We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Place to relax with a fantastic view and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Striper Fishing at Cordell Hull Lake with Captain Jim Durham from StriperFun!  12-20-2015
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Striper Fishing at Cordell Hull Lake with Captain Jim Durham from StriperFun!  12-20-2015
Sunrise Lake view from Shore Line 2015
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Striper Fishing at Cordell Hull Lake with Captain Jim Durham from StriperFun!  12-20-2015
Sunrise
Lake view from Shore Line 2015
Porch and Hot Tub
Sneak Peek of Spring
Hillside with Deer at Evening
Entry Room
Upstairs GreatRoom
Downstairs Full Bath
Bunkhouse Full Size Bed  Plus Twin (Not Shown)
Well Appointed Kitchen
Private Master Bedroom Queen
New Walking Trail thru Meadowland 2015
Very Old Antique Prayer Bench/Altar on Property 2015
Your Own Private Porch!
Total Serenity
At Dusk
View of the Lake
Enjoy!
Gazebo Walk
Goodnight!
Inside Gazebo
Lounging!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Gainesboro, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CATHY V
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to relax with a fantastic view and a great kitchen”
Reviewed 15 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Upper Cumberland Cabin in Gainesboro, TN. This 2 bedroom suite is also known as The Blue Heron Retreat. There is a fantastic view of Cordell Hull Lake from the kitchen window and outside deck. You can relax outside on the upstairs deck or downstairs porch which both have very nice porch furniture on them. The master bedroom has a queen size bed and antique wardrobe to hang clothes in. The second bedroom has one full-size bed and one twin bed. There is also a couch in the den area with flat screen TV. Two tables are available for eating or for playing board games. The larger table seats 6 people. The kitchen is amazing with nice appliances including a refrigerator, dishwasher, and stove\oven combination. You have plenty of counter space to prepare and serve food and is exgtremely well-stocked with kitchen utensils, dishes, pots, pans, and casserole dishes. Two modern bathrooms are available. We also were able to use the WIFI with our tablet. Carla and Howard, the owners, are friendly and very helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to go back sometime in the next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: relaxing atmosphere
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2015
It was totally our pleasure to host you for your stay! Thank you for being such excellent guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason T
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place!”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking to get away, and yet be comfortable and this was perfect. Great hosts helped with information about the area before we arrived and during our stay. They made sure we were comfortable, but did not bother us at all. The area is beautiful and we had the opportunity to go kayaking and "waterfalling"! We cooked or made all of our own meals without any problem after stopping at the grocery store on our way from Nashville. it was a great chance to get away and hang out with some buddies! Comfortably slept all of us in five separate beds and even had a hot tub at the end of a long hike.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2015
So happy that we were able to provide you with a good experience. We enjoyed hosting you and hope to do so in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen N
Tucumcari, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Sometimes, the pictures that are shown on the internet site of the cabin that you wish to rent, isn't always the way they are in reality and there is great disappointment. When my husband and I arrived and Carla walked us through the cabin, I was blown away! The pictures did not do this cabin justice. I loved it! The cabin, two decks, and surrounding grounds are beautiful. Carla and her husband, Howard, are great and make sure you have everything you could possibly want. Carla has it decorated with many antiques. Very spacious and homey. I really enjoyed my stay and will definitely come back again! I would recommend this place in a heartbeat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Thank you for the great review. We were so glad that we could share a little of our Tennessee "pixie dust" with you and James. We hope to see you in the future. You were so nice, we felt lucky to have you stay on our property! Safe travels home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frequentt...
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
528 reviews
251 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“If you are looking for a little Solitude and Nature this is the place”
Reviewed 2 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

When I drove a mile up a hill from the nearest road. i knew this was going to be a unique place and it was!.. The home is tastefully decorated. The place is stocked with anything you would need.This place sits high on a mountain overlooking the valley and the Cumberland River.It has an upper and lower outside patio, both have great views of the valley. in the evening the hot tub is a great place to hang out.. This place sits in the woods by itself, so you hear birds singing all day.. I saw deer, turkey and rabbits on my trips off the mountain. The closest town is about 20 minutes.The owners of the property are great hosts. I will be staying here on my next visit to the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view and the solitude
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2015
So happy that you were able to enjoy our property. We hope to host you in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing