We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bullock Hotel(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$186
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$110
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$151
US$145
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Celebrity Hotel(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hickok House(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deadwood Dick's(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
US$163
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$187/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$116
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Wood Inn(Deadwood)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
80
42
8
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
80
42
8
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshuge bathroommain streetjetted tubbedroom suiteperiod stylethird floorold westturn of the centurysmoking loungepublic parking garagebed was comfortabletwo blocksslept greatbeautiful roomcasino barhistoric feelmodern amenities
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We have stayed here 3 or 4 times now. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Deadwood. Would recommend to anyone going to the Black Hills. We did have an issue this time with house keeping not servicing our room. It was rectified immediately both times I went downstairs, once to the cage, and once to the bar. The gentleman in the cage, and the bar tender immediately brought up to our room what we required (towels, soap, etc). A very small smudge on an otherwise wonderful place. Would and will stay here again on our next trip to the Hills.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Owner at Hickok's Hotel & Gaming, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for your kind words, and for being our repeat guest. Sorry about the housekeeping issue, but I am glad that we were able to rectify the problem quickly. Occasionally timing is a problem with our "do not disturb" signs....they are still hanging when the housekeepers are ready to leave for the day. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Beautiful rooms! huge bathrooms with jetted tubs. We have loved every room we've ever stayed in at Hickok's. Free parking pass, coffee 24/7 in the casino and coffee in the room. Our last stay, the day of our checkout, there was a parade so we were unable to get our vehicle out of the parking garage as the streets were blocked off. Hickocks let us store our luggage in a closet so we could still go sight see until we were able to get our vehicle.

Room Tip: some rooms are bigger, some rooms have multiple bedrooms
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shalleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Owner at Hickok's Hotel & Gaming, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you for your nice review, and for being our guest. During our restoration we tried to include many of the "creature comforts" that make for a pleasant guest experience....large bathrooms, room refrigerators, microwaves, coffee pots, etc... Thank you for noticing! While the Days of '76 parade delayed your departure, I am glad we were able to accommodate your bags, and you did get to view the great western parade on Main Street! We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to our town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Hickok's had a wonderful 1800's feel with a great location in downtown Deadwood. The bed was comfortable and the hot shower and huge bathroom were great as well. We had all the modern conveniences (except no exhaust fan in the bathroom) which included a refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, and a flat screen TV hung on the wall. But it was the fireplace, armoire, ornate wallpaper, old time lamps, flower-patterned chair, and the huge window with the shade and valance that really gave the room character.

This hotel was somewhat unique in that you did not have someone sitting at a front desk when you arrived and departed. You had to actually go into the casino part of the hotel to check in and check out.

We were here only one night and did not get to check out the good food reportedly served in the bar area. We would definitely stay here again. The hotel was reasonably priced. We did not hear noise from the casino below.

Great hotel. I give the service an average rating only because they really did not have to provide us any service while we were there. I actually did not see anyone working in the hotel, but my husband went into the casino to check in and check out. You get five stars for sleep quality and location, though!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Owner at Hickok's Hotel & Gaming, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you for your nice review, and for being our guest. Our hotel was constructed in 1898, and renovated about ten years ago. During the restoration, we maintained the important Victorian features unique to our history....the large windows, high ceilings, original woodwork, etc. But we those modern creature comforts you mentioined are a nice addition!!! I hope that you can visit us again so that we might display our customer service, and you can try one of our award winning pizza's at the bar!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Parking is 3 blocks from hotel checkin. There was a car parked in the 20 min parking from at least 4:oopm until 9:00 and then again in the morning when we checked out early. Rooms are clean but very small, staff friendly but not very helpful in getting refund as we left 1 day early and said we have to go thru Expedia to get refund.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank lonb934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Owner at Hickok's Hotel & Gaming, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you for being our guest, and for taking the time to give us a review. Our rooms do vary in size, as our building was constructed in 1898 and renovated in the early 2000's to it's present hotel use. We saved the important Victorian features while adding the necessary "creature comforts" required by guests today. We can surely find you a larger room on your next visit! When making a reservation on any "on-line" site, cancellations must also be made through that site in order for the proper accounting to occur. These sites typically charge the hotel 15% or more of the room amount, so we always encourage guests make a reservation directly with the hotel. I will pass along your compliment to the housekeeping staff, they do work very hard to ensure our rooms are clean and comfortable. We hope to host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Sadly, we were only able to stay one night in Deadwood, but the time that we were there was awesome. Our room was gorgeous. The staff, specifically Deb and Jack, were totally amazing. We had a deluxe room with a Jacuzzi tub at an amazing rate. The hotel is right on main street and we had a great view of Main St.. We will definitely go back. Deadwood is awesome and this hotel was great.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T, Owner at Hickok's Hotel & Gaming, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you for your nice review, and for being our guest. I am glad you found your room to be gorgeous!! During the renovation we maintained many of the Victorian features, yet installed the necessary creature comforts. Thank you for noticing! Our rates are among the lowest in downtown Deadwood, yet we are right on Main Street. I will pass along your compliments to our staff in general, and to Deb and Jack particularly. They work hard to make our guests feel welcome. We hope to see you again soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews