We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent on all counts.”
The Radio Tower has almost 360 degree view of the south west coast of Jersey.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Radio Tower has almost 360 degree view of the south west coast of Jersey.
The dining and living area in the top observation deck. The Radio Tower with spectacular views. Image courtesy of Phil Marett.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
The Radio Tower has almost 360 degree view of the south west coast of Jersey.
The dining and living area in the top observation deck.
The Radio Tower with spectacular views. Image courtesy of Phil Marett.
Looking out to the iconic Corbiere Radio Tower.
The kitchen is fully equipped for self-catering.
The Radio Tower was built by Occupying Forces during the Second World War.
The three bedrooms are all identical and have been custom built within the round walls.
Glasswear, crockery and cutlery are provided.
The living area on the top floor.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tower -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
St Brelade, Jersey, Channel Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Mrg9999
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent on all counts.”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I am admittedly biased. I have visited this property several times, in the 80s when it was run by the coastguard, who gave our party a tour. Some years later during conversion into a leisure property, and other times, in a less formal visit. Just myself and partner are using it. We can each have our own on suite, own private bedroom if we choose.
The kitchen, came with bread, butter and milk, tea and coffee, and some basics for cooking. We had bacon and eggs most days, choosing to eat out for main meals.
The views from top are stunning. Although, you can't get out to the outside rail (unless you are willing to borrow a ladder). There is a TV and DVD player, and you can also connect a computer if it has an HDMI port.
The bedrooms are fine, I'm 6'3", and you need to bend through the doors. The staircase to the top, is best descended backwards.
We had a visitor today, to read the meter, he though the tower was derelict. A few brave teenagers will attempt to scale the wall, but so far all have failed. Parking, best park away from the garage, as people tend to block it thinking it is derelict.
All in all, 6 stars.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The dooways
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review of the Radio Tower. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back again to visit the tower or one of our other properties.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Satisfactory for a short stay”
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Ok, let's acknowledge that you book the Radio Tower for the experience. You walk into an extension that feels like somebody's shed. Further in you are in the tower itself. The decor is, well, uncompromising, but you can't alter this without changing the nature of the building so OK. Our elderly in-laws assured us they would be fine on the stairs , but getting up the narrow stairs to the top stairs in particular (approximately 27 steps) is a real killer. The view at the top, though, is amazing and has to be one of the best in the British Isles, sweeping from the 5 miles of St Ouen's beach to Corbiere lighthouse. It's a pity the windows weren't cleaner but that would be full time job.
There was a nice selection of basic groceries when we arrived, and full marks go to whoever thought to put a bathroom on every floor, and an extra fridge on the top floor. Oddly for a Radio Tower there is no wi-fi. You might go on holiday to escape wi-fi, but we think for this price we should get the choice.
What really hit us was a terrible smell of sewage, compounded by the fact that the extractor fans in the bathrooms were not working. We got no reply from the site manager's phone, so we tried their boss, who, it turned out was on holiday - at the height of the holiday season! Eventually we spoke to someone else in the office who sent someone out promptly but the smell was not resolved fully before we left. This and other touches, or lack of them, spoiled our experience. There were coffee stains up the wall to the top floor, which we had to clean ourselves. The general finish was poor, with patches in the paint and chips here and there.
Maybe we are being fussy, but once you get over the view you start to think 'I'm paying 3 times the price of a normal rental…for this?'. We love Jersey and in retrospect might have considered the Radio Tower for a short stay, mainly for the view and the experience, but it is not a great base for a longer stay in Jersey.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2014
Thank you for you review of the Radio Tower. We appreciate your feedback following your stay. We are glad you enjoyed the majority of your stay but appreciate you have some valid points.
As we explain to all guests upon booking, due to the nature of the building the stairs are steep and go up approximately 7 stories from the ground floor. As you stated, this means you have some amazing views but is something to consider for the whole family. As you rightly said, it is tricky to keep the windows clean due to the tower's proximity to the sea but we do have a team to clean the large windows regularly.
We will look at wi-fi following your feedback but we do detail that it is unavailable at this property.
The smell you experienced is unacceptable for any of our guests and we did try to rectify this during your stay, however we could locate the source of the issue at the time following visits. A member of staff also visited the property to see if anything further could be done. It is something we are looking into but it has not occurred again following your visit. The fuse on the extractor fan is also being replaced. The coffee stain on the wall is also unacceptable and we have discussed this with our site manager and cleaning staff. General maintenance is scheduled every year during our quieter periods, but we will look at general work again following your feedback.
We hope the issues did not spoil your stay and hopefully you return to Jersey and may look at our other lets which are around the island.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne W
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed with accommodation, location superb.”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Radio Tower Jersey

Pros
Fabulous view from top floor, almost 360 degrees
Location very picturesque
Heating
Good quality linens
Welcome groceries - bread, butter and milk
Good bus route
Excellent restaurant on doorstep

Cons
Low doorways, which my head skimmed, I'm 5'7". My husband who is 6'7" struggled, especially as there is a sprinkler system installed and you are reminded not to knock into the heads in case you set the system off.
Very steep spiral stair case to top floor, which when dining makes it extremely difficult to transport food and drink.
Low constant hum from radio ariels.
Difficult to avoid full sun in lounge area in the evenings, very like sitting in a greenhouse.
Very poor ventilation, if the wind is off the sea it it not advisable to open the roof light, we thought it might take off!
Bedrooms are quite claustrophobic, with narrow windows, which you have to climb onto the bed to open/close some of the window blinds.
Beds advertised as doubles, but the person wedged against the wall would not have a hope of getting out. The person on the 'outside' has to scoot down the bed in order to avoid the fixed bedside cabinet.
Bathrooms very tight but just about manageable.
As this is a tourist attraction there are constant cars and coaches pulling up to photograph the building and views and visitors trying the door. There should be a sign stating that the tower is private property.

Overall
I'm glad I experience it but would not return to the tower, it was an expensive view without too
much care having been recently expended on maintaining standards.
We used Condor Ferries who could not have been more helpful when we had to change our home bound booking twice due to ill health.
Jersey Heritage were very concerned when we mentioned several things which were unacceptable during our stay and offered a partial refund.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The view.
Liked least: The narrow steep spiral staircase, the foul smell from the kitchen sink, the greasy finger marks on the kitchen canisters, the freezer so full of ice the door had broken.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
Thank you for your review of the Radio Tower, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. The Radio Tower is one of Jersey's most iconic properties with stunning views across the rugged west coast of Jersey. As the Tower is in a picturesque location it is popular with visitors taking in the view to Corbiere Light House, which sits just offshore from the Radio Tower.
Due to the Tower's historic importance, as with all of the properties we manage throughout the island, great care has been taken to furnish and decorate the property to the best standard whilst maintaining the unique structure and character of the property. We hope you will come back to Jersey and possibly have a look at staying in one of our other properties which are dotted throughout the island in equally picturesque locations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith M
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Corbiere Radio Tower”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Our first visit, as a family, to Jersy. Superb location. Amazing views (almost 360 degrees) from the sun room at the top of the tower - well worth the climb to the top of the spiral staircase. Extremely comfortable beds. Many original features but tastefully converted for those wanting to self cater. Close to bus route at end of cycle track. Atmospheric. Private parking. We will definitely return to Jersey next year & hopefully book the Tower again. Have already recommended the accommodation to a work colleague with school age children, who like something different.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The stunning views at the top of the tower.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2014
Thank you for your review, Judith. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay at the Radio Tower. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our iconic properties in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j8rda
Pevensey Bay
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unique, with outstanding views”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I booked this place for a week as part of our wedding celebrations. We stayed with two other couples, each of us having a double room with a shower room/wc next door on each level. The downsides - there are a lot of stairs! The shower rooms are small. The staircases are narrow, particularly the top one from the kitchen to the living room. Taxi's in Jersey are horrendously expensive, and you'll need them in the evenings if you want to go out and have a drink. The plusses. When you reach the top, the views will take your breathe away. In the near distance, Corbiere lighthouse, St Ouens Bay, then Sark, Guernsey and France. You will never tire of the view, which is ever changing, especially when the weather is closing in. You are staying in a unique part of Jerseys heritage, and the locals will be intrigued and a little jealous! The bedrooms are surprisingly comfortable, the beds are custom built to fit the curve of the building. One of our friends is 6'5" and he slept well every night. The bedrooms and the bathrooms have underfloor heating and heated towel rails, so no worries about being cold or damp towels. Linen and towels were of good quality, and the kitchen was well equipped. There is a fridge/freezer in both the kitchen and the living room, so you don't have to run down the stairs to get a cold top up of champagne or a fresh gin and tonic! If you have good binoculars take them (there is a set there, but they are not the best) and get ice from the co-op in St Peters. All in all, a very unusual property, where the advantages far outweigh the disadvantages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: the stairs
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing