We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful fun walk ”

Wells House & Gardens
Ranked #2 of 9 things to do in Gorey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A great Victorian house & gardens in the heart of Wexford Wells House has something for all generations to enjoy and share: Our two woodland walks; Lady Frances Woodland Walk & Mogue's, discover hidden treasures in a verdant landscape of mature plants and trees. Victorian Terrace Gardens - Relax in our beautifully restored formal gardens based on the original Daniel Robertson plans of the 1830's. Adventure Playground - Swings, slides and climbing frames, perfect for kids up to 40. The old stable block has been converted into the Craft Courtyard - an ideal shopping hub for crafts and unique gifts! The Living Victorian House Tour - Experience real life in a Victorian Great House through the eyes of Lady Frances and the residents of Wells House. Wells House Archery - Let the resident Archer show you how to shoot a bow at the only 3D course in Ireland. Mrs Stone's Tearooms - enjoy morning coffees, light lunches and afternoons teas. For that special treat try the signature cup cakes or irresistible fresh scones. Wells House is over 300 years old. It was built in the late 1600s by John Warren who owned more than 6,000 acres of land in the area. Note: Archery is by reservation Monday-Friday
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We had a great day here with young children great fun with the walk in the woods. Then back to the playground which was very well spread out which was great to let them run and not just play on equipment. We will definitely return.

Thank 3ce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellswexford, Marketing at Wells House & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Hi 3ce, wow thank you so much for your lovely review. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your day and cannot wait to welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"craft shops"
in 57 reviews
"fairy doors"
in 93 reviews
"woodland walk"
in 40 reviews
"animal farm"
in 23 reviews
"play ground"
in 16 reviews
"coffee shop"
in 30 reviews
"wooden sculptures"
in 9 reviews
"great family day"
in 19 reviews
"dining room"
in 9 reviews
"afternoon tea"
in 10 reviews
"great value"
in 22 reviews
"small farm"
in 6 reviews
"fairy shop"
in 6 reviews
"fantastic place"
in 11 reviews
"formal gardens"
in 6 reviews
"cakes"
in 15 reviews
"lovely lunch"
in 8 reviews
Filter

54 - 58 of 602 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

when we got there, many students and seniors arrived to visit the house. So the reception told us its a busy time and we have to wait for 1:45 mins to take the house tour. Hence we decided to the walks around the house. It was fabulous! we completed all three paths and each had a new wonderful scenery to view. as we get back in time for the tour they told us the tour already started and they gave our money back and sent us to join the tour. we did, but it wasnt satisfactory!
there is beautiful Irish ahops for perfume and massage oil there as well.

Thank sannia97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells House W, Manager at Wells House & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review Sannia97, we hope to welcome you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Visit to Wells House and Gardens on Thursday 21st June 2018. Tour Guide in the house excellent with a great ability to tell the story and history of the house

Thank PeterW6173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellswexford, Marketing at Wells House & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Hi Peter W, thank you so much for sharing your review with us, we will be sure to pass this message on to our tour guide. We hope you enjoyed your day here and warmly welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

We visited here late May on a very sunny day.My husband and I and our 2 kids loved it.My daughter loved the fairy shop and the fact she could design her own door.My son loved the giant chess and chequers board.
The falconry and animals where great to visit.
Nice big play ground and the walk and gardens where beautiful.We stopped off at the cafe for a nice treat to cool off.
Great day would highly recommend.

Thank nicola m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellswexford, Marketing at Wells House & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Hi Nicola m, we are so happy you enjoyed your day here at Wells. Thank you so much for taking your time to leave a lovely review. We really hope to welcome you back soon for another day of fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

I've reviewed this venue positively before, and having visited again on 3 June, 2018, I can confirm that it is still a great way of bringing children, especially young children, to see nature.  Adults and older people will also enjoy the walks which are almost completely flat.

On this occasion, however, I encountered one big negative aspect- the men's toilets!  They were foul.  Wet, dirty floor.  Bin overflowing with used hand towels, broken hand towel dispenser.  Smell like a sewer.

Two hours later, having done some archery and walked along the various paths, nobody had checked them, and they were worse.  If the toilets which everyone can see are left in such a state, how can customers have confidence in the unseen kitchens?

Apart from that one major issue, Wells House was a treat. I ate in Mrs. Stone's kitchen before I saw the toilets, and the food was excellent - and I saw nothing to suggest that there were any hygiene shortcomings in the food prep or service areas.

The woodland walks are very pleasant.

Although the price has increased to €10 per car since my previous visit, it is still incredible value for money.  They could easily charge €20 per car, and it would still be great value for money.

Please, Wells House - get your act together on the toilets!

1  Thank ReturntoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells House W, Manager at Wells House & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear ReturntoDublin, thank you very much for your review and please accept mine and the team's sincerest apologies for your experience of the men's toilets. We do have a regime in place to ensure they are checked regularly but I apologise that this was not seen through on your visit. We have updated staff on this and will ensure toilets are maintained as is intended going forward. I am delighted you enjoyed the rest of your visit and we hope to see you again soon! Thank you, Niamh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wells House & Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Wells House & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing