We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow!! Home away from Home!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oilean Rua

Holiday home at Oilean Rua
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holiday home at Oilean Rua
Living / Dining Room Living/ Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Holiday home at Oilean Rua
Living / Dining Room
Living/ Dining Room
Kitchen
Bedroom with built in wardrobes
Bedroom
Bathroom
Walk in shower in bathroom
Hall
Hall
Sea views of Smerwick Harbour from Living room
Views of Mount Brandon from Living Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Ventry, Dingle Peninsula, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Aahnsiobh...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow!! Home away from Home!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Every year our family travel home to Ireland on vacation and after living in the US for many year this is by far the nicest place we have stayed in . This fabulous home in West Kerry has all the American amenities that you would desire and to be honest the photos do not do this place justice. The place was recommended to us by a good friend that lives in the area and we are SO glad that we stayed here.

This rental is a pure gem, the master bathroom is spectacular to say the least and the attention to detail and finishes throughout the entire place are not what you expect to see in a rental but what you would be accustomed to finding in a high end home. The walk-in shower is even handicap accessible for renters looking for that as an option. Everything was thought of when Ray and Sarah finished out the space. The owners live in an attached house next door and were so welcoming and were more than willing to assist in any way they could.

The kitchen is equipped with everything that you need and it was fantastic to have a washer and dryer in the unit. The peace and quite that you will find here is so refreshing, the unit is so well sound proofed that you don't hear any sounds at night time or in the morning, made for some nice sleep-ins.

I would highly recommend this to anyone and YES we plan on staying here again next year. Sarah and Ray Thank You for opening up your home to us and making us feel so welcome! We had a great time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quite
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, we look forward to seeing you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea F
Chisinau, Moldova
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage apartment with views of the water”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This rental felt like a bit of a gamble at first since there were no previous Trip Advisor reviews. It ended up being a truly lovely rental experience for us. The owners live in an attached cottage/ apartment next door. We didn't hear them at all. It was so nice, you almost wonder if you want to keep the secret to yourself and keep going back unhindered! But no, the word needs to get out to be fair to the owners. We interacted with Sarah who provided useful suggestions, answered questions, provided toys for our 3 year old to borrow, provided him a separate bed, and equipped the place very well so that we didn't really need anything. The furniture and layout were very nice. Next door there is a home daycare/ preschool and they were very friendly, it seems it would be an option to include a child into their setup if desired.
The lawn is spacious, the gardening and landscaping is lovely.
It was really nice to have a washer and dryer available. They also have a microwave, toaster, real oven, stove, fridge, basic pots and pans and dishes, etc. Inside the bathroom there is both a bath and a shower. The only thing that they don't have is a dish washing machine (but they had everything needed to wash your own dishes).
I felt like they had put a lot of thought and attention into making sure all necessary things were present like a peeler and a wine opener, towels, shampoo, hand soap, tissues, some washing detergent, starter kitchen items, etc.
The only potential negative to consider is that the road to the place from Ventry is a one lane road at places, and for those of us who aren't used to the narrow roads driving on the opposite side of the street it requires some bravery- especially as the locals drive much faster than the tourists. But the location is about a 5 minute drive from Ventry and 10 minutes from Dingle town, with some more nice places to visit in the opposite directions, so you don't feel isolated nor too far removed from the action.
I would not only recommend it to others, I would definitely go back myself.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2014
Hi Andrea, thank you so muck for your lovely review, so pleased you enjoyed yourselves, hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus J
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Der wunderschöne Ausblick
Liked least: Alles war sehr gut
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thank you Klaus for your review and we look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$97
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing