We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blackstone Lodge and Suites
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2015

After finding out the Super 8 in Deadwood gave my room away the helpful front desk lady reached out to the Blackstone Lodge to see if they could accommodate 3 rooms on a Friday and Saturday night which they were able to. All three of us had unique rooms and they were not your typical cookie cutter rooms which I love!! The staff was great and very helpful. Not a fan of any hotels free breakfast and Blackstone was no different. Don't get me wrong as I travel for a living and I have stayed world famous hotels which are picture perfect but the Blackstone is a decent hotel with a great staff.

Room Tip: If possible take a look at the room before checking in. Rooms are unique and I hope you enjoy that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KurtLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2015

Our room at the Blackstone Lodge & Suites was roomy, clean and comfortable. The sink/vanity was small, but it was outside the bathroom, which makes it so much easier for 2 people to get ready at the same time. There was no view, but since we only sleep and shower at a hotel, that's not important to us. We had trouble figuring out the heat/AC system. There is a switch on the wall, not near the AC unit, that must be on before you can control the temperature in the room. We had to ask the front desk staff to figure out how it worked. A laminated sign near the switch would save them a lot of calls. We also had trouble connecting to the free wireless. We had to go outside the hotel to be able to connect to the wireless. Once our devices were connected, we were able to use them in our room without difficulty. For the price, this hotel is a great bargain.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cincykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2015

We were very impressed the moment we arrived. From the ice water in the lobby to the look of the interior to it being pet friendly to very clean, comfortable, nicely appointed rooms to a very reasonable cost it was everything we want in a room. Breakfast was good and the beds are very comfortable. It is being remodeled so there are some finishing touches not yet done but overall still a very nice place. Only missing item was that there is no grassy area so even though it is pet friendly there is not a good place to take pets to.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spglk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2015

We stumbled on this hotel as a hotwire deal when we needed a room for one night in the area. The hotel has a new name and is under new management for this year and has just been remodeled. The bed was absolutely awesome. Never had a more comfortable bed in a hotel. Everything was clean and fresh. A hot breakfast was included. Also had smokin' fast free wifi.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PBSpeakeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2015

OK, I did not stay in this hotel BUT I wish I had!! We had left Deadwood earlier in the morning and were looking for some place to have breakfast in Lead. It had been my plan to book a hotel in Lead for the previous night but my fellow travelers were not enthused, which is why we ended up at Deadwood Station paying more than $100/room, to add insult to injury, since there was nothing available due to Jam Fest. Not much I can say about the DStation, except that being DEAD would have made it more tolerable. Anyhow, Lead was sort of torn up with construction so we stopped at the Blackstone to get info, and the staff was so kind and helpful. They still had the hotel breakfast room open and invited us in, though it was extra trouble for the lady staffing it, and gave us all the info we could use. I don't know the quality of the property, but I would stay there just because I know I would be treated well. Most hotels are pretty indifferent if you are not a customer, but not this place, and I wish them good health and happiness.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank COGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lead
1,1 km away
Town Hall Inn
Town Hall Inn
#1 of 8 in Lead
226 reviews
0,9 km away
Dakota Spur Hotel
Dakota Spur Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lead
67 reviews
4,4 km away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6,8 km away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 25 in Deadwood
579 reviews
3,9 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#9 of 25 in Deadwood
271 reviews
5,8 km away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackstone Lodge and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackstone Lodge and Suites

Address: 395 Glendale Dr, Lead, SD 57754-1034 (Formerly Palace Express Lead)
Region: United States > South Dakota > Lead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lead
Price Range: R761 - R1 618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2,5 star — Blackstone Lodge and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated, and under new ownership/management. We are a 70 room hotel with lots of new amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Blackstone Lodge and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Express Lead Hotel Lead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing