We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgettable day”
Review of Pennywell Farm

Pennywell Farm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Pennywell Farm is a multi award winning attraction, the largest farm attraction in the South West. There is a different hands on activity, show or display every half hour and four farm rides included in the admission price. Pennywell is also the home of the world famous Pennywell Miniature Pigs. There is a licensed restaurant, acres of free parking and free dog kennels provided for four legged visitors. Open Feb - Oct and during December for Nativity Plays and visits to Father Christmas.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We visited Pennywell as an extended family of 3 generations.
Angus greeted us warmly and enthusiastically and set the tone for the whole day.
We have never visited anywhere like this with such wonderful staff. What a team! Without exception they were helpful, cheerful and very keen to give the very best visitor experience.
We appreciated the many ways to have a hands-on contact with a variety of animals. Without a doubt the baby piglets were a highlight for children and adults alike.
The farm was busy as it was Easter Saturday but there were so many things to do and to see that we never felt crowded or overwhelmed.
I should give a special mention to the cafe staff who served a hectic lunch session with charm, efficiency and limitless patience.
Very many congratulations to all concerned. Pennywell Farm is a special place and worthy of its many accolades and awards.
I wish you continued success.

Thank chadwood77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie B, Public Relations Manager at Pennywell Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

An unforgettable review!
We are delighted to hear that you had such a good day with us and your appreciation of the team makes us all very happy. The hands on contact with the animals comes up again and again as being the special ingredient for our visitors, as do the piglets.
Thank you very much for the five star review and recommendation. We hope all 3 generations will be back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"pig racing"
in 92 reviews
"tractor ride"
in 68 reviews
"guinea pigs"
in 71 reviews
"every half hour"
in 40 reviews
"micro pigs"
in 37 reviews
"pond dipping"
in 37 reviews
"bouncy castle"
in 36 reviews
"piggy cuddles"
in 32 reviews
"visited pennywell"
in 29 reviews
"assault course"
in 23 reviews
"bottle feeding"
in 30 reviews
"small animals"
in 22 reviews
"goat"
in 30 reviews
"go karts"
in 17 reviews
"egg collecting"
in 17 reviews
"lamb"
in 17 reviews
"different activities"
in 15 reviews
Filter

57 - 61 of 861 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

I visited pennywell for the first time after seeing it advertised on Facebook.
Entry is quite over priced for such a small attraction in comparison to say paignton zoo or woodlands which is only a couple of £ more and far more to see and do.

Saying that I did absolutely love being able to get up close and touch the animals especially the piglets!! I was smitten.
The animals all seemed happy, very well cared for and Enclosures were clean.

The piggy cuddle room though is so small you can barely move in there when it’s busy - we went back in when the pig racing was on though and there were only a few people in there so we got a piglet to cuddle straight away!
There didn’t seem to be many staff around in the petting areas though and people where picking animals up theirselves despite notices telling them not to and I witnessed a few children squeezing the daylights out of the poor animals or in the case of the ducklings dropping them.

Food unfortunately again slightly overpriced and let them down. I had chips which were barely warm, my friend had a tuna baguette which she had to make up herself?
Stopped to get a drink in the coffee hut and I had a carton of chocolate milk - took a mouthful which was full of lumps and tasted off. The staff member was extremely apologetic and gave me another one.

Couldnt fault the staff all that we encountered were very friendly and helpful!

As a group of adults with no children we did find their wasn’t that much else to do once we had done the petting area.
It is better suited to those with younger children as there is plenty to do for children.

Thank Lolipop2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

This was such a good day for the whole family, really enjoyed it. Loads to do and see and very educational as well as fun too.

The demonstrations are great, the staff are all really friendly, the food is tasty and the animals are happy!

Thank Yellaboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Best day out, beating the bigger attractions (theme parks) for entertainment value. Staff were friendly, informative and very helpful. Some of the rides were a bit of an adventure with the added attraction of the snow. Left the dogs in the kennels on site and completely forgot about them until time to go. Very clean facilities both the cafe and the toilets. Great gift shop.
Highly recommended.

Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie B, Public Relations Manager at Pennywell Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you for the excellent review and recommendation. The snow was a little inconvenient to say the least but we did really enjoy it as well. Hope you'll be back to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2018

This was a brilliant day trip which was suitable for all ages and abilities. All areas are made accessible. Staff were available and willing to help, the staff were a real credit to Pennywell farm experience (including catering staff, reception staff and farm staff). There were interactive activities which run throughout the day and were clearly advertised around the farm allowing everyone to interact and join in. All of the animals were well cared for, nurtured and clean. We will most definitely be returning to Pennywell farm.

Thank Bethan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie B, Public Relations Manager at Pennywell Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you for your excellent 5 star review. We are very pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable day with us and joined in with all the activities. Thank you for your lovely comments about our team - it's a real boost for all of us.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pennywell Farm also viewed

Lydford, Dartmoor National Park
 
North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Pennywell Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing