We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Almost shed a tear when I left...”
other travellers have booked this property
Sea Views from Atlantic View Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sea Views from Atlantic View Cottage
The Bright and Sunny Kitchen View from the Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Sea Views from Atlantic View Cottage
The Bright and Sunny Kitchen
View from the Kitchen
The Kitchen has 3 windows making it very sunny
The Twin Room Converts to Superking
Master Bedroom with Solid Oak King Size Bed
The Spacious Family Bathroom
Sea Views from Atlantic View Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Great Bernera, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah R
Linslade, United Kingdom
1 review
“Almost shed a tear when I left...”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have just had probably the best two weeks of our lives. Atlantic View Cottage is a gorgeous, welcoming, comfortable place to stay. Anne has furnished her wee cottage to a beautiful standard, thick feather pillows and duvets, soft fluffy towels and a very nice cake to welcome us. Not forgetting to mention all of the information she offers about places to see and activities, best selling novels on the bookcase, books of historic interest, games, TV and a DVD player should the weather not be too favourable. Anne and Chris have though of everything to make this cottage a home from home.
As for the Isle of Lewis, highlights have to be paddle boarding on Riof beach, walking along
Luskentyre beach, the Atlantic hitting the cliffs at Port Nis, the Iron Age house at Bosta, the Callanish standing stones, the list is never ending. Lewis is an unspoilt, tranquil land that will not allow tourism to ruin it, and quite rightly so.
As the car pulled out of the driveway, and the Milky Way gleamed overhead (it was an early ferry back home and there is no light pollution) I was genuinely sad to be leaving and am already planning next years visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scenery- stunning
Liked least: The midges-remember your midge repellant- I forgot, but please don't let them put you off visiting, they're really not that much of a problem
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel A
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a wonderful week in Atlantic View Cottage. It is a beautiful property in a beautiful location. The owners are really helpful and they have thought of everything to make your stay more pleasant. The kitchen is very well equipped, the showers excellent and the beds really comfortable.

The only thing that could have improved our week would have been a guaranteed otter sighting. Now if the owners could arrange that....

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London_mu...
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Atlantic view cottage surpassed our expectations. The sheets were soft; the towels were thick and fluffy; pots and pans were heavy; the bookshelves were thoughtfully stocked with books of local interest; there were games for the children on a wet day; fresh flowers; and fresh cake waiting on arrival!

Even more, Anne was kind enough to accept a Tesco order which was arriving slightly before us. Anne was a lovely hostess full of information about the area and very approachable.

The cottage is well placed for beautiful beaches and site seeing. Who knew the outer Hebrides had sugar sand beaches and clear turquoise waters! Not quite as warm as the Carribean, but still plenty of kids in the water due to the Gulf Stream.

We could have happily stayed 2 weeks in Anne's cosy cottage. There is loads to see and do.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UkuleleFa...
Lochgilphead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A beautifully appointed cottage in a wonderfully wild place, great for exploring Lewis.”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Don't be deceived by the plain looking outside of this cottage. It is beautifully appointed inside, with every detail carefully considered. The kitchen is well equipped and the bathroom and en-suite were lovely. We were fortunate with the weather and were able to sit outside on several occasions.

The cottage is situated in a wonderfully wild setting. It was a great base for exploring Lewis and Harris. Anne, (the owner) sent us an excellent map in advance, showing us places of interest and good shops to use in Stornaway. It is worth stocking up early in the week as there is only a little shop in the village. The owners were helpful without being obtrusive. All in all, a wonderful holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation, the cleanliness and the attention to detail.
Liked least: Booking through yourselves as there were various hiccups.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piggywigg...
Keswick
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Well equipped and tastefully presented cottage in superb location”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We arrived at the fairly remote cottage having been given excellent directions. Despite its remoteness there is a petrol station and grocery store within a mile of it. This was very handy. We were greeted by Anne, the owner, who had left fresh milk and cake for our arrival. The cottage is very well equipped with an excellent kitchen diner. The bedrooms and bathrooms are equally well presented. It seems to have been recently refurbished to a high standard. There is a good oil-fired central heating boiler, an emersion heater and a log burning stove so there is no reason to be short of heat or hot water. However, we were fortunate enough to have had lovely weather so it wasn't an issue. There are some great walks around the area. As photographers we were able to get some good shots of Northern Wheatear, pipits, oyster catchers, gannets, stone chats, sand piper, etc. Seals were in short supply and I am convinced that Anne hides the otters until the guests have gone home!! All in all, this was a great week for the four of us. We would definitely try and stay here again if we get up to Lewis in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;