We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Wonderful Stay in a Great Location”

Review of Dara-Bru na Mara

Bru Na Mara from the Air.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bru Na Mara from the Air.
Dara Dara from road
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Bru Na Mara from the Air.
Dara
Dara from road
Dara Lounge and Sitting room
Dara Master Bedroom
Dara Kitchen
Dara twin room
Dara Triple Room
St MacDara Church  on St MacDara island
Morning Mist on the Shore
The  Atlantic can also be romantic and wild
The inlet at high tide
Bru Na Mara and inlet from Mace Head
Roundstone  From Moyrus Beach
St Mac Dara Day Regatta (16th July)
Mace Pier at Sunset
Bru Na Mara from the Sea
Donkeys!!!!
Mac Dara Island from the Beach
The Main house, and our dog Spot.
Garden Panorama
Bru Na Mara and Mace Head
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Carna, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
George B
Lenexa, Kansas
1 review
“A Wonderful Stay in a Great Location”
Reviewed 11 October 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Dara is a wonderful cottage in a magnificent area. We immediately fell in love with Connemara and its many dramatic vistas. The location of Dara could not be more perfect with beautiful views out of every window. Riona has done a magnificent job in totally and very tastefully refurbishing the cottage. It was fully equipped and immaculately clean. As others have noted, Riona is a warm and gracious host who spent quite a bit of time advising us where to go and what to see. We were fortunate to be there during their local festival and we could watch the rowing and sailing races from our patio. We really enjoyed day trips to Clifden, Galway, Kylmore Abbey, Inishmore in the Aran Islands, and just poking around this incredibly dramatic area. There is something about Connemara that grabs at your soul and Dara is an excellent base from which to explore the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about it.
Liked least: The narrow road in.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan P
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect stay!”
Reviewed 24 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We needed a week of peace and quiet away from the madding crowd and we couldn't have chosen better. Dara is a well-equipped, recently renovated, top-notch spacious house with its own sitting-out area overlooking the pier in a most beautiful part of Ireland. Days were spent doing scenic drives, poking around Clifden and wandering along the many sandy beaches in the area, getting that sea air in our lungs and just generally relaxing. Riona was a gracious hostess who gave us lots of info on where to go and what to do. Loved it - highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monique_b...
Paladru, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I just want to be back there as soon as I can”
Reviewed 14 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

You need a (real) break ? Here the place. On you own, with your lover, friends, children, family... Bru na Mara in Carna is just an amazing place at the edge of the Atlantic. The feeling of being at the end of the world. I have been there three times. I'm just back and just want to be back there as soon as I can. I took the whole of my family (from 9 to 75 years old) at Easter, they just loved it. The cottages have just been renovated with a lot of taste. They are confortable and cosy. And the views are breathtaking. Riona the owner is very nice and very helpful. Although Bru na Mara is "isolated", it is ideally situated for touring Connemara, a place which will remain in your memory for ever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation and the accomodation (and Riona)
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstanti...
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent oceanview vacation”
Reviewed 6 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012

We went to Riona's house for the New Year's holidays with my friends. There were nine of us. And all conditions of our stay was very good. All bedrooms were nice and clean, kitchen well equipped and large, living room was comfortable and cushioned. We especially enjoyed the fireplace.
Our proprietor, Riona, was very kind to us. She told us about all interesting places we could visit in Ireland and asked to all our question about different stuff. Main thing about Riona, I think, is that she really cares.
People in Ireland are also surprisingly kind and friendly. This country is really worth seeing.
Thank you again for all, Riona) That was great!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: really close to ocean, excellent house
Liked least: there were some difficulties with wi-fi and mobile service
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brit W
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lage , Service, Ruhe
Travelling group: Erweitertem Familienkreis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing