We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Clean and comfortable with a great view plus...”
Fisherman's Cottage overlooking Havre des Pas Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fisherman's Cottage overlooking Havre des Pas Beach
Fisherman's Cottage Living area and sofa bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Fisherman's Cottage overlooking Havre des Pas Beach
Fisherman's Cottage
Living area and sofa bed
Living area
Bedroom
Kitchen area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Helier, Jersey, Channel Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
CDNeh
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable with a great view plus privacy.”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We booked Fisherman's Cottage for a four night stay in late May and were delighted. A cute and cozy cottage with a fantastic view and privacy from the surrounding gardens. We prepared most of our own meals at the cottage during our four night stay. Well equipped kitchen and on pleasant days we moved the table and chairs outside to enjoy the lovely view while we ate. Our adult daughter accompanied us on this trip and used the sofa bed in the main room. She gave it an adequate comfort rating, not great. The double bed in the bedroom was excellent for comfort. Keep in mind that the bathroom opens off the bedroom so if you are a group of three or four someone will have to go through the bedroom to use the bathroom. The woodstove was a nice feature in the cool of the evening. Kindling and logs were supplied. The parking spot for the cottage is a bit hard to find. We discovered it by sheer luck when we turned in the entry parking of the Royal Engineers Depot and spied the sign for the single reserved spot beside a small outbuilding separate from the cottage. Be prepared to carry/wheel your bags a few hundred paces including some steps. All in all we were delighted with the cottage and felt we received excellent value. Step out the door to a million dollar view.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view.
Liked least: The sofa bed mattress.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Icklebuh
Gothenburg
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic location for couple without children”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
6
people found this review helpful

I stayed at the cottage with my 4 year old daughter from the 2nd of August to the 9th. It was very hard to find, I drove around for an hour searching for it and none of the locals had heard of the property. The website has the location as Havre Des Pas Jersey, there is no postal code or accurate address on the website so you can't search for it using sat nav or AA route finder. The cottage is on the bay of Havre Des Pas but is actually on Mount Bingham and the parking for the cottage is located at the TA center a couple of minutes away from the cottage. Jersey Heritage need to make this place easier to find because the locals can't even find it.
The cottage itself has been wonderfully renovated, although not sure why they would put separate taps in the bathroom sink and not mixer taps? This property worked ok for us but it is not really ideal for families with children. To get to the bathroom you have to walk through the one bedroom so you would have no privacy and the garden is not suitable for unattended children, it is on the edge of the bay and very high up. You should also be aware that none of the windows in this property face directly to the sea, you can see the sea if the shutters are open and you are walking about inside but it's not clearly visible. It's also not really ideal to sleep with these windows open as it is a ground floor property in a town, although crime is minimal in St Helier I did not feel safe sleeping with open windows and that is a bit of a problem in the summer and on holiday, I wanted to hear and smell the sea when I woke up but instead we were rather shut in, we did get to eat breakfast in the garden with the view and that did make up for it. It's a lovely property but I would say more suitable for a young couple that want the best of being close to restaurants and bars but also sea, I would suggest a more rural property for a family.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2014
Thank you for your review of Fisherman's Cottage. The Cottage is just one of the properties we manage and due to their historical importance there are some quirky features and room layouts. We have recently updated our information sheets with maps on how to find the property and parking space. As with most of our properties, their unusual locations mean they do not have accurate postcodes.
We understand that you may not feel comfortable with the windows being open at night, but it is possible to have the windows open and shutters closed for ventilation.
We hope you visit Jersey again, and if you would like to look at some of our properties then please look at our website.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dietmar D
Lauda-Koenigshofen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: tolle Lage oberhalb des Meers
Liked least: Ringstraße ein wenig störend
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2014
Thank you for your review of Fisherman's Cottage - all noted regarding the utensils. Jersey Heritage does look after a number of historic properties that are more remote should you wish to visit our beautiful isle again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing