We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Chestnut Oak
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Chestnut Oak
Living room Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Welcome to Chestnut Oak
Living room
Kitchen
downstairs bedroom- queen bed
upstairs bedroom front- king
front porch
upstairs bedroom- back- king bed
fire-pit and gazebo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Lookout Mountain, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KattheYat
New Orleans
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had a great time at the Cottages in the Clouds. The cottages were wonderful, as were the owners. We started off in Maple Cottage, but experienced a small problem with the fridge. The owners were quick to let us move into Oak Cottage. Both cottages look even better in person than in the pictures. The cottages were spotless, and the beds very comfortsble. Both had everything we needed. So much nicer than staying in a hotel. Hope to stay longer next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottages were nicely furnished and very comfortable.
Liked least: WiFi was not very strong--did not bother me but my kids did not like that.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2017
Thank you for leaving us a great review!! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you might return. Please tell your family and friends about us, too

Susie Gravitt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelgir...
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Peaceful surroundings- Stayed at Old Hickory”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed in the Old Hickory cabin and were overall pleased with our experience. From the time I booked the cabin, until the conclusion of our stay, my dealings with the owner, Susie, were very positive. I found her to be very prompt in answering my initial questions and quite responsive to my request to allow us to check out slightly later than the posted 10 AM on our last day. We did have the privilege of actually meeting Susie when we were there and found her to be working hard cleaning the hot tub at one of the cabins. She told us that she cleans all the hot tubs herself because she is picky about how they are done. We thought it was pretty impressive that the owner does some of the hardest work there, in addition to managing the reservations so well.

The cabins are in good repair and the grounds are nice. We really enjoyed the gazebo swing in the evenings and found the place to be very quiet, especially at night. In this cabin, there is one bedroom and a bath on the main floor and two bedrooms (including the master) upstairs, along with the larger of the two baths. We found the upstairs to be extremely hot and had to use a couple of fans we luckily brought along in order to be able to sleep at night. There is only one air conditioning unit for the whole cabin so you really have to turn it down on the main floor in order to get the upstairs to cool at all. The cabins are a little further out of town than we realized but we were able to get to all the Chattanooga attractions within 25 minutes. The cabin is fully furnished and we lacked for nothing. A very good experience and we would stay there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful, well appointed and in good repair
Liked least: Upstairs too hot
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce K
Louisville, Tennessee
1 review
“perfect”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed in the Maple cabin. It exceeded my expectations. It still looks new and was very clean. We felt like we were in a private cabin in the woods and the grounds were very nice. I loved the gazebo with the glider. We wanted to have a bonfire in the firepit but we got rained out. I would highly recommend any of the cabins there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
Donna, It was very nice to meet you as well and we are glad your stay was enjoyable.

Susie Gravitt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CuriousMa...
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Chestnut Oak cabin is in a beautiful wooded location, near attractions. It was comfortable, clean, well-equipped and attractive. Though we didn't use the pull-out couch, it would allow cabin to sleep eight. There are four or five other cabins on the property, which would make it a great property for a family reunion. The way the cabins are situated did not impinge on our privacy. We never even heard the people in the neighboring cabins.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2017
I just saw this review and want to say how much I appreciate it. Please come back when you can.

Susie Gravitt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Pleasant, United States
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and functionality of the cabin #4 Chestnut Oak
Liked least: Height of beds for little one, only one mixing bowl and a little dated kitchen supplies
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Jul 2017
Thank you for choosing our cottages as a 'meet in the middle' location for our family to get together. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope that you might return someday.

Susie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;