We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fully relaxed week away”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Chris J
2 reviews
“Fully relaxed week away”
Reviewed 3 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay. We arrived to an clean, fresh and welcoming environment with a lovely note and basket of local produce. I'm a keen cook and was able to keep us fed well in the beautiful kitchen which appeared to have every utensil and professional looking appliance you could possibly need. During the week we saw two beautiful deer who decided to eat from the vegetable patch in the garden (which was full of lovely looking veg along with the fruit trees in the front). The bed was very comfortable and ensured a good week worth of sleep. The local area was friendly and we also took advantage of the 2 Michelin star restaurant within 5 minutes walk from us to experience some fine dining.

All in all, a very pleasent get away!

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smashtopi...
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful, has everything ”
Reviewed 2 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

A beautifully updated residence just 1.5 miles from civilisation (Chagford), but remote enough to feel like you're really in the countryside.
We had a deer in the garden one day, and another day another one, who stayed for ages! The back garden is open onto woodland!

There is another residence next door that I was not aware of until arriving as the pictures seem to indicate it is secluded.
It was only an issue one day when the neighbours were outside all day, making a lot of noise, so the peace and tranquillity was spoiled.

Very well appointed and everything is set out to be easy, comfortable, and convenient.

Definitely follow Adam's directions and go to Chagford, then down the road as advised. The same going out, as the other way is very challenging.

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
3 Sep 2018
Thanks for your kind words. My elderly parents live in the cottage next door and maybe they were having a get together outside in the sun with their friends that day. They are normally very well behaved and quiet! I hope that that occasion did not spoil your stay too much. We are glad that you loved the place and we hope to see you again in the future. Best, Adam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steviev60
Camberley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One word - perfect!”
Reviewed 26 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Well what can I say?

We’ve been home for less than 24 hours and we’re missing Devon and One Gidleigh Park badly!

The house is gorgeous..beautifully furnished, stunning garden and so so peaceful.
The surroundings are also wonderful, with walks from the door (but don’t make the mistake we made and do walk 3 on a Monday..The Northmore Arms is closed on Mondays!).

Chagford is a great little village with multiple choices for eating and drinking plus a handy supermarket for all your daily needs.

We got into the routine of calling into the Three Crowns for a late afternoon drink and wind down after our explorations. It’s a lovely place with friendly staff.

Then after arriving back to OGP my treat was to sit in the comfortable chair in the glass room with a G&T and totally chill and relax…bliss! We were lucky with the weather but even though it was raining on our last evening just sitting there and watching the rain fall was a wonderfully calming experience..and seeing a deer wander into the garden made it even more magical.

One Gidleigh Park is a truly special place and we can’t recommend it highly enough.

Looking forward to returning again as soon as we can.

Date of stay: August 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
26 Aug 2018
Thanks very much for your very kind words Steve - it's that you loved the house and the area. We think it's very special - in all seasons! We would love to have you back to stay again at some point in the future. All the Best, Adam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneNewsu...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
Reviewed 11 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Seeking a base for our walking holiday, and being unfamiliar with Devon, I was immediately drawn to the pictures of the property and we were certainly not disappointed. Spotlessly clean, very high quality furnishings and every amenity you could wish for. What the pictures fail to portray is the perfect peace, birdsong, carpet of bluebells and feeling of being part of nature. One evening we were visited by two deer exploring the garden and on another some inquisitive sheep came by to say "hello". Close to Chagford, a charming village with many dining options, we had the perfect base for exploring the stunning surroundings. Thank you Adam, for allowing us to enjoy your beautiful home.

Date of stay: May 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
13 May 2018
Thank you very much Jane. We are really glad that you enjoyed our house and the area. We would love to see you again at some point in the future! All the Best, Adam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gorgeous garden, luxurious accommodation, great country location, close to Gidleigh Park.”
Reviewed 11 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We were drawn to stay here because of our desire to eat at Gidleigh park and found this accommodation by an internet search. It was perfect. Staying in this converted cooks house allowed us to walk in the moors, explore the local area, and eat in the Michelin restaurant 5 minutes walk away. Adam was friendly, informative and very welcoming. A lovely architect conversion, warm with a living room wood burner and underfloor heating in some areas, (much needed in February), beautiful bathrooms, comfortable beds, and a huge, well equipped, modern kitchen with white corion surfaces (we took special care as instructed). This is the sort of house one sees in the glossy mags and dreams of living in. Out of the windows in February there were snowdrops and the valley views, in the photos the summer garden is crammed with gorgeous things. We would definitely recommend and return.

Date of stay: February 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
11 Mar 2018
Thank you very much for this great review! We would love to have you back at another time so you can experience another season here in Devon. Autumn and Spring are also georgeous! All the Best, Adam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.