We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxurious accommodation in stunning beachside...”

Review of Seaview

View of Bigbury beach from the upper terrace.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Bigbury beach from the upper terrace.
Kitchen / Dining area with views of Bigbury Bay. View from the dining terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
View of Bigbury beach from the upper terrace.
Kitchen / Dining area with views of Bigbury Bay.
View from the dining terrace
Dining area with views of Bigbury Bay
'Sea tractor' crossing to Burgh Island at high tide.
Master bedroom with ensuite shower and toilet, superking bed, triple seaview aspect
View of Burgh Island from the garden
Lower gravel terrace in July
Kitchen area with American fridge/freezer, icemaker, water cooler
Built in Double ovens, coffee maker, microwave
View of kitchen / dining area
Lounge area with wide screen TV, projector, 7.1 surround sound, wood burner.
2nd bedroom with kingsize bed, ensuite shower, toilet, seaviews
Annexe (great seaviews) with door to kingsize bedroom, open plan kitchen, separate shower/toilet
Library / bedroom 6 with double sofa bed and z bed.
Bigbury beach, top 10 UK family beach, 'excellent' water quality-Good Beach Guide '14
Surfing on Bantham beach (boards, wetsuits etc can be hired on the beach)
Kayaks can be hired on the beach
Lower gravel terrace in May
Windsurfing in Bigbury Bay
River Avon and Bantham Beaches...try some of the local oysters!
View from the upper terrace
View of Burgh Island from Bigbury beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Bigbury-on-Sea, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emma J
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious accommodation in stunning beachside setting”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a wonderfully refreshing week in this spacious house. There was plenty of room for the children to run around and even watch television separately from us in the annexe. Each morning we were greeted with a stunning view of the sea and the beautiful Bigbury beach. Every evening we watched the sun set and then the moon and stars in the blackened sky. From the bench at the top of the garden we could watch the tide slowly cutting off the mysterious Burgh Island (the inspiration for Agatha Christie's Evil Under The Sun and And Then There Were None). It was great to be able to walk to and from the beach and the island, without having to drive. We made the most of the opportunities to surf, kayak and eat locally-produced pasties and ice-cream at the beach cafes.
We loved the location so much we were reluctant to drag ourselves away but we did manage a day in Salcombe, as well as a delicious lunch at the friendly Sloop Inn, Bantham. The whole area is a must for fish fans, but for those who prefer their usual food, we saw plenty of supermarket delivery vans in the area.
Just a short drive away is a farm shop, where we picked up some scones for our Devon cream tea on the terrace. On wet evenings, we enjoyed the broad selections of CDs, DVDs, TV channels, and cookery books. While we savoured the vast selection of herbal teas, the electronic coffee maker and the wine chiller, the children loved filling their glasses with ice from the large American-style fridge.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2016
So happy you enjoyed the stay and thank you for your kind words, Mike and Farhana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richardkr...
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent 2 week holiday”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Easy to book with a simple handover on the day.
Bed linen changed and house cleaned on the middle Saturday of a 2 week stay.
Made use of the self contained Annex and the large project screen in the main house, particularly, to watch the football.

Excellent views across Bigbury Bay and to Burgh Island.
Sandy Beaches within 5 minutes walk, ideal for children.
Plenty to do for all ages within the locality or 45 minutes drive.

Eating out, you will need to drive (10 minutes to the nearest pub) but the food is worth it.
Eating in, get it delivered easier than visits to the supermarket albeit Kingsbridge is only 20 minutes away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ease of access to the beaches (Bigbury and Bantham)
Liked least: Downstairs bathroom (for those that like a bath and not a shower in the en-suites)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2016
Delighted you enjoyed your stay! Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan G
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“IDYLLIC BEACH HOLIDAY”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

What can we say about Seaview - we arrived after a long journey and on walking into the kitchen/dining/sitting area with the fabulous curved bay window overlooking the sea, WOW seems very inadequate. Just a view to die for and to be greeted by that every morning/evening, was wonderful, even on a dull day. The property was very well equipped, clean and well presented and the selection of CDs was second to none!! The arrangement of bedrooms, bathrooms, annexe, gives it much versatility, but we always prefer to rent a property that is too large rather than squeeze ourselves into a small house. We were 5 adults, a 3-year old and a baby and we had lots of room to spread out. The garden was fabulous and although the walk back up from the lovely sandy beach was hilly, it was good exercise! Had a Waitrose food delivery on the day we arrived as access to shops, etc was limited, but this is part of the charm. We had a lovely sunny week and it could not have been better.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2016
Thank you very much for your kind words. We're delighted to hear you had a good time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy S
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday experience in every way”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I stayed with a group of friends and my first impression of the view from the panoramic window was breathtaking. The Devon scenery is magnificent and can't fail to amaze one - but sitting in the dining area and looking out over the garden at the bay and beyond was to be remembered.

The house is very comfortable and well-appointed – seeming to have everything to hand for a memorable stay. The kitchen has all (and more than) one needs. The bedrooms and beds are of the finest I've slept in. Waking to the quiet morning views was something we all loved and commented on. Breakfast with dear friends and stunning views, what more could I ask for?

Plenty of informative household information was provided and the house is spotless in every way.

Truly a holiday destination to remember!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole 'Seaview' experience was perfect in every way.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2016
Thank you very much That's very kind, Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petercris...
london
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in August 2015

Our family of seven adults and two toddlers stayed here for one week.This is fabulous in every sense.Beautiful kitchen,dining room and tv room with views out to sea.Lovely bedrooms and bathrooms.Plenty of space for a large family to enjoy a lovely holiday.Parking for cars off road.The biggest child friendly beach you could wish for is just a couple of minutes walk down the hill.
The house is looked after by a very nice lady and her husband,we had a small problem with the rubbish as l think the dustman forgot us,but after a phone call it was dealt with straight away.
Would definitely stay here again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
Thank you and of course you're always welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing