We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cottage comfort.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Berry Bush Cottage

Berry Bush Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Berry Bush Cottage
Bright and comfortable lounge Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
Berry Bush Cottage
Bright and comfortable lounge
Dining Room
Fully fitted kitchen
Master Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Shower Room
Decked Rear Courtyard
View from outside cottage
View at Marina
The Golden Hind Brixham Harbour
The End Of A Perfect Day
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brixham, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
priamsdug...
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cottage comfort.”
Reviewed 21 November 2014 for a stay in November 2012

I loved this cottage. Great location. Well equipped. Parking outside. It said " relax" as soon as we opened the door. Definitely would holiday there again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely little cottage in the heart of Brixham”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We stayed for a long weekend in January and had a lovely break, the cottage is only a couple of minutes walk to the town centre and Brixham harbour and has its own parking space. The cottage itself was cosy, clean and we would definately stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane d
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A charming and comfortable cottage, very well situated.”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Berry Bush cottage very comfortable, it is clean and tidy throughout and draught free.
it has a flagged stone hallway with hooks for coats, carpeted stairs to the first floor.
A doorway leads to downstairs, a good sized dining room that opens onto a living room with two large very comfy sofas and a good sized TV, this room and especially the main bedroom above have lovely views of the other side of Brixham and all the cottages on the opposite hillside. The kitchen is well provisioned we found the instructions on the use of all appliances in the cottage very clear and straight forward.
Upstairs the main bedroom, which has a very comfortable bed, side tables and lights, fitted wardrobe and chest of drawers, a lovely roomy airy room, the second bedroom has twin beds, again very comfortable with a chest of drawers, bedside table, light and clothes hanging space. The bathroom is very light and roomy and the shower works very simply and well. The cottage has a rear outside space which we didn't use this time because of the weather. Parking is to the front and off the road which has to be a bonus in Brixham.
The cottage is very close to the town itself, walking you come out of the front door, cross the road, look at the fantastic view of the harbour, and chose between two lots of steps, to the left 112 of them get you bang in the middle of the little high street, to the right a slope, steps to the left, turn to another slope right, steps and turn down the hill to the end of the high street closest to the harbour.
The cottage is in a fantastic location, with everything close at hand. We enjoyed it very much and given the time of year that we stayed, the comfort of the cottage played a huge part in that. Brixham is a lovely little town with a sweet high street with everything you need, with walks to berry head one way (it has a Cafe serving the best scones ever) past the sea water swimming pool , walks to two little coves the other way past the harbour and battery park. there is also the harbour itself with little shops and Cafes, with the cheap ferry to Torquay with it's Sea Life centre. There is lots to see if you explore a bit, a lovely mix of the countryside and the seaside on the doorstep of this friendly little town.
we also managed to get "BTwifi with fon" reception, it did vanish on occasion, but not too bad at all considering we didn't think it would be possible at all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the comfort and warmth
Liked least: the unreliable English weather
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you come again. Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“average accommodation”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

we found the cottage to be ok.it was clean & tidy and had everything that we needed.the road that the cottage is on i found to be unsuitable if you drive a people carrier.it was on a steep narrow road where you did well to avoid hitting any parked cars door mirrors!! on approach to the property i had to drive on the footpath to get past parked cars and to fit 2 cars on the drive would have been impossible.the shops were near to the property but if you are walking be prepared to walk down 121 steps so we bought very little when we were on foot as we would have to walk another 121 steps to get to the cottage.the advantage of the steps is that it is the quickest route to the town

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable sofas
Liked least: uncomfortable double bed
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2013
I have read your comments and would like to respond. The location of the cottage is one of the reasons I bought it. It is very central to all of Brixham. Brixham itself is built on terraces so there will always be some incline to negotiate. The cottage is on the first terrace. Directly outside the cottage there are 112 steps to the towns main street and harbour. If these are to steep, turn right and there is a more gentle slope with 42 steps or if you turn left there is a longer more gentle slope with no steps, but this is a slightly longer route. The parking is on the front drive of the cottage as seen in the photos. I have parked 2 cars on this drive many times. Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesWake...
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Useful and Functional”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Berry Bush Cottage is well located and the off street parking is a bonus not to be sniffed at in Brixham. It is a short descent down the hill to the harbour and a more energetic ascent back to the cottage!

The lounge carpet was a bit grubby and the dining room floor was a bit sticky. They could both do with a wash. There were cobwebs in the corners that could have been swept out. Really we think that it's just the cleaner needs a kick up the backside. The sofas were nice and comfy, we got on with the television and the DVD player, and the dining table and chairs were nice. A high chair was available from the cupboard under the stairs but this needed wiping down all over for dust and cobwebs. Due to this we did not bother taking the available travel cot out. We made good use of the kitchen, the oven, the fridge, all the utensils and crockery.

Upstairs the bathroom was spacious and clean, the shower worked well but needs the collar on the shower pole tightening. When the shower is on the shower head stays in position but when the water is turned off the shower crashes down the shower pole. The twin room looked nice and clean but we did not use this, The main bedroom was nice, and the bed was comfy, but the headboard on the double bed needs tightening, or replacing, because it was very loose.

We would stay here again because it is just about fairly priced.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and off street parking
Liked least: Lounge carpet and dining room floor
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2013
Thank you for your comments. New travel cot and new cleaners for 2014
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing