We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hidden gem”

The Culm Valley Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Culmstock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$33
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A wonderfully eclectic, funky country pub specialising in wholesome locally sourced food and superb crafted beers.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent restaurant/pub. Great home cooked food at reasonable price. Polite helpful staff. Lovely indoor area or can sit in conservatory or outside. Right next to a bridge where you can go underneath and walk in the river, great way to cool off.
Reasonable size car park.

Thank Natalie_vale5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We ate here as a family of 4 for dinner, we did book a table as it was very busy being a Saturday evening. We ordered 3 x burgers which were tasty nothing special but a bit pricey at £39. There was a problem with our bill when paying but this has since been put right-thank you.
They have a nice range of drinks especially the ciders.

Thank CASIO5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

Strongly recommend. Had a wonderful lunch in the sun by the river. Michelle and her team were wonderful from start to finish. We had a lovely roast beef sandwich, goats cheese and roast vegetable sandwich and a bowl of chips cooked to perfection! Very much looking forward to our next visit.

Thank ArthurJohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

We booked an evening meal here after enjoying a drink a few days before overlooking the river. I have to say we were extremely disappointed. It took an hour for the starters to come out, however we were given complimentary olives for the delay. It was then quite a wait for the main course, we then had to wait about 5 minutes to get our cutlery and condiments! We paid £16.00 for a duck salad and undercooked chips and £13.50 for quite greasy fish and chips. The menu board was situated right next to our table we had everyone standing next to us to pay the bills, order the food and look at the menu on the board. We raised the concerns we had when we paid the bill and we were told it was a busy evening being half term etc. However a pub should know how many they have got booked in and how many they can accommodate, they should not be greedy and take on more than they can handle, as this leads to disappointed customers and bad reviews like this! Will definitely not be going back again as extremely overpriced and food nothing to shout about!

Thank Hay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave H, Owner at The Culm Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Hi there, thanks for your honest an frank feedback, we are sorry that you were disappointed with your visit to us for the reasons stated.

You are correct we were extremely busy on that Saturday, but we are not greedy, we simply have a large outside seating area and start serving food at 6.30, we try to please all of our guests by accommodating them to be able to eat if we can. This day we had people waiting for the kitchen to open (not booked in) and this I'm afraid causes a front end rush (not something we enjoy but we don't want to dissapoint)
likewise we are not a pub that gets you in and out as quickly as possible, if you get a table with us you can have it all night if you choose to.

The position of your table is next to the ordering board and I wish you had asked to be seated elsewhere, I think we could have quite easily accommodated that.....

I am sad that you have chosen to review and rebuke the pub after one visit on such a busy night, it certainly isn't the norm, so should you wish to return in the future we will be very happy to see you and you might get a different impression?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018

Planned a 12 mile walk with a stop for lunch at the Culm Valley Inn having checked the website to confirm availability of food. Extremely disappointed to be told on arrival (12.15) that they were 'fully booked for lunch'. However, all we wanted was a sandwich on our outside picnic table. I emphasised the fact that we did not want a sit down Sunday roast - just a sandwich. I was told again that they were fully booked - all the tables were booked!! I tried one last time to explain that all we wanted was a sandwich and became exasperated when two local drinkers at the bar repeated what the barmaid had said and suggested I should have booked! When does one book a sandwich in a pub? Misleading website and nosey locals!

    • Service
1  Thank somersetwalker2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave H, Owner at The Culm Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Hi there, thanks for the feedback, sorry to read your disappointment, to answer your points, firstly we intend to add to our website "booking essential especially Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays" this will hopefully ensure everyone realises that we are a very busy pub!
Secondly on Sundays we serve traditional roasts and selected items from out main menu, unfortunately this does not include sandwiches.

It is very difficult to cater for everyone that wants to eat with us on busy days, when we feel we are fully booked thats exactly what we are, we make everything from scratch and don't use microwaves, this way we ensure quality over quantity.

As for the nosey locals, sorry about that, personally I am happy to have locals, there are many, many pubs that don't have loyal locals and even more independantly owned pubs going out of business for this very reason.

If at any point in the future you would like to revisit us please feel free, we would be happy to see you...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Culm Valley Inn also viewed

 
Plymtree, Cullompton
 

Been to The Culm Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing