We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous”
Review of Ruby Falls

Ruby Falls
Ranked #28 of 154 things to do in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Ruby Falls is the tallest and deepest underground waterfall open to the public in the United States. Guided walking tours of the Ruby Falls cavern run daily, taking guests 1,120 feet underground to explore and learn about the incredible geology millions of years in the making along the trail to the waterfall. At the falls, experience the all-new light show highlighting the majesty of the waterfall and the soaring stone cathedral room surrounding the falls. Enjoy extensive views of Chattanooga, the Tennessee River and rolling valleys from Lookout Mountain Tower. Special events and specialty tours provide additional opportunities for exploration of this national treasure.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really pretty once u got there but there is one way in one was out and considering the fact that this is peek season they are shuffling 4000 people down these narrow paths where those entering have stand and wait for those existing... Quite unorganized for just a high volume of traffic...price rather unreasonable...

Thank Kathrine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missy M, Public Relations Manager at Ruby Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Kathrine S,

Thank you for visiting Ruby Falls and for taking the time to provide feedback. We agree, the waterfall is gorgeous! Due to the large volume of guests we receive each day and the one service elevator that transports our guests in the cavern, we do our best to ensure that all visitors receive the opportunity to explore underground. In our efforts to preserve the beauty and authentic state of the cavern, there isn't the opportunity to increase the size of the cavern walkways. Our guests learn more about our conservation efforts and the amazing history of Leo Lambert's discovery of Ruby Falls during our tours :)

We also encourage guests to avoid the crowd by purchasing Timed-Entry Tickets online to ensure their desired check-in time. This new ticket feature allows our visitors to SKIP THE TICKET LINE and spend more time exploring our new venues and enhanced guest amenities. Your feedback is very important to us. If you have any other details about your visit you would like to share, please feel free to message us.

Never stop exploring, The Ruby Falls Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5 681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"tour guide"
in 517 reviews
"elevator ride"
in 104 reviews
"colored lights"
in 95 reviews
"underground waterfall"
in 215 reviews
"light show"
in 161 reviews
"cave formations"
in 74 reviews
"take pictures"
in 190 reviews
"beautiful waterfall"
in 130 reviews
"under ground"
in 68 reviews
"natural wonder"
in 84 reviews
"half mile"
in 67 reviews
"gift shop"
in 160 reviews
"worth the trip"
in 111 reviews
"lookout mountain"
in 225 reviews
"incline railway"
in 70 reviews
"andy"
in 127 reviews
"rock"
in 405 reviews
Filter

74 - 78 of 5 681 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our tour guide was great and very knowledge about the cavern!! Highly recommend scheduling appointment time online, we were told you can do that and didn’t do we had to stand around waiting 45 minutes before our tour. The tours are long like an hour and half. The experience was worth it and I would recommend it to friends visiting the area.

Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missy M, Public Relations Manager at Ruby Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Vanessa B,

Thank you for taking the time to visit Ruby Falls and provide feedback of your experience. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your tour and had a great time with your guide! Purchasing your Timed-Entry Tickets online and scheduling a check-in time is the best way to SKIP THE TICKET LINE. Our guests can also avoid long waits and the crowd by visiting Ruby Falls in the morning and during the afternoon on weekdays. We hope to see you again soon!

Your feedback is very important to us. If you have any other details about your visit you would like to share, please feel free to message us.

Never stop exploring, The Ruby Falls Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wow! Simply beautiful! We were a party of six, made our reservation online and didn’t wait but 10 minutes in line. It is unreal to see all the formations and to learn how this cavern came to be a public visiting attraction. Wear comfortable shoes as it is a bit uneven down there. Our tour guide was awesome! We had a very cool adventure on a very warm day,,,, kids went zip lining and loved the views! All and all great time fit all ages!

Thank SDTEXANS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missy M, Public Relations Manager at Ruby Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi SDTEXANS,

Thank you for your feedback and for visiting Ruby Falls. We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience and that you didn't have to wait long to tour the cavern. Our online Timed-Entry Ticket reservations is a great way to SKIP THE TICKET LINE so you have more time to zip line and explore our new beautiful venues and guest amenities! We hope to see you again soon for there is always something new to learn and see at Ruby Falls!

Never stop exploring, The Ruby Falls Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was a beautiful cave with a falls inside of it. There were so many wonderful formations. The only problem was that you have to wait for the people that have seen the falls to go back out the same way they came in. There is a lot of waiting. It wasn't that cool inside the cave either.

Thank LongabergerLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missy M, Public Relations Manager at Ruby Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi LongabergerLady,

Thank for you visiting Ruby Falls on your Honeymoon! We are glad that you enjoyed marveling at the cavern's beautiful formations. It truly is a wonderful sight to see!

In order to avoid a large wait time we recommend visiting early in the morning or during the afternoon on weekdays. Guests can also SKIP THE TICKET LINE when they purchase their Timed-Entry Ticket online prior to their visit to secure their desired check-in time. While you wait for your scheduled check-in time we invite our guests to explore our new venues and enhanced guest amenities. The new ticketing process and our new venues ensure that guests spend more time focusing on the memories and not the minutes.

Your feedback is very important to us. If you have any other details about your visit you would like to share, please feel free to message us.

Never stop exploring, The Ruby Falls Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We drove 9.5 hours to visit Ruby Falls. It was our first visit during our TN vacation. We arrived around 4 on a Sunday. There was no line to purchase our tickets but we waited about 30 minutes to board the elevator to take us down into the caves. I think Ruby Falls is one of those places that has grown quickly in popularity and they are doing all they can to accommodate the crowds. Pack your patience during busy times. It is worth the experience I was pleasantly surprised with the long cave tour before seeing Ruby Falls. Our guide stopped at special spots but I really liked that there was an informational recording projected on speakers about that area so ALL people in the tour could learn about that spot, not just those close to the guide. There are so many cool things to see along the way. Once our group entered the waterfall location, we had 3.5 minutes to take pictures and enjoy the view. Our guide gave us notice that our time was almost up. Three and a half minutes doesn't sound long, but it was just right. I personally liked that the tour kept moving.

Thank W980FNjenniferw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missy M, Public Relations Manager at Ruby Falls, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi W980FNjenniferw,

Thank you for taking the time to visit Ruby Falls! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your exploration in the cavern. Ensuring that our guests have a wonderful experience is a top priority for us. With our new Timed-Entry Tickets that allow guests to skip the ticket line and our newly enhanced guest amenities, there is plenty of time for visitors to focus on the memories, not the minutes.

We hope to see you again soon!

Never stop exploring, the Ruby Falls team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruby Falls also viewed

 

Been to Ruby Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing