We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 074)
Filter reviews
2 074 results
Traveller rating
614
805
307
139
209
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
614
805
307
139
209
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontlazy riverthrough groupona pet friendly hotelacross the streetenjoyed our stayparking deckthe room was niceoff seasonfull kitchenindoor pooloceanfront roombeach accesstrip to myrtle beachfamily vacationpetstubs
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 2 074 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Very outdated
Needs many repairs and updates
Rooms rooms are simple and small no more than a simple Motel 6
They have some nice amenities
Free mini golf and free movies
And are on the beach with wasy access to it
It is a VERY pet friendly hotel
I found to be quite disgusting
Elevators are rickety
The lazy river area smells so badly
They use salt I this area instead of chlorine and the smell of urine and sweat is unreal
The door to the rooms slam so hard it sounds like gunfire
Very very expensive for such

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanaResorts, General Manager at The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Lori,

Thank you so much for staying with us, and thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at our hotel with the Travel community on Trip Advisor! We were pleased to read that you enjoyed all of our hotel amenities, the free mini golf and free movies! In your review you mentioned that we use salt instead of liquid chlorine for our pools. Generally salt is used for residential pools only, with the amount of guests in our pools we are required to us liquid chlorine. We were very disappointed to read that you found our rooms to be very simple and small. We are aware that an experience such as this gives an impression of our facility that is very difficult to overcome. We can only tell you that is not the normal experience of a guest staying at Patricia Grand Resort. Comments and feedback such as yours are painful to hear, but vital to our continued success and improvement as a resort, for this we thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

First off, (booked 3 night stay-1 bdrm king suite w/murphybed & kitchen) we were thankful when we rolled into town early on 3/25, called hotel to see if they could let us check in early. They accommodated us within a hour. Great right? Well, no. Very old hotel/room wasn't cleaned properly...garbage on floor, hand smudges on mirror, carpeting in room dirty and ripped up. We called front desk, complained and they moved us to another room. GREAT again, right? Well, no. 2nd room: Was cleaner...however, no towels in bathroom, overhead kitchen fluorescent light kept falling open and hitting us on head, cabinets are so old and painted over so much; they did not close properly, no heat in bedroom-only in main living area, sink in kitchen backed up...everything about those rooms were pretty bad. Even outdoor furniture on balconies looked hygienicly questionable...clearly not wiped down, EVER. While we didn't complain about everything to the hotel staff, as we wanted to make the best of a disappointing situation...until, last day, we noticed some of our belongings missing. Of course, we notified front desk 2x's with no turn up of anything...of course. Shame on you Patrcia Grande! I will NEVER refer anyone to your shabby & shady hotel!!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank lsharp1064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanaResorts, General Manager at The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us, and thank you for all of your feedback. We wanted to let you know that all of the items mentioned in your review will be addressed and corrective action will be taken. We would like to apologize for any inconveniences caused by the unfortunate less that standard experience you had during your visit. We take guest satisfaction very seriously and in your case we performed at an unacceptable level. Comments and feedback such as yours are painful to hear, but vital to our continued success and improvement as a resort, for this we thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

The free buffet breakfast is very disappointing. Not much of a selection at all. Daily maid service does not exist. Waiting all day for a roll of toilet paper. Staff is friendly however! Is pet friendly!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank MaryAnn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanaResorts, General Manager at The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear MaryAnn,
Thank you so much for staying with us, and thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with the Travel Community on Trip Advisor. Needless to say, we were disappointed to read that you were not pleased with the free breakfast buffet and you had to wait for a roll of toilet paper. We would like to apologize for any inconveniences caused by the unfortunate less that standard experience you had during your visit. We take guest satisfaction very seriously and in your case we performed at an unacceptable level. Please be assured that appropriate steps are being taken to correct the situation. We can only tell you that is not the normal experience of a guest staying at Patricia Grand. Comments and feedback such as yours are painful to hear, but vital to our continued success and improvement as a resort, for this we thank you! Again, thank you for staying with us and for the feedback. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Yours in Hospitality,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We chose this hotel based on how close it was to the PeeDee Classic Car Show. The price was very reasonable given that it was ocean front. Free parking was a plus! We were able to park our car and do very little driving over the time we were there. The room was very worn. The bathroom was extremely small. Extremely small. Even through the finishings were worn, the room was very clean and we appreciated the huge closet and kitchenette. The free DVDs were a plus and the beach accesses were very convenient. The elevators were always busy (lon-ong watis) but that didn't surprise us.

Room Tip: Beach views are spectacular. If you're not patient for elevator waits, ask for a lower level room so you can use the stairs.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanaResorts, Marketing Coordinator at The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback, Pam. I have shared this information with our team and we are taking the appropriate steps to address these issues. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and will consider spending your next Myrtle Beach vacation with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

I have been going to The Grand since the early 1990s, and with the most recent visit, I can honestly say that the quality has done nothing but consistently gone up. Request an ocean view room at the time of making the reservation; the view is spectacular and the higher the floor, the better the view. The staff has be superb on every visit, and the activities in the surround area are OUTSTANDING.

Room Tip: Request ocean view on one of the higher floors.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Bryan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanaResorts, General Manager at The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear Bryan,
Thank you so much for staying with us, and that you for the five star rating on Trip Advisor! We were excited to see that you put extra emphasis in your review as to how the quality of property and accommodation has done nothing but consistently improved!! We take a great deal of pride in providing true "Southern Hospitality" to our guests and it sounds like we accomplished our goal. Again, thank you for the positive feedback, we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to the Myrtle Beach area. Until then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews