We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Traditional cottage in center of darling village”
Tigh Lals Thatched Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tigh Lals Thatched Cottage
Bedrooms Cottage from the Outside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Tigh Lals Thatched Cottage
Bedrooms
Cottage from the Outside
Living Area
Kitchen and Downstairs Bathroom
Views from the Roof!
Various Spiddal Pics
View with Garden
Beach (Trá na mBan)
Beach 2 From a Distance
Another view of Living Area
Showing driveway with Parking at Side and Rear
Old Fireplace
Another view of Kitchen and appliances
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Spiddal, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Jill F
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Traditional cottage in center of darling village”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We've been to Ireland a number of times and have often had to choose between a darling cottage and a good location. Lal's Cottage has it all! Roomy, well-equipped, and perfectly priced are just the start. Fun pubs, great restaurants, a pharmacy, a small grocery and a Wellness Center with fantastic massage and acupuncture are all within two blocks and the sea is just across the street. The owner is charming and took good care of us without hovering - homebaked goods upon our arrival! We loved Lal's Cottage and will stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Very good location. Spiddal is a lovely village and a great location to stay in order to explore Connemara further. Cottage is perfect for a couple. Everything is supplied that is needed. Well worth a stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spencemon...
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“well worth repeating”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

could not be a better great location enjoyed having my photo taken by passing tourists maybe
thought I was the owner ? the cottage was superb the home baking on arrival was most welcome then to return one evening to find a hot rhubarb tart waiting was out of this world.
In a nut shell would we return a big yes to that

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the hole experience
Liked least: noyhing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karrieal
Riverhead, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Perfect holiday rental.”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Recently my family and I had the privilege of staying at Lal’s Cottage in Spiddal. We had a wonderful time staying in this lovely cottage. We had all the conveniences of home, but with the charm of a picture-perfect Irish cottage. The location was ideal for touring the Connemara region and visiting Inis Mór. Carmel the hostess was amazing, and we are very grateful for all of her help. We look forward to staying at the cottage again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We liked that it was cottage, but had modern appliances that made our stay comfortable.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali G
Oceanside, California
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Well preserved, picturesque home right on the edge of the village”
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in October 2015

You couldn't ask for a better location, accommodation or host. Carmel was so warm and friendly, she made us feel like honored guests. From the fresh baked goods to the nice chat over tea, we just really enjoyed the stay. The cottage has been in the family for a long time and eventually turned into a vacation rental home with many of the original features still in place, like the thatch roof.

My favorite is the coin meter. Now, I've experienced rentals where the mystery of just how much this meter will cost you can be unnerving, but this isn't the case. You can see the meter running and you feed the meter as you go along. You decide with a flip of a switch what uses up juice on the meter and what doesn't. You could spend 10 euro or you could spend 40 in a week depending on how much energy you decide to use up. I like that and it kept the cost of renting such an extraordinary piece of property down to a very reasonable rate. Honestly, the cottage is just something out of time and we feel privileged to have stayed there. Ok, I'm gushing, but I'm not kidding.

If you need anything, just speak up. Carmel makes herself readily available and was genuine in her desire to make sure our stay was the best possible. That kind of hospitality is rare these days and totally adds to the charm of the place.

My rule of thumb for travel reviews is simple. I write them if a place wows me or woes me and this one, is a big WOW.

Go to Spiddal. Spend a good week and stay at Tigh Lal. It'll be an authentic and wonderful experience you won't soon forget.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, style and that 2 bedrooms had their own bathrooms
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing