We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Cottage for music lovers .”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Stables

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large Master Bedroom - Twisted oak beams, vaulted ceiling, antique furniture
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Large Master Bedroom - Twisted oak beams, vaulted ceiling, antique furniture
Spacious Lounge -  Cosy & peaceful, wood burner, complete entertainment package
The Orangery - Tranquil open space with fruit trees and flowers
Character Kitchen - modern appliances, country-style units, terracotta floor tiles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Buckfastleigh, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
JudeGreen
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Cottage for music lovers .”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at the Old Stables. The place was well equipped and spotlessly clean. The welcome basket was a nice touch. My husband had brought his own guitar, but he enjoyed playing the one at the cottage too and we both tried out the Beatles tunes on the lovely grand piano. The woodburner worked a treat and made for cosy evenings in front of the impressive TV. All in all this was a great place. Two small points the bath is very high sided and would be a challenge to anyone who is not completely able bodied and is a bit time consuming to fill. There are several rubbish bins close to the cottage, which hadn't been emptied and it wasn't that clear which one was ours. Steve has this in hand now. Overall a really splendid holiday base.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gws0110
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, well appointed accommodation in a quiet area - useful for travelling around South Devon”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I travelled with my wife and my 11 and 13 year old with a view to travel around Devon. We had a great time visiting the coastal areas including Paignton, Brixham, Dartmouth, Totnes and more. Great for boat trips, beaches, ice creams and cream scones! Buckfastleigh is a quiet little village but a great base to travel from. Buckfast Abbey is a nice place to visit and can be walked in about half an hour - check out the Homity Pie at the cafe! The train is within walking distance although we never used it as we ran out of time! The accommodation had everything we needed from left over foil and kitchen roll to baking tins and a yorkshire pudding tray! The jacuzzi was a luxury and was used daily! The only negative for me personally, as an asthmatic, I found it difficult to cope with the feather filled cushions and duvets used throughout the property (maybe a mention on the property listing for other allergy suffers would be useful). The children enjoyed the large TV and the piano, which was played regularly - sorry neighbours! When we arrived there was a small basket with fresh bread, butter, milk and jams, which was very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large TV, plenty of space, well equipped kitchen, nice bath/bathroom & quiet area
Liked least: Feathers
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mecooper8...
1 review
“Delightful Cottage”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We spent two nights at The Old Stables over the May Bank Holiday weekend. It is a charming little cottage tucked away down a private pathway in the heart of Buckfastleigh. You enter the property through a lovely orangery, which leads onto an open plan living room. There is an excellent woodburner, big TV with Sky and a cracking collection of DVDs. The kitchen is well equipped and leads onto a private courtyard. The downstairs bedroom is a twin room and very nicely presented. There is also a baby grand piano in the living room (which could do with tuning). Upstairs is the master bedroom with a very comfortable double bed and skylight windows. There is also a beautiful bathroom with a jacuzzi bath. The bath takes a while to fill but it is worth the wait. There is a shower head in the bath, although no facility for a standing up shower. This didn't both us though as it was nice to have a soak in the jacuzzi every day. You can park easily on the street less than a minute's walk from the property. The village has a Co-Operative supermarket and various restaurants. We had a lovely Indian takeaway from the Mogul Palace, which is a 10 minute drive away near Buckfast Abbey. The Abbey is worth a visit too, with its lovely restaurant and very fine church. Buckfastleigh is well-located for exploring south Devon. It's about 30-45 minutes from Salcombe and Dartmouth. We were very touched with the generosity of the host. We arrived a bit early so we left our things at the cottage whilst Paul finished cleaning for our arrival. When we came back the place was immaculate. There was a complimentary welcome basket of organic bread, butter, milk, jams, chocolates and Prosecco. The towels were beautifully folded like swans. Paul even came back later to deliver a new bag of kindling and fire-lighters. This place really is home from home. It was excellent value for our short stay and we would very much like to visit again. Thank you very much indeed!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
06turtle0...
Reigate, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sweet Cottage nestled down a side passage”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Really lovely cottage nestled down a side passage.
The cottage has been decorated to a high standard and has a lot of charm and character.
The master bedroom has the original exposed beams which are stunning, the bathroom is equipped with a hot tub style bath. Downstairs there is a comfortable bedroom with two single beds, a lounge and a fully equipped kitchen, although missing a cheese grater!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the cottage and the space it offered for a family of four
Liked least: Woodlouse where present in the kitchen, and although harmless was a little off putting! But my husband just picked them up and put them outside!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie...
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect escape to the countryside”
Reviewed 6 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We have had a lovely stay at the cottage for a week. Perfect place to relax and get away from the city in really comfortable surroundings. Steve was very helpful and clear on the phone for directions and easily contactable. Really good value for money!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The jacuzzi bath!
Liked least: The wifi kept freezing but I think the area was having issues with BT lines!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing