T at the rear in the small, cottage garden, the aroma of sweet roses close by, listening to the birds, amongst the herbaceous-full borders, with a path leading to the back, white gate, looking up to Dartmoor beyond.This is luxury to us. Even on the pretty landing, a computer is offered for guests to use.
The attention to detail is second to none and the added bonus of guests having free access to Bovey Castle's Spa, only a few miles away, was the 'icing on the cake' for us, as we enjoyed an hour and a half swim in the heated, indoor pool there. (Champagne cream tea are also highly recommended there too.) My partner and I were in 'cottage heaven' and we did not want to leave after our two night stay. We will definitely be returning and for longer, I hope!
Thank you, Suzy, for letting us have a taste of pure indulgence and comfort in a beautifully furnished and cosy cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The added treat of using Bovey Castle's Spa facilities.
Liked least: The wooden beam across the floor when entering the kitchen that I didn't see as I went flying, but I'm sure it has a purpose!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra...
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful & idyllic Honeymoon Cottage Stay”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at the cottage for our honeymoon at the end of August and our stay was absolutely perfect! The cottage is so cosy, luxurious and we were very lucky to have beautiful weather to enjoy the garden and local scenery. After a long drive down on the Sunday after we got married, we were greeted by a lovely card, bottle of red wine and savoury biscuits - a perfect pick me up. The cottage is full of beautiful furniture and everything has been considered for your comfort - slippers and dressing gowns, wellies if you need them, picnic baskets and a cupboard full of games that you can spend an evening enjoying alongside a bottle or two of wine, just to mention a few. We could have spent our entire trip at the cottage but did venture out enjoy some of the local walks (maps and direction provided), Bovey Castle (the afternoon tea is amazing) and some of the local pubs. Thank you for a wonderful stay and a perfect start to our married life. We hope to have the opportunity to return, when the weather is a bit cooler so we can make use of the lovely fire. Thank you for a wonderful stay - would highly recommend!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simple incredible”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We spent part of our Honeymoon here and couldn't have asked for a more comfortable, romantic, cosy, quintessentially English Country cottage.

From the moment of arrival to the day we had to leave everything was just perfect. A gorgeous cottage garden in which to enjoy an afternoon G&T, a capable kitchen and a sumptuous bath.

The location was perfect for us. Pic-nic's on The Dartmoor Tor's, Afternoon Tea at Gidleigh Park and Spa treatments at Bovey Castle. Gorgeous, scenic walks with Dartmoor ponies, Highland Cattle colour-filled landscapes.

We can't wait to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah E
1 review
“Amazing place to stay”
Reviewed 7 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A beautiful too short break in a fabulous cottage. The decor, attention to detail and setting is perfection. We loved it so much we have booked again for a much longer break next year.
If you are thinking of booking I would say do it, it's worth every penny. Suzy has thought of everything and more.
A special, special place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing