We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hoping for otters”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Aherlow Cottage

Aherlow Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Aherlow Cottage
Aherlow Cottage Aherlow Bridge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Aherlow Cottage
Aherlow Cottage
Aherlow Bridge
Mountain View
Garden
Yard & Garden
Living & Dining
Living & Dining
Living with Open Fire
Kitchen
Dining
Bathroom Groundfloor
Bathroom Groundfloor
Hall
Stairs
Landing
Bathroom 1.Floor
Bathroom 1.Floor
Bedroom 2 Singles
Bedroom 2 Singles
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bansha, County Tipperary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
BarryOBri...
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hoping for otters”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Really enjoyed Aherlow Cottage in a lovely part of Tipp. It has a real fire which is easy to 'use' and a well-stocked kitchen. It is spacious. The owner also very graciously provided some excellent cake and made us feel very welcome.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plerdds
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This cottage is perfect”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

From the moment you step inside this cottage is perfect, it has everything you would need in a home away from home and much more. We had 3 generations of our family staying over the 4 days that we were there, ranging in ages from 75 to 13 and everyone was comfortable.
It is not too far off the main road but tucked away enough for it to be private and quiet.
It is a gem and we are so pleased that we chose it for our short visit to the area to attend a surprise family celebration. The home baked treats left by the owner Marion for our arrival were lovely. I would recommend this accommodation in a heartbeat to anyone I know who is planning on travelling to this area of Ireland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D
Fair Haven, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
Reviewed 7 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is truly a bit of paradise in the Irish countryside. The "cottage" offers views of the Galtee mountains, quintessential walled pastures and stone bridges. The interior is artistically modern and charmingly authentically old while offering all the modern amenities our family and friend group of six could ask for - fully equipped kitchen, two lovely bathrooms, three comfortable bedrooms, living room with fireplace, washing machine for laundry. The accommodations were sparkling clean and comfortable in every way. Our hosts were available, helpful and a pleasure to meet. If you want to experience rural, authentic Ireland I would highly recommend Aherlow Cottage.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2015
Hi Lynn,
Thanks a million for your great review. We're delighted you had a nice holiday and loved Aherlow Cottage.
It was absolutely lovely having meat you and your family.
All the best,
Marion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed D
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderland-in-Tipperary”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Aherlow Cottage could not possiblly have met our needs or expectations more fully or better. Marion and Harry did absolutely everything possible to make us feel welcome and at-home. The cottage is immaculate, extremely well outfitted, warmly and creatively decorated, marvelously situated on a small river, with gardens abounding. All in all, it far outstripped any and all expectations we might have had. This is a highly polished gem of singular proportions. We would gladly return again and again, and we have no reservations at all in recommending this little piece of Irish heaven to any and all comers.

Tucked into a superb country setting, Aherlow Cottage, in addition to being situated in County Tipperary's lovely Glen of Aherlow, is a very short drive from either Tipperary Town to the north or Cahir to the south, where grocery stores are easily found (Tesco, Aldi, SuperValue), and cultural sites offer glances into life-in-a-castle or the rhythms of medieval monasticism. The property is less than a two hour drive from Shannon Airport, and it affords ready driving access to Galway, Kilkenny, Clonmel, Cashel. Or, get on the bus in Cahir and in two and a half hours step down in Dublin. The property's geography matches the cottage's charm and warmth.

It's not possible to overstate the obvious fact that Aherlow Cottage ticks all the boxes and covers all the bases, and all of this at a more than reasonable rate of cost.

Bravo! Congratulations! And many thanks to Marion and Harry; you have created a distinct treat in the midst of loveliness!

Ed Dempsey and Tim Oliver

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warmth afforded us at all times during our stay.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa C
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Quaint, quirky & quiet”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This was quite an unexpected gem, a little piece of Germany in Tipperary. The attention to detail was superb & we arrived after a long journey from Buckingham via Holyhead & Dublin to a welcome hamper from Marion. It was a lovely way to start our holiday.
The cottage is beautifully clean & very comfortable with a fully fitted kitchen including a whole variety of utensils & gadgets. A home from home in fact.
Marion & Harry are to be commended for their renovation of this delightful cottage. It also has quaint & quirky touches too: the handmade stair rail, the use of bottles as "features" in the walls as well as the most amazing homemade bed covers. I wish I'd taken a picture of them!
The location is also very convenient to visit various touristy places in the Tipperary/Kilkenny/Cork/Waterford region.
Another unexpected aspect was the carefully landscaped garden leading down to the river. A family of Otters was even spotted!
We LOVED it.
Go on treat yourself to this haven of tranquility!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything & (of course) the WI FI :-)
Liked least: Having to leave...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$80
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing