We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worm hole”

The Worm Hole (Poll na bPeist)
Ranked #3 of 12 things to do in Inishmore
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Yes it is hard to find. it is about a km from the "main Road" down a dirt road and then a cow path. THEN one has a 3 to 400m walk on the rocks. Follow the red paint marks on the rocks.
WOW what a place. how Red Bull ever got all those people there I will never know. Well worth seeing.
Not from young kids (10 or less??)

Date of experience: June 2018
2  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"red arrows"
in 23 reviews
"on the rocks"
in 17 reviews
"red paint"
in 8 reviews
"cliff diving"
in 8 reviews
"natural wonder"
in 6 reviews
"an adventure"
in 9 reviews
"be careful"
in 11 reviews
"off the beaten track"
in 5 reviews
"rocky terrain"
in 5 reviews
"amazing sight"
in 4 reviews
"worth the effort"
in 7 reviews
"crashing waves"
in 4 reviews
"inis mor"
in 10 reviews
"the main road"
in 3 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 3 reviews
"dun aengus"
in 9 reviews
"pony trap"
in 4 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2018

We went on January 1, 2018. Very hard to find and we wouldn't have found it but for our tour guide. It's about a 20- minute rocky, descending hike, that's not really marked. The closer you get to the wormhole, the more slippery the rocks get bc they're covered in moss. You really need to wear the right shoes.

When we got nearer, we saw just how rough the seas were and how hard the waves were crashing. We should've turned around (or at least our guide should've told us to!). Well, we didn't. The currents were strong and the waves were HUGE but we didn't see any reach the wormhole, so we kept going. Well, once we got there, we got hit by THREE rogue waves, one right after the other. It was the last one that knocked us over and almost dragged us into the ocean. Thankfully, we saw how huge it was and we got into "bracing" position (stand sideways, get low, grab onto nearby rocks). After it hit us and knocked us over, the receding water current began to drag us toward the edge, but somehow, we were able to hang on. My husband thought we were going to die.

Sooo scary - but it's undeniably beautiful! The locals we talked to afterward said they really need to have signs warning about rogue waves and strong currents bc it happens often. Sure enough, I researched afterward and found a few news articles about people who got swept by rogue waves at the wormhole.

My advice: Don't go when the seas are rough! At the very least, bring a change of clothes or you'll be stuck in cold, wet clothes and socks until the afternoon ferry comes, during the long ferry ride, and on your long drive back into town. We were pretty miserable, y'all. On a perfectly calm day, I'm sure it's a sight to see.

Date of experience: January 2018
4  Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

We had no idea this existed until our pony trap ride stopped and let us out. It is a bit of hike through rocky terrain but well worth it. It is amazing and a perfect rectangular. The views from the top are breath taking. While on the Inis Mor it is a must do!

Date of experience: May 2018
3  Thank lisamR9064JZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Perfect rectangle cut into rock. Geologically easy to describe but visually an alien could have created. Tough hike over rock field but beauty worth it.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank MaryF382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

This was an awesome hike. Very Rocky so you need good dry hiking shoes or boots. But once you get there you don’t want to leave. Absolutely breath taking and really breathtaking when you see where the red bull divers dive from. Beware though no guard rails! My husband favorite hike and scenery!

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank janjanms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Worm Hole (Poll na bPeist) also viewed

Inishmore, Aran Islands
Inishmore, Aran Islands
 

Been to The Worm Hole (Poll na bPeist)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing