We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect break”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Great Bernera, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

A3423AKri...
1 review
“A perfect break”
Reviewed 2 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Beautiful location and position for this wonderful holiday home. A real gem.
A very practical and well thought out property that offers a retreat from modern life while also providing a warm and comfortable environment to relax and entertain. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: April 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandra d
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning holiday cottage. Fantastic base to explore Lewis & Harris ”
Reviewed 19 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Lucky enough to spend a week here on our Easter holidays. The house is beautiful, clean and modern. Everything and more supplied by the owners. Comfortable beds and bedding. Loads of warm water. Log burner for colder evenings, the underfloor heating would have been sufficient really but lovely to relax in front of the fire.
The house is amazing sitting by a small loch surrounded by rugged hills. Lots of wildlife so you will be constantly looking out of the huge windows!
Short walk takes you to Bosta beach, well worth the 1 mile walk. Seclude rocky bays less than a mile to the other side of house.
wifi better than expected to teenagers delight!
The house sits by the single track road leading to Bosta, dead end,so very quiet once dark. only a few passing cars,tourists or the farmer heading to feed his cows/sheep during the day. The road is single track for a few miles leading to the house, twisty but lots of passing places. we felt the challenging roads were all part of the adventure of Lewis/Harris.
Sally the owner called to check in on our first night and we felt able to contact her if needed during our stay.
Loch Choir is an excellent base if you want to explore both Lewis and also Harris and we did both. Returning to the house after a day exploring.
Would recommend to all and will hopefully return again soon.

Date of stay: April 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J7734PNia...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superlative!”
Reviewed 3 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Everything you need for a get away from it all holiday, even Internet!
Very stylish modern cottage in a stunning location.

Date of stay: March 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessica s
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best kept secret”
Reviewed 26 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Cannot say enough great things about out stay on Bernera and the house. The house is beautiful and right on a little loch. It was a little hard to find in the dark, but we made it. The kitchen was very well stocked with everything you need for cooking and baking. The beds were comfortable, bathrooms were large and has a great soaker tub downstairs with heated floors. Took advantage of the washer and dryer. TV and wifi worked great, and made for easy relaxing in the evenings after being out exploring all day. We did some of the best hiking on our trip at Bosta Beach and the surrounding area. Take the footpath to Tobson, it's well worth the climb. Could not have asked for anything more for our stay.

Date of stay: March 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stylish, comfortable accommodation in attractive location”
Reviewed 22 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Loch View proved to be our best holiday rental in the Hebrides in terms of our requirements.
We are fussy clients and want to be able to wander the hills and beaches in inclement weather, then return to a welcoming, warm and designed interior. We enjoyed the results of thoughtful planning which produced the outer store area where wet gear is stowed, a sheltered porch for boots etc and a proper coat rack to hang heavy outdoor gear. The addition of the tumble dryer within the utility room is so important for quickly completing a mid-week wash, ready for the next day's excursion.
The interior palette, room arrangements, kitchen equipment et al more than satisfied our fastidious tastes.
During our week, we concentrated our attentions between Uig Sands and the Butt of Lewis, enjoyed visiting Blue Pig and Borgh Studios, went Coastal Rowing with RowFlo on Loch Carloway, bird-watching at Loch na Muilne and Loch Stiapavat, beach-walking at Uig, Traigh na Berie and of course Bosta, and eating local produce from The Scallop Shack, Miavaig and fresh crabs supplied by Derek, local fisherman. From the cottage, we watched golden eagles and ravens overhead, starlings and wrens in the garden (and the Bernera wrens are a recognised sub-species) so at Loch View if you were inclined towards a 'lazy' morning, the wildlife comes to you!
A full and delightful week.

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.