We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great accommodation in a perfect location.”
other travellers have booked this property
Sea Views from Atlantic View Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sea Views from Atlantic View Cottage
The Bright and Sunny Kitchen View from the Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Sea Views from Atlantic View Cottage
The Bright and Sunny Kitchen
View from the Kitchen
The Kitchen has 3 windows making it very sunny
The Twin Room Converts to Superking
Master Bedroom with Solid Oak King Size Bed
The Spacious Family Bathroom
Sea Views from Atlantic View Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Great Bernera, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DaveChris...
Christchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great accommodation in a perfect location.”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Very well maintained and equipped cottage in a brilliant location. Owner was very helpful but also unobtrusive. Lots to do on Lewis and Harris - there were very good recommendations in the cottage and these guided our visits and activities during the week. Can't think why we would stay anywhere else on Lewis.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie582...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Week on Bernera”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Anne gave us a very friendly welcome upon arrival and provided lots of useful information for our week's stay on the Island as well as a tasty homemade cake! Atlantic View Cottage is set in an idyllic location with excellent road connections to all parts of Lewis/Harris and is conveniently located on a very good circular 10km walk to nearby Bostadh beach which is very worthwhile completing. A small shop is about a mile from the cottage providing basic essentials but all other provisions will have to be obtained from Stornoway which is about 40 minutes away so we were pleased to have shopped before arriving at the cottage. The facilities at the cottage are first class with everything provided that two of us needed for a week's stay and the multitude of sheep surrounding it only added to the feel of the place!
Overall the experience we had was very good with only some indifferent weather affecting us but even this didn't stop us exploring the island and all it had to offer; other places you must see are Uig beach for its size, the Eagle observatory near Tarbert where we actually saw a pair flying and do stop at the Bernera Community Centre for tea and cakes. Biggest disappointment was not getting to see the otters which apparently live in the water next to the cottage!
One last piece of advice; we used the Tarbert-Uig ferry for our journey home but the roads on Skye are in appalling condition so we advise you use the Ullapool-Stornoway ferry for both outward and inward journeys where the mainland roads were in far better condition.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion of the property
Liked least: Only the weather could have been better.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROSEMARY...
Wicklewood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Atlantic View was a home from home”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The welcome we received at Atlantic View was excellent and the accommodation had everything we could have wished for. We felt at home straight away and were very comfortable. The setting was wonderful views out to sea and the loch. Good walks from the front door. Would love to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the comfort and the scenery
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hbutler_1...
2 reviews
“Superbly furnished and equipped”
Reviewed 3 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Beautiful setting and the cottage has been very tastefully furnished and equipped. Very clean and we received a lovely warm welcome. We would certainly visit again and recommend to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling that no expense had been spared, but was not 'over the top'.
Liked least: Kitchen/diner was on the small side
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Reviewed 30 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing