We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect getaway in a stunning location”
other travellers have booked this property
The patio at Mill Barn has beautiful views over the Wray River Valley and into the village
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The patio at Mill Barn has beautiful views over the Wray River Valley and into the village
Mill Barn is approached through its private garden complete with table, chairs, storage and BBQ Mill Barn has a private, fenced garden complete with table, chairs, storage and BBQ
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
The patio at Mill Barn has beautiful views over the Wray River Valley and into the village
Mill Barn is approached through its private garden complete with table, chairs, storage and BBQ
Mill Barn has a private, fenced garden complete with table, chairs, storage and BBQ
View from main gate towards Mill Barn
A view from Mill Barn's garden, with disused railway bridge in the background
Mill Barn's parking space
The main floor at Mill Barn, looking from the kitchen towards the living area
The living area with warming woodburner
The kitchen, recently upgraded with new oven and ceramic hob
The kitchen and door to the patio and garden
Snuggle under the duvet together in the cosy bedroom
Upgraded bathroom with new shower and cubicle
The village centre is just a 5 minute walk away
Walk to the oldest part of Lustleigh
Step back in time with a walk through Wreyland in Lustleigh, the village within the village
The entrance to the local pub in the village centre
The Cleave pub offers good beer and food
Hisley Bridge on the River Bovey is just a 20 minute walk from Mill Barn
Becky Falls on Dartmoor is accessible as part of a day's walk from Mill Barn
Our local farm shop, Ullacombe. Do you dare take on the Big Barn Breakfast?
Hound Tor is great to explore and is a short drive from Mill Barn
Mill Barn is located on the edge of Dartmoor with its stunning landscapes and rugged outcrops
Traditional Clapper Bridge at Bellever Plantation on Dartmoor
The church at Widecombe-in-the-moor, the cathedral in the moor, is just a short drive away
The coast is about half an hour away. Try the boat trip from Totnes to Dartmouth Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lustleigh, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Grace D
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect getaway in a stunning location”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Great little cottage! Mill Barn is small but ideal for a one week getaway.

Lustleigh is a gorgeous village, just what we expected from our trip to Devon. The access is narrow but I think that's part of the charm! We really enjoyed sitting outside with a cup of tea in the morning wathcing the sun climb over the vally and seeing all the birds.

The owners made us very welcome and had lots of ideas for walks and days out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location!
Liked least: Knocked my head on a beam
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2013
Thanks for feedback. We hope to see you again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia W
Milton Keynes
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Plan to return!”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

I stayed for a long weekend at Mill Barn with by husband for a break away from the City. Whilst well located to travel around Devon, you do feel like you've really, 'got away from it all' to a beautiful and tranquil place. The barn itself we found to be very cosy with all the amenities you'd expect. The owners especially were very helpful and made us feel extremely welcome. It was apparent from their visitors book that guests frequently returned, as we fully intend to do early next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: Lack of wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2013
Great! Thank you for the feedback. It's always great to hear that our guests have enjoyed themselves.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie J
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal honeymoon getaway”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Mill Barn is a clean, tidy and well equipped self catering barn for two people.
It is an ideal location and accommodation for a romantic countryside getaway with nearby cities (Exeter, Plymouth) to explore.
The barn is well presented with everything you'd need including towels, bedding and kitchen utensils, all clean and tidy and a small dining area.
The owners are extremely welcoming and friendly and more than happy to give directions to the local farm shop where you can stock up for your week's supplies.
We particularly enjoyed the wood burning stove of an evening while we sat on the sofa and planned our next day from the copious suggestions in the information box.
Would recommend the barn and location to people looking for a couples/small family/pet friendly holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and presentation of the barn
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed such a special week at Mill Barn. I hope the memories live long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshir...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great location but some key issues with accommodation.”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

At first impression, Mill Barn looked idyllic, set in beautiful surroundings nestling into the hillside. A ‘Hobbit house’ we first called it, however looks can be deceiving. You walk immediately into the kitchen then through to a lounge with the bedroom and bathroom downstairs. The immediate impression of the ‘first floor’ was very good; clean, tidy and pleasant. However going downstairs to the bathroom, we were extremely disappointed by the dreadful state of the shower cubicle; tiles that at one point had obviously been painted over, black mould/mildew around the sealant and a metal toiletry holder, hooked over the shower attachment, which was heavily corroded, as indeed was the shower drain cover. We are always happy to accept ‘basic’ but clean bathroom facilities, but felt this shower was well below the standard one would expect.
The bedroom looked ok at first, however we noticed a few damp marks on the wall and flaking paint. As we were on holiday and had been looking forward to this break for some time we tried to ignore these issues. However as the week progressed it was obvious that the damp problem was worse than originally anticipated. It does say in the welcome hand book that as the property is old "it doesn't handle moisture very well" and the advice is to have the windows permanently ajar. This we did but after a few days of getting into a damp bed it was clear the issue was considerably worse than suggested in the welcome book. We live in a converted barn ourselves and know the problems with an old building, damp can be one of them, but to try and disguise it as anything else doesn’t work. Any clothes left in the room overnight were unwearable the following morning.
The sofa was uncomfortable, a spring had gone on the one side, only bath towels were provided, and they were old and hard. And on the subject of linen the tea towels provided for the kitchen were very old, tatty and carried a strong unpleasant odour.
My husband suffers with asthma and sleeping in the damp atmosphere of the bedroom we believed was making his condition worse as the week went on, so we curtailed our holiday a day early. We tried to contact the owners on leaving to complain and explain our early departure; however they were out so our complaint was recorded by email on our return home.
On a positive note, Mill Barn is a great base for exploring South Devon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bathroom and damp bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2013
Thank you taking the time to write your review of our property Mill Barn.

We are tremendously upset by your review as well the tone and content of the emails you sent us following your stay. We provided you with a refund following your complaints although we do take issue with many of the points you have raised.

For five years we have been welcoming guests to Mill Barn and we have had the pleasure of hosting almost 200 couples in that time. In that period we have not received a single complaint so I suppose that statistically this was going to happen one day.

At no point during your stay did you express any concerns regarding Mill Barn, this despite us speaking on numerous occasions. When you left one day early you informed us that you had left for ‘family reasons’. It was only on your return home that you informed us of your dissatisfaction and desire for a refund.

As we provided you with comprehensive answers to the issues you raised as well as providing you with a refund all my other comments are directed to future potential guests.

Since these guests stayed we have been fortunate enough to have been fully booked. Guess what? No complaints, just happy people enjoying their holiday in a beautiful location.

The bathroom is cleaned by a professional cleaner on the day our guests arrive. Like many bathrooms there can be problems with discolouration to the grout and sealant. The bathroom has been re-painted and the grout and sealant refreshed. The result is very smart and welcoming.

One of Mill Barn’s quirky and charming features is that it is built into the side of a hill. This means that the lower ground floor retains a higher humidity and constant temperature. The notion that somehow ‘clothes were unwearable’ and that bed was damp is ridiculous.

We believe that Mill Barn offers guests a welcoming and comfortable base from which to explore Dartmoor and Devon. Please take the time to look at our website, YouTube video or call us to discuss your needs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing