We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (832)
Filter reviews
832 results
Traveller rating
562
167
69
21
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
562
167
69
21
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock garden ocean restaurant gold room decanter of sherry flight path private cinema the main hotel tea room steak restaurant beach cafe the cliff lovely hotel coastal path guernsey airport fresh fruit courtesy bus four star hotel
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 832 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2018

We've recently come back from a 3 night stay at the Fermain Valley. On a second try as we had to cancel the first due to ill health. Claire very kindly helped us and sorted out the re-booking. Couldn't fault the hotel or any of the staff. The only issue we found was the mattress on the bed was too hard for us, but that's personal preference. Its really good they offer a curtesy shuttle bus service (has to be booked in advance) which we used on a few occasions with no problems. we ate in the Steakhouse restaurant twice as unfortunately the fish restaurant is closed from October and we didn't want to eat Mexican. The meals were of good quality. However, the 2nd visit was on a Friday evening and as it was full, the noise level was loud, which was too much for us, so we ate a main course and took the rest of our wine back to our room. Breakfast was freshly cooked per your order, and we enjoyed all the choices we made. If you want a bit of exercise then walk into town via the coastal route. We also used the local bus service quite a lot. very easy, just pay a £1 each time. If we come back to Guernsey, we would happily stay again (although seeing if there is a softer mattress somewhere).

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scansjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

We were told that this was one of the best hotels on the island. It isn’t.

Having arrived early at the airport we rang ahead to ask if we could check in early. No problem they said. When we arrived we were confronted by THE MOST USELESS reception staff ever. They’re so bad then when this hotel finally sack them because of the tidal wave of bad reviews they’ll be snapped up by the local GPs to be the girls who tell you why you can’t have an appointment until next Xmas, even if you’re dying. They have that talent.

And it doesn’t end there. Because there are two hotels. There is the main building which looks nice, and for all we know may be nice, and then there is the annex where your room is right over a night club. We arrived on a Saturday and the booming bass started at 6pm. It’s now 23:35 and we can hear every record wobbling the floor from downstairs- (they’re currently blasting out Ghostbusters)-so let me make this clear. I’d rather be in a tent. That way I could have settled in when I arrived, I wouldn’t have had to deal with the Lucretia Borgias who they employ on reception and I wouldn’t feel like I’ve pitched a camp bed on the roof of a bad disco. Don’t come here.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DavidF934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018

Before talking about the hotel, the service and staff need a special mention. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff was second to none, especially those on the reception desk.

Check-in was efficient and plenty of advice on things to do, and places to eat locally was provided. Some of the rooms are in a remote annex (a few minutes walk up a hill) and a car is available to transport you to them. The rooms themselves were large and clean. The bed was extra large. There is a TV, a safe, tea and coffee facilities, fresh water, fresh fruit and even a bottle of sherry for you in the rooms. The room also had a desk and chair to work at. The bathroom had a bath and shower and a good choice of toiletries which were topped up each day.

Breakfast consists of a continental buffet, as well as a hot menu which you can order one item from in addition to the buffet. There are also three restaurants on the site so you don't need to travel far if you wish to have dinner. There is a swimming pool and also a cinema on site, which shows films in the evening on request and even has popcorn.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank The-Elusive-Thnith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018 via mobile

Lovely hotel down a lane with sea views .. nice light and airy coffee shop and with seating inside and out. Helpful service, nice coffee , and good cakes too. Hotel looks very attractive with gardens on a slope towards the beach and balconies looking over the sea.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Alison23lufbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

Stayed for a couple of days in October. The hotel has a great hidden away location with it's own gardens and a path that leads down to the coast where you can access the beach or the coastal path for some great walks.

There is plenty of parking and the hotel has several restaurants onsite that are really very good (Mexican and Steakhouse) and both worth a visit in their own right.

Within the hotel there are several areas where you can find space to relax, including a library and drawing room, not to mention a charming tea room, serving afternoon tea and cakes.

The room was great with almost everything you need, including fresh fruit, water, chocolate and even a decanter of sherry to sip whilst you look at the view.

The mobile coverage is patchy, but you can switch your network to a different network which sorts this.

The one issue I had with the room, was that most of the sockets were lamp / 3 pin design and the few normal plugs sockets in the room were a very long way from the bed, so charging your phone/laptop whilst in bed meant not having access to it, unless you bought a 3M cable. A silly thing, but there isn't many people who don't have this requirement nowadays and this is the first hotel I have stayed in for a very long time where I had this issue. It's also a simple fix for the hotel.

Other than that minor niggle, this hotel was perfect. I would stay here again for sure and highly recommend it.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews