We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely fantastic!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Mill Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Devon is Heaven
Complimentary use of our tennis court, rackets &balls - the court is set within the hillside...
Beautiful Lurcombe - snuggled into the rich Devon hills...
Dartmoor stone circles - only a short drive from Lurcombe. Plenty to do - ideal for Moor & Coast
Scruff, one of our lovely dogs. The dogs love accompanying you on your walks around the farm....
Haytor - 3 miles from Lurcombe - so much to do. Town, Country, Moor and Coast all so accessible...
Situated only a few miles from Dartmoors iconic Tors, this is the perfect place to explore the moor.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
JulesFurz...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely fantastic!”
Reviewed 3 January 2013 for a stay in September 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Mill at the beginning of September to celebrate my husband's 30th birthday. From the moment we arrived, Nick and Sarah were the perfect hosts! The Mill is a truly stunning apartment, beautifully decorated, and really does feel like a home from home. The surroundings are peaceful and tranquil, and extremely relaxing. We were made to feel so welcome by Nick and Sarah, and nothing was too much trouble! It was wonderful to go on walks around the farm, with the lovely friendly dogs in tow! Our visit coincided with the Ashburton Food Festival, which we were keen to go to, and Nick and Sarah were so kind to give us a lift into town and show us around the area. We were incredibly sad to leave Lurcombe, and will definitely be back as soon as possible!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2013
Dear Julia - thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments and wish you both a very Happy New Year.
Look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthtowan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the personal involvement from time of booking from both sarah and nick
Liked least: That we had to leave at the end of our stay!!!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Mar 2012
Dear Tertia, Roland and Bud
Thank you so very much for a lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon and send our best regards. Thank you. So pleased you had a fabulous time here at Lurcombe. See you soon! Sarah and Nick.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AliciaA78
Poole, Dorset, UK
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic!”
Reviewed 2 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at 'The Mill', seeing in the New Year.... And we can't wait to go back!!

From the moment I booked the cottage, the communication from Nick and Sarah has been second to none. Detailed emails about the farm, advice etc were really useful and Nick called us in the morning of our arrival to make sure all OK and to let us know that we were welcome to join them at the local pub on NYE. They even gave us a lift there and we shared a taxi on the way home with the other guests! Nothing seems to have been too much trouble and we felt at home right away when we got there.

The cottage itself is just beautiful. The attention to detail is instantly noticeable and they seem to have thought of everything for your comfort whilst there. Touches like fresh eggs, milk and a bottle of wine on arrival again goes above and beyond the normal self catering you come to expect. Everyone on the farm is extremely friendly and more than happy to give advice on local favourite places to eat/visit, which is really handy. They have also provided detailed booklets with everything in! The views are beautiful from the windows and the walks are great, especially as the three lovely dogs will guide you! They are so friendly (and love the treats that are provided in the kitchen!!).

All in all, a wonderful place with fantastic and genuine people running it. I can't recommend this self catering accommodation highly enough... You will just have to go there too!! If you're looking for a relaxing and comfortable few days away, then this is the place. I'm really looking forward to planning a summer retreat now, as it looks stunning in the photos!

Thanks again to Sarah and Nick for looking after us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The immaculate condition of the cottage
Liked least: The Digital Freeview reception was a bit dodgy so only certain channels worked, but as we didn't come here for TV this was not a problem!!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim_53
London
1 review
“Excellent cosy Dartmoor hideaway which is perfect for a short break”
Reviewed 28 December 2011 for a stay in July 2011

We spent a night at the Mill in July as part of a short break in the Westcountry over the summer.

The accommodation is excellent, we felt at ease and comfortable in the room and the little touches such as a loaf of freshly baked bread made you feel that this was a place which wanted you to feel at home.

The owners have put a lot of thought into how the rooms are designed and it shows, the living room is spacious but comfortable, while the bathroom was easily equipped for a long slow bath after a muddy romp on the moors. Overall for the price it is more akin to a boutique hotel than a

The fields and small lake surrounding the Mill were excellent for a short morning stroll with a cup of fresh coffee in hand before setting off. We used our stay to spend time on Dartmoor itself and made use of the local pub, which served up an excellent home-made pie, as well as a brief ramble across the moors and tor climbing.

The location itself was excellent, within easy reach of both the major tourist locations on Dartmoor but also easy to get to from Exeter and the M5. Dartmoor can be a difficult place to navigate and though getting lost is part of the fun, having accommodation within easy reach of the main roads while feeling away from the world was a helpful bonus for the trip.

The Mill is an ideal location for anyone looking to spend time on Dartmoor, and we will be back next summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor of the room
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2011
Dear Tim

Thanks so much for your review, it really means a lot and we're so pleased you had such a nice time here at Lurcombe. Hope you had a fantastic Christmas and we very much look forward to seeing you again in the New Year. All our very best regards x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2011 for a stay in October 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodation was lovely
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Dec 2011
We are so thrilled that you had such a lovely stay and welcome you back anytime! thank you for your lovely feedback. We send you best wishes from the farm and hope you have a fantastic christmas and new year! Thanks for you response, it means a lot.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing