We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a beautiful place to stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Sea Views from Atlantic View Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sea Views from Atlantic View Cottage
The Bright and Sunny Kitchen View from the Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Sea Views from Atlantic View Cottage
The Bright and Sunny Kitchen
View from the Kitchen
The Kitchen has 3 windows making it very sunny
The Twin Room Converts to Superking
Master Bedroom with Solid Oak King Size Bed
The Spacious Family Bathroom
Sea Views from Atlantic View Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Great Bernera, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julia_Fra...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a beautiful place to stay!”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived in the dark after the late ferry to Stornaway. The directions got us there even though this is quite a remote house. Anne had even left us a torch by the gate and had put in solar lights on the path that afternoon, knowing we would be arriving after dark.
Supper had been loving left in the warm house for us and Anne turned up within minutes to show us around.
We awoke the next morning to see ladders and paint scattered around the outside of the house, but also an incredible view.
Then the work men turned up and it was a quick rush to get dressed as they climbed ladders and began a days painting. Our relaxing day changed into a sight seeing day instead.
They turned up again the next morning, but to our relief, to just collect their scattered ladders and things and went off to do another job. Boy were we relieved!
Finally after 2 weeks of traveling we could now rest, take a late breakfast and head out on our morning walk in our own time.
Wifi didnt work at all. Anne mentioned it was slow but not one email loaded during the 4 days we were there. Could have just been the work men on the roof...but.
Also this house is on the road. Not a busy road i might add but had i of know, i would have booked the other house.
The house is warm, spacious and well appointed. Comfy bed. Beautiful furniture. Great fire.
A great deal of effort has been put into this property, but like all human beings, we are still learning. I had to clean the bath before i used it, but boy was it nice to soak in!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and warmth
Liked least: Workmen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKCCPADDL...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Atlantic View was a very comfortable and well equipped cottage which more than met our expectations. The weather forecast for our week was not encouraging at all, but in fact we had some perfectly lovely days and the odd shower was never a problem. On the food side we used both supermarkets 40 minutes away in Stornoway to stock up and the local shop for the odd item. We have stayed on one or two Scottish Islands before and the sort of car journeys needed to get around are easy enough once you have learned to manage single track roads. Maybe best to keep an eye on the fuel gauge as garages are few and far between and as with most things not open on a Sunday.
As keen birdwatchers we were not disappointed with fabulous views of golden eagle (from the garden !) as well as a variety of different divers along the coast. Our surprise of the week was a lovely female snow bunting about a mile from the cottage.
I had brought my sea kayak and spent some time exploring the Sound of Harris with Bart from Outdoor Harris. As coxswain on the local lifeboat he was a great source of information and my knowledge of the sea was greatly enriched. I missed out on paddling locally which was a pity as the water conditions were perfect.
We did all the usual things that everyone does and thoroughly enjoyed our visits to the Callanish Standing Stones, Gearrannan Blackhouse Village, Doune Broch and the Arnol Blackhouse. We would also recommend the lovely walks through the grounds of Lewis Castle and one of our highlights was the coastal path from the cottage towards Bostadh.
We feel as if we only just touched the surface really and in retrospect we could have spent a whole week on Lewis and another week on Harris. But if you do get down as far as Leverburgh then do follow the "golden road" as it is just spectacular.
All things considered this is just a beautiful place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Not one thing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calinda_1...
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect island retreat.”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Atlantic View is a very comfortable and well-equipped cottage in a stunning location on the island of Great Bernera. Although attached to Lewis by a bridge Bernera has an atmosphere of its own: amazing coastal scenery and walks, stunning Bosta beach complete with iron age house, a local museum and community cafe serving snacks and lunches and a small community shop and post office. If you must go further afield Carloway Broch, Callanish Standing Stones and the beaches of Uig are within easy driving distance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spidey68
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful, Tranquil with stunning scenery”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A wonderful cottage, that is well equipped. Comfy beds, en suite for the grown ups and the children had their own bathroom. A cosy lounge, that was a pleasure to come back to after being at the near by beautiful Bosta beach or surrounding area.
Theres plenty to do on the island whether it be walking, visiting the countless beaches and attractions, taking in the lovely scenery or kayaking for the more adventurous. The boat trips are fun too..
Whether you get rain or shine, i'm sure you'll be blown away by the scenery.
We saw numerous rabbits, a heron at the rear of the cottage with other local wildlife and even an eagle on one outing.
One's thing for sure, we will be making a return visit to this wonderful island and cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the property
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bleather...
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Atlantic View Cottage is very comfortable, homely and well equipped. We had mixed weather and on a couple of dreich days, the log stove gave the cottage a very cosy feel. We followed the waymarked walk which passes the cottage heads through the hills to the lovely Bosta beach and an iron age dwelling, returning by the road we popped into the local Community Cafe for tea and cake. We often enjoyed the excellent Community cafes all over the Islands. There's lots to see and do on Lewis and Harris. Stunning beaches, lovely views, big skies, fresh eggs from the wee croft down the road...........Fab holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: going home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$174
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing