We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace and Quiet for a change”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Chestnut Oak
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Chestnut Oak
Living room Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Welcome to Chestnut Oak
Living room
Kitchen
downstairs bedroom- queen bed
upstairs bedroom front- king
front porch
upstairs bedroom- back- king bed
fire-pit and gazebo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Lookout Mountain, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LRVann
Waynesboro, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Peace and Quiet for a change”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We found Cottages in the Clouds when we were looking for a place halfway between where the grandparents live (Alabama) and where we live (Virginia). This was almost the exact mid-point, so that was the initial plus. When we got to the cabin it was SO quiet it was actually possible to hear the leaves falling in the woods and the birds chirping in the trees. We had NO plans to do anything in the local area, just wanted to spend time together and relax. This was the PERFECT place for that. Most of the family enjoyed hiking around the property - mainly just walking down to the little pond and identifying critters, but also exploring in the woods behind the cottages. It was enough to wear out a 10yo and a 13yo and they actually stayed off electronics for a while! It was the perfect cottage for our group as the grandparents took the downstairs bedroom, the parents took one upstairs bedroom, the teenage boy opted to sleep on the couch, and the 10yo girl got to have a king-size bed all to herself!
Very close to shopping for those items that get forgotten when packing, nice drive to Trenton, close to Chattanooga (though I wouldn't recommend driving down Ochs Highway as it is EXTREMELY steep with sheer drop offs....nerve-wracking to say the least, and the way that Google Map and Mapquest both gave us!).
Just perfect for a long weekend to catch up and hang out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: being far enough away NOT to hear traffic, but close enough to run into town if needed
Liked least: liked everything about the property, didn't like that other renters thought it was ok to leave beer bottles around the fire pit
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2017
Thank you for choosing the Cottages in the Clouds as your "Meet in the middle" place. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will consider a return trip.

Susie Gravitt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Waterloo, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Beautiful location, cozy and clean!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We really enjoyed staying at Chestnut Oak. The location is quiet and beautiful, just a perfect spot for a cabin. My kids liked the trail in the woods and building a fire. The adults absolutely loved the glider at the gazebo..so relaxing! The cabin was extremely clean, with lots of room. Loved having 2 full bathrooms and a big kitchen table that all 6 of us could sit together. We were well pleased with the cabin!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That is was extremely clean
Liked least: The doors upstairs were squeaky
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2017
Thank you for posting a wonderful review. I am so glad you had a good visit and hope that you will spread the word about our place and return when you can.

Susie Gravitt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ttarvin
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great weekend vacation house”
Reviewed 20 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We had 4 adults and 2 toddlers for a 2 night stay. The cottage was very clean and comfortable. Would rent it again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Was advertised as having WiFi, but we could not connect
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2013
Thank you for your review. Susie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speedy197...
Paragould, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Cabins in quite setting.”
Reviewed 26 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We enjoyed are stay at your lovely cabin in the clouds. The check in was very easy and the place was clean and ready for are nice vacation. Almost everything was there in the kitchen we need to cook with. We spent every afternoon on the porch just enjoying the area. Everything was well maintained even had a extra light bulb that we had to use on the front porch light. Don't have any yard lights to keep you awake at night. The first night we could not believe how dark it was out there. The beds were good but a little high off the floor for older people but the foot stool sure helped out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved the quitness and being able to cook and just relax after a busy day in town.
Liked least: The roads up and down the mountains.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you choose to return. Susie and Stan Gravitt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Reviewed 30 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Jul 2012
Thank you for such a great review !! We enjoyed meeting you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$170
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing