We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Even better than last time - great place to stay!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Stable Cottage

The cottage and garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage and garden
Stable Cottage and duck pond The verandah
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
The cottage and garden
Stable Cottage and duck pond
The verandah
The living room
The kitchen area
The bedroom
King sized bed
The bathroom
Free logs stacked nearby
View of the farm from King Tor
View from the cottage
View from the cottage
Enjoying the River Dart
The farm in the snow
King Tor from the farm
The duck pond
The hens!
The lane to the moor, abundant wildflowers
The farmhouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Catherine...
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Even better than last time - great place to stay!”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This was our second visit here and the experience was even better (if that were possible) than last year due to much better weather and the improvements that Susie & James have made over the winter months. Sat out on the veranda and all we could hear were the birds and a few sheep. If you want peace and tranquillity with stunning views, than this is definitely for you. The cottage is well equipped and you hosts very welcoming. Look no further for your break - this is it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and Quiet
Liked least: can't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnieOakl...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A most beautiful and idyllic sanctuary in breathtaking surroundings!”
Reviewed 4 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

My partner and I spent from Christmas Eve until New Year in this truly amazing place. It is the first time that we have stayed in Dartmoor.
It was exactly what my partner and I were looking for during the Christmas period. We wanted a cottage that was away from the hustle and bustle, and somewhere that we could take our 3 terriers, and that's exactly what we got. Perfection.
James and Suzie, the owners, are absolutely lovely and perfect hosts. They were extremely welcoming and helpful during our stay. As it was Christmas, they had decorated the cottage and had even put up a Christmas tree for us. And they had also left us a welcome pack of bread, eggs and milk for when we arrived.
The cottage itself is just perfect. It is single storey, and the rooms are deceptively large for a small cottage, if that makes sense. We had 3 dogs and 2 adults and did not feel at all cramped. Plenty of room to stretch out.
There is ample kitchen and living space. All kitchen utensils, crockery etc are provided. The cooker works fine and there is constant hot water.
In the living area, there is a warming log burner with an endless supply of logs provided by James. There is also wifi, freeview and a DVD player.
The bedroom is big and the bed is to die for. It was just so comfortable with the feather down duvet and pillows. I found it very hard to get out of, if I'm truly honest!
The bathroom is large too with a lovely deep bath tub and instant hot water.
The cottage is part of a farm and is set off the main road. You literally walk out of the front door onto the moor. Great for lovers of the outdoors. i adore the place and the area now.
If you are looking for somewhere to get away from busy life, then this is definitely the place for you.
I truly cannot recommend this cottage enough and will definitely be returning, now that I've found it. I was very sad to have to return home after our fantastic stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed, duvet and pillows and log burner. But there is too much to like to mention.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike at all.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. When you return I hope you will enjoy
the improvements that we have made over the past two months,
photos to follow in the spring!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narayani...
1 review
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed 23 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

we had a beautiful time, the cottage was cosy and perfect for our needs. The local area was absolutely stunning and our hosts were friendly and helpful. We will definitely return some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage, nice and quiet, well equipped, lovely hosts.”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Lovely cosy stone cottage with great walks, great views, and as much peace and quiet as you could ever ask for. The cottage was very well equipped with only food and towels needed to complete your stay, Susie and James were lovely hosts and a delight to talk to. The covered veranda was a great place to sit and read, watch the ducks on the pond, or look at the views, or maybe have a snooze..... WiFi was brilliant as we could get the latest weather. Good training experience for our Westie puppy who learned not to bark at the ducks after a while. Weather was poor at the start of the week but it is Dartmoor after all and we were equipped for it - great to potter round the villages and imbibe the local fare! Didn't need the log burner as it was August. This was our first visit but we'll be back.................

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character & peace
Liked least: narrow lanes can be scary if you are not used to them!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jax123456...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best little cottage in Dartmoor”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

If you are looking for a traditional stone cottage in a beautiful setting look no further. We had a wonderful 7 days of walking and peaceful evenings at this wonderful place. No traffic sounds, just the ducks and sheep making themselves heard. Great log burner and all the amenities you require for a country holiday. Your hosts James and Suzie made us feel very welcome and ensured we had everything we needed for our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$74
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing