We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a good visit”

The Mill at Avoca Village
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Avoca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: On the banks of the Avoca river, you’ll find the Avoca store, cafe and mill. This location is the birthplace of the Avoca experience, and the origin of the family’s company name. Dating from 1723, this very special Avoca location is home to the handweaving mill, a large Avoca Store and Cafe and a visitor centre (admission free) which tells the story of the mill from the beginning. The Mill Tour invites people to see firsthand where our very own throws, rugs and scarves come from, and to see them being made by hand. Some of our weavers who work here are third generation.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Loved watching a weaver in action and purchasing my own piece of history. Food is incredible so a cookbook is a must. Loved our visit.

Thank GranCate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvocaIreland, Public Relations Manager at The Mill at Avoca Village, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your kind review. Your custom and feedback mean the world to us, and we hope you will come back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Avoca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"gift shop"
in 27 reviews
"self guided tour"
in 18 reviews
"free tour"
in 10 reviews
"beautiful items"
in 9 reviews
"old mill"
in 9 reviews
"for sale"
in 12 reviews
"scones"
in 15 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 19 reviews
"interesting place"
in 6 reviews
"on site"
in 13 reviews
"beautiful setting"
in 9 reviews
"lovely spot"
in 5 reviews
"weaving process"
in 9 reviews
"hand woven"
in 6 reviews
"weavers"
in 40 reviews
"wool"
in 32 reviews
"looms"
in 33 reviews
Filter

18 - 22 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2018

We were four adults travelling and stopped in to visit the original Avoca Woolen mill. As we had a plane to catch and visited on opening we did not tour the mill but shopped. There is an extensive range of excellent products and the wooden goods, (throws, scarves etc) are of very good quality.

Worth a visit.

2  Thank 2hopeless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvocaIreland, Public Relations Manager at The Mill at Avoca Village, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Your feedback is hugely appreciated, and we hope you will come back and visit again in future!

Kind Regards,

Avoca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

You can walk through the mill to watch the looms and other machines where they make the high quality woven items. Then browse and buy them in the shop which is quite nice. There is a small cafe as well. The town of Avoca is not much however.

Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvocaIreland, Public Relations Manager at The Mill at Avoca Village, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Hi Jose,

Thank you very much for your kind review. Your feedback means the world to us, and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to our Mill.

We hope to see you again in future!

Kind Regards,

Avoca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

My kids loved the self-guided tour through the mill and seeing the operation in action. (Only wish I could have afforded some of the products). AND the cafe was outstanding - the best scone I’ve EVER had! We also bought a cake and some soda bread to take away - equally as good.

1  Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvocaIreland, Public Relations Manager at The Mill at Avoca Village, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Hi Jose,

Thank you very much for your kind review. Your feedback means the world to us, and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to our Mill.

We hope to see you again in future!

Kind Regards,

Avoca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2018

Great History of how 3 sisters really set the mill up for success. Fun to see everything in action. Really great food and shopping.

Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvocaIreland, Public Relations Manager at The Mill at Avoca Village, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Hi John,

thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. your feedback is hugely appreciated, and we're so glad you enjoyed visiting our Mill.

Kind Regards,

Avoca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mill at Avoca Village also viewed

Vale of Glendalough, County Wicklow
County Wicklow, Province of Leinster
 
Wicklow, County Wicklow
 

Been to The Mill at Avoca Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing