We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most magical way to experience Ireland.”

Review of Bansha Castle

Bansha Castle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bansha Castle
Bansha Castle at Christmas Bansha Castle lawns and Copper Beech
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Bansha Castle
Bansha Castle at Christmas
Bansha Castle lawns and Copper Beech
Snooker room
Bansha Castle
Entrance Hall
Bansha Castle 1895
Cahir Castle
Gardens
Sitting room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Bansha, County Tipperary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
micheller...
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
“The most magical way to experience Ireland.”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013

People say all the time they had a wonderful time in Ireland, but what do they really mean? If you love elegant, private living that is cozy and welcoming than Bansha Castle is the place to stay. All 17 of the Reardon's stayed for a week. Ages ranged from 9 to 75 and there was something there for all of us. We enjoyed Teresa and John immensely and they were so helpful with ideas for us on places to visit. We took day trips in our 4 rental cars after having long breakfasts, great workouts (we ran through the town of Bansha and found a nice 4 mile loop) while the kids played and worked out in the expansive front yard. We enjoyed buying our own groceries and cooking for ourselves as much as we enjoyed eating out. The back patio is wonderful regardless of warm or cold weather. We enjoyed Nelly's Pub. In fact, we knew we had found the perfect jewel of a location when we met a US-ex pat professor at the bar who spends summers living in Bansha and serving as a tour guide for large groups. When we told him we were staying with Teresa and John his reply was, "So your the ones who stole the house from me. I always put all of my tours at Bansha Castle." Can't say enough good things.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accomodations, the location, Teresa and John and Nelly's Pub
Liked least: Some of us had hay fever due to the spring-like weather but that's a real nit
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IssyMP
IssyMP
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous start to 2013”
Reviewed 9 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

This was the second time my husband and I had spent new year's eve at Bansha Castle with 8 friends and it was even better than last time. We booked in January 2012 to make sure we got it, as there isn't a more luxurious house in Ireland for a large group of people and it is very reasonably priced. Theresa and John can't do enough for you, when we arrived we had champagne and chocolates waiting for us and they were available for any questions we had on local attractions, best pubs and transport links. The castle is two minutes walk from Bansha village, which has everything you need including friendly pubs and a shop with all the basics. Nearby are the Galtee hills with lots of walking and beautiful views. Tipperary and Cashel towns are nearby where you can see famous castles and other sights.
Bansha castle is unique in having seven bedrooms that are all equally charming, so no one has to fight over who gets which and each has its own bathroom. The kitchen is better equipped than my own and the new outdoor terrace is a great feature. The full sized snooker table as always, provided hours of entertainment.
I couldn't recommend Bansha Castle more and will definitely be back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I love the grand charm of the old house and the unique spotless, comfortable bedrooms.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lambchop2...
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“DEFINITELY recommend to all my friends. DEFINITELY.”
Reviewed 15 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Gorgeous grounds, beautiful house. Absolutely perfect in every way. Wi-fi, washer & dryer, dishwasher, large fridge and big kitchen, things you wouldn't necessarily expect outside of the US. PERFECT for a reunion or any larger gathering. The little village of Bansha is just at the foot of the drive with a wonderful little pub, Nelly's. Groceries and other necessities are also in the village, easy walking distance. This is the perfect place to plan your day trips and excursions. The large Limerick Junction train station is only about a 10 min drive, which means all of Ireland is accessible from here, with regular trains running to points all over Ireland. Fly into Shannon as it's very small, easy to navigate and friendly. Bansha Castle is about an hour drive from Shannon airport. The Russels are wonderful hosts. They are next door should you need anything, including advice on travel or where to eat or any other questions. They can also arrange just about anything with a bit of notice. We went with a group of friends, now my sister and I are trying to plan a family reunion/holiday trip with our extended family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omesatexa...
Fredericksburg, Texas
2 reviews
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 11 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Don't look any further than this wonderful castle in Bansha! We enjoyed a week with the Russell's who make sure everything is easy, hospitable and comfortable ... Truly a home away from home. The location is perfect for day trips, scenery is beautiful the moment you step out the front door and the breakfast is yummy! Would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone looking for an awesome experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C c
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bucket List”
Reviewed 28 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Wonderful time. Beautifully appointed castle with ample space for large group. Well-appointed grounds with covered and uncovered decks. Gas grill at your disposable. Seperate bedroom and baths for all.

Owners John and Theresa were wonderful. Can't imagine a better settting for a large group. Not one complaint was heard from anyone in our group.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$738
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing