We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfectly Accomodating”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of marsh cottage

Cottage from the front in our field
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage from the front in our field
View as you drive down the lane way
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Cottage from the front in our field
View as you drive down the lane way
view from other side from field before we painted it pale blue
stove fire area
view to stove fire area
view of kitchen and sitting area with dining table
Corner of the kitchen area
view from the front door, rosemary, thyme and sage growing there...
main bedroom
Main bedroom
The back bedroom
The bathroom
view to the far right of cottage.
back view.
wall in front of the cottage
Streedagh beach
View from the back bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Grange, County Sligo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BieneB
Noepe
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfectly Accomodating”
Reviewed 4 December 2017 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I can't believe my review wasn't posted here before... either my bad or a technical glitch! My apologies to Catherine for not having kudos up here in a more timely fashion! I couldn't thank her enough for making our stay here possible, from the beginning with delays in booking due to horrible weather related problems at home, to resolving the booking company errors after our stay. None of that should reflect upon our vacation at Marsh Cottage. Catherine went far above and beyond to make our visit happen!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay... relaxing in the cottage, enjoying the serenity, feeling as if we were staying at a family place (not the usual stripped bare holiday cottage). We enjoyed our leisurely breakfasts and evenings by the fire in the cozy living area. Our days were passed relaxing there or walking on the beach, taking day trips to Donegal Town, the Giants Causeway and drives through the countryside, as well as shopping in Sligo, exploring the local sights and sites, and a few nights out at local places having dinner and connecting to wifi and letting the folks at home know how wonderfully our trip was going.

I've never heard anyone one say that Sligo should be on a top ten list of "must see" places to be in Ireland, so let me be the first. After many trips to other parts of Ireland, I have to say that our time at Marsh Cottage felt more authentic, real, and peaceful.

Our thanks to Catherine and her family for sharing such a unique place with us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2017
I am so glad that someone like you has really understood that Sligo is a hidden gem, which it truly is. Thank you for flagging that.
It was a pleasure having people like you staying and that you recognised that it is first and foremost a family cottage .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Nov 2017
So glad that you enjoyed it. You would be welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Faith E
1 review
“Lovely welcoming place very suitable for dogs”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We were at Marsh Cottage with our two rescue greyhounds for a week in early September. Sunshine and rain showed off the stunning landscape to dramatic effect. We were on the trail of WB Yeats and visited Ben Bulben mountain, Inisfree lake and the grave in Drumcliffe. Streedagh Beach with its rolling surf is sensational. More prosaically we were impressed by the SuperValu hypermarket in Grange with its great range of wines and local produce. The house is comfortable and old-fashioned with plenty of room and 5 beds. Our dogs were made to feel especially welcome.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_john_a_s...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Under bare Ben Bulben's head”
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Superb - exactly as promised. The cottage is secluded but not too eerily remote, extremely comfortable and - important for our two rescue greyhounds - very dog friendly.

Within easy reach are the magnificent Streedagh beach and Mullaghmore Point. For the Yeats enthusiast there's Lissadell House, which is very well restored and maintained, the grave at Drumcliffe, and the beauty of Lough Gill. All under the shadow of the truly impressive Ben Bulben.

Unique location for a great holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2017
I am very glad you enjoyed your stay, and pleased to know that your two rescue hounds thought likewise...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D
1 review
“Family friendly, tranquil, nostalgic, dog paradise.”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A superb welcome and the attentive proprietor have everything ready for you in this remote and well maintained traditional cottage. It became a wonderful paradise for our family and dogs with easy access to all the Yeat's Country attractions and the magnificent scenery and beaches. We particularly enjoyed our early morning walks on Streedagh Beach (5 minutes away by car) with the dogs, the Atlantic Ocean, Benbulben, millions of fossils and nobody else!
Good memories were recalled as the cottage brought back evenings and summers spent with Nana in her home on Co. Clare.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
So glad that you had a nice time Richard.You were such considerate guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing