We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Total Tranquillity”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Gargunnock, Stirling, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

lonesmcc7...
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Total Tranquillity”
Reviewed 6 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We arrived on a Monday and were met by Ross, who showed us around and answered all our questions. Within about 10 minutes all three of us were in the hot tub soaking up the scenery (and prosecco)
The weather was wonderful and we stayed in the hot tub for hours. There wasn’t a sound, other than the occasional conker falling from the trees surrounding the outdoor seating area.
When it got darker the area was lit up by strings of fairy lights. We ate outside with the fire pit glowing beside us.
This is basically what we did for the whole time we were there! It was such a relaxing break. I usually come back from a holiday needing a holiday but we all agree that this was by far the most restful experience any of us have had.
We got our weekly shopping delivered to the door so we didn’t have to go into Stirling for any supplies. When we read the guest book, it looked like a lot of the visitors had used the cottage as a base and had gone off sightseeing. We never left the seclusion of the cottage, hot tub and outdoor eating area the whole time. Peaceful, beautiful surroundings, great facilities and the owners Ross and Helen were very friendly.
We were even lucky enough to get a couple of 4 legged visitors, namely the family cat “Cracker” and the cutest Beagle puppy you will ever meet.
We will definitely be going back.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F
Manama, Bahrain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family getaway where the pace of life slows down, time to just chat.”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Myself my wife and 2 grown children stayed over 12 nights in mid August as a family holiday.
The cottage was as advertised and having travelled in from Bahrain that day the welcome from Helen was wonderful. We felt at home from the start and were able to settle in very comfortably.
Most days were spent around the local area and access to main road routes was excellent, 10 mins into Sterling 45 into Glasgow etc.
Hot tub, games room, BBQ by the river, perfect. Most evenings we sat out in the BBQ area enjoying beers from the local brewery and a whisky or two from Deanston Distillery, ten minutes down the road and well worth a visit.
Later evening into the games room for a couple of games of snooker, no big breaks but a great place to carry on chatting into the small hours.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Calm, peaceful riverside location.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel L
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful, comfortable cottage in beautiful location”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Visited with a group of friends for a 40th birthday - the welcome was amazing from Helen and Ross and they ensured we were settled in. The cottages are in such a wonderful setting next to the river and its so peaceful. The hot tub was well used and in a lovely sheletered area under the trees so even though it was raining when we were there, it was still really lovely. The cottages are beautifully decorated and feel really homely and the beds super comfortable. If you add in the games room, wonderful countryside and welcoming hosts - you just cant get better.

Overall a lovely place to visit and I will definately be returning with family soon.

Date of stay: June 2015
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Holt, Michigan, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely family getaway where life slows down just a bit.”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My husband and our three kids (ages 10,14,17) had a lovely week at the Coach House. Traveling from the US it was a great place to use as home base for a week. The kids loved the rural setting, the game room and hot tub. My husband and I loved being able to relax and enjoy our Scottish countryside home. Would definitely recommend to family and friends and would come back again.

Date of stay: July 2015
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GH84_13
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven.....”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My husband & I, our dog, our 2 friends & their dog have just returned from lovely long weekend break at The Coach House. It did not disappoint.

We were received a warm welcome from Helen & gorgeous little Harris & were shown round. The cottage is beautiful & beautifully decorated. Its much bigger than the pictures suggest which we were really surprised with.

The cottage itself is well equipped with everything you need & its very cosy. Its definitely one of our favourite holiday rentals. The beds are super comfy, the towels are soft & fluffy & the lovely white towelling robes were a lovely little touch & great for hot tub time.

The hot tub & outdoor seating area really is stunning. Sitting by the river enjoying a few drinks with the Chimnea & candles burning & fairy lights twinkling was just lovely & a highlight of our weekend as was enjoying drinks in the hot tub. The outdoor seating area is well sheltered with trees so if the weather is a bit yucky its still lovely to sit out & enjoy. We barbecued, ate outside & sat in the hot tub for hours on our first night & the weather was awful but it didn't matter, we were well sheltered & loved every minute.

The games room is great too & again much bigger than expected. The boys loved the projector screen & the full size snooker table which was great to use while enjoying a few drinks.

All in all a great relaxing long weekend & we will definitely be back.....sooner rather than later, hopefully.

Huge thanks to Helen & Ross for their hospitality x

Date of stay: July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Thanks for the review guys - really glad you had a great time! Cheers, Helen & Ross :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.