We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all that pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hickok's Hotel & Suites
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Reserved online thru Expedia. Arrived at hotel around 6:30 pm. Stood at hotel check-in for about 10 minutes - no one was there! Finally took a business card from counter was waiting at and called number on card - phone behind counter with no one there started ringing! Finally a man answered & I told him where we were - he said he'd page the check-in person. She finally arrived - no "I'm sorry, nothing!"
Got our room; very nice, however it is so freaking dark in here it is ridiculous! I am 60 years old and putting on makeup in bathroom tonight was almost impossible! I'm thinking I'll have to go to the casino bathroom at The Silverado just to be able to see! Bed very comfortable, old time tub that has a slight step to get into - if you don't see it, could probably break a toe!
Parking for hotel is about 2-3 blocks away; and is free/included.
I really wouldn't have an issue with this place except for absolutely horrible lighting.
They have "fancy" window treatments in both room and bathroom, but you should be able to raise them for light, but unfortunately, strings to pull up or down are useless/broken.
Stayed at Hampton Inn Casino several years ago and if we come back, will stay there, not here.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Owner at Hickok's Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for being our guest and for your review. Our staff does multi-task in order for our small business to work. I am sorry that you had to wait for a few minutes for her to arrive and check you in. We certainly could have provided you with additional lighting had we known of your difficulty. I am glad that you found your bed to be comfortable, and appreciated the window treatments and the free parking. We hope that you might visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We just wanted a snack, and were short on time, and noticed in the window burgers and dogs for $3. We went into the bar area in the Casino and ordered Two hot dogs, 2 chips and 2 sodas. The bill was $8.45. And they were good. The casino was clean
And the bar service nice and friendly.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MrsPickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Owner at Hickok's Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for stopping by to have a snack with us. Our 1/4 pound Nathan's hot dog and chips for $3 is a very popular item, along with our 1/4 pound Angus cheeseburger for $6. Our award winning pizza is hand made and the best in Deadwood. We hope that you might visit us again for a longer stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice room, staff seemed very put out like we were asking to much when the A/Christian would not shut of by offering us a heater instead of going to the room to check on the problem......Listened to the A/Christian run all weekend!!!!!! Very poor customer service. Would not stay there again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is non-smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Owner at Hickok's Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for being our guest. I will check the A/C problem that you encountered, and visit with my staff about our short comings surrounding your issue. We typically offer clean, comfortable historic rooms at a reasonable price, and we take pride in our customer service. I am sorry that we "fell down" in your case, and hope that you might visit us again so that we might have the opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We have stayed here 3 or 4 times now. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Deadwood. Would recommend to anyone going to the Black Hills. We did have an issue this time with house keeping not servicing our room. It was rectified immediately both times I went downstairs, once to the cage, and once to the bar. The gentleman in the cage, and the bar tender immediately brought up to our room what we required (towels, soap, etc). A very small smudge on an otherwise wonderful place. Would and will stay here again on our next trip to the Hills.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Owner at Hickok's Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for your kind words, and for being our repeat guest. Sorry about the housekeeping issue, but I am glad that we were able to rectify the problem quickly. Occasionally timing is a problem with our "do not disturb" signs....they are still hanging when the housekeepers are ready to leave for the day. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Beautiful rooms! huge bathrooms with jetted tubs. We have loved every room we've ever stayed in at Hickok's. Free parking pass, coffee 24/7 in the casino and coffee in the room. Our last stay, the day of our checkout, there was a parade so we were unable to get our vehicle out of the parking garage as the streets were blocked off. Hickocks let us store our luggage in a closet so we could still go sight see until we were able to get our vehicle.

Room Tip: some rooms are bigger, some rooms have multiple bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shalleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Owner at Hickok's Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you for your nice review, and for being our guest. During our restoration we tried to include many of the "creature comforts" that make for a pleasant guest experience....large bathrooms, room refrigerators, microwaves, coffee pots, etc... Thank you for noticing! While the Days of '76 parade delayed your departure, I am glad we were able to accommodate your bags, and you did get to view the great western parade on Main Street! We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to our town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.2 km away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 25 in Deadwood
724 reviews
0.1 km away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#4 of 25 in Deadwood
550 reviews
1.3 km away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Iron Horse Inn & Suites
Iron Horse Inn & Suites
#11 of 25 in Deadwood
185 reviews
0.2 km away
Bullock Hotel
Bullock Hotel
#17 of 25 in Deadwood
369 reviews
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hickok's Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickok's Hotel & Suites

Address: 685 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
#16 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range: R903 - R1 806 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2,5 star — Hickok's Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hickok's Hotel and Gaming is centrally located in the Black Hills National Park and is within easy driving distance to Rapid City, Mount Rushmore, Devils Tower, The Mammoth Site, and is located on Historic Deadwood Main Street. The property is within easy walking distance to almost all of Deadwood's activities and attractions. Guests will enjoy the casino in addition to free wireless internet, and meeting room space is available. The hotel bar features beer, wine, and cocktails along with award winning hand made pizza. Well equipped rooms and suites offer a multitude of room configurations. All rooms have a microwave, mini-fridge, in-room safes, iron and boards and coffee makers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hickok's Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hickok`s Hotel And Gaming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing