We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$132
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Palms Connector(Mount Pleasant)(Great Value!)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shem Creek Inn(Mount Pleasant)
US$280
US$149
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Wyndham Garden Charleston Mount Pleasant(Mount Pleasant)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SpringHill Suites Charleston Mount Pleasant(Mount Pleasant)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
US$131
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
US$148
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plantation Oaks Inn(Mount Pleasant)(Great Value!)
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$735
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveller rating
166
104
58
25
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
104
58
25
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater taxifish housebeach clubsecret roomfree shuttletop secretreel barnew buildingcharleston harbor resort and marinauss yorktownbeautiful view of the harboranniversary weekendpatriots pointcargo shipsbit datedaircraft carrieran upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 375 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Would never stay here again. Here’s why. Check in started off great with it being so busy there were 1) no luggage carts so we carried our stuff up. No big deal really but 2) the room was dirty upon entry - floor not mopped or even swept (you could feel the dirt on the bottom of your feet), large handprints and dirt all over ceiling near the door as work must have been done recently on the hvac unit but no one bothered to clean or repaint it, all topped off with BROKEN GLASS shards on the floor in bathroom, 3) ice machine broken during entire stay on 2nd floor with a sign up on it that looked like it had been placed some time ago, 4) non-existent pool filtration system - each pool and hot tub has debris, bugs and grasses floating on top of the water, all day and night, with no attention, no skimming, no visible maintenance - someone even spilled a beer in the main pool which then frothed up and floated over to the corner of the pool and made the whole area stink like beer, 5) never any towels in the smaller hotel pool in the morning, 6) special event filled the Parking lots requiring their valet service - normally that would be a nice bonus but then 7) they literally lost our car key making us late for dinner which then resulted in us having to Lyft to which we had to get the hotel to reimburse us for. Next night, same thing happened, lot full upon our return back to hotel and we were then told of their are no spaces they would only valet us “for an up charge,” (the audacity!), before I had a chance to respond to that they told us to park in their handicap spaces - lovely. 8) poolside grounds unkept - piles of dirt and debris throughout on the small pool side and never once did we see anyone cleaning it - no morning maintenance or upkeep, 9) bird poop stains and dirt all over the patio roof below us which is the view from your room which was absolutely disgusting looking 10) housekeeping skipped room cleaning altogether on the last day there and we were out of the room mid morning leaving plenty of time 11) not enough lounge chairs at the pool and considering the total lack of any shade to escape the sun on the pool decks, definitely not enough umbrellas to go around - I think on the main pool deck there were maybe ten umbrellas and if you saw the size of the deck you’d see is ridiculous, 12) no recycling bins outside (even had another guest come up to the desk when we were trying to get our lost car key and complain about the hotels lack of recycling efforts stating that everyone outside at the music event was throwing all their bottles and cans in the trash), 13) overall the smaller building side was a little run down, particularly the room which had old furniture which was damaged with finish peeling up in some places and a mini-fridge that was the size of my dorm room fridge with broken shelves, headboard on one of the beds broken, mattress sunk in the middle. Just at lot of annoying things and given the nightly rate were just outrageous. The hotel should be ashamed of the condition of the room and the failure to properly maintain grounds. I will say each interaction with staff was great and their customer service verbally was friendly and attentive.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Kenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonHarborMgmt, Front Office Manager at Harborside at Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Kenny H,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We appreciate you taking the time to do so. I am very sorry that you experienced issues during your visit and would love the opportunity to discuss it with you. Please contact our Front Office Manager, Matt, at 843-856-0028. Thank you again and we look forward to speaking with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I have been going to this resort for number of years. In fact, I gave it a very good write up a number of years ago and we have sent them a lot of business. We've probably been there five times for a couple nights each time. We were excited because my sister-in-law was visiting and we wanted to show her a great time since her husband had recently passed away. We bragged about how wonderful this place was, and it could not have been farther from the truth. It was dirty, and unkept, many of the amenities did not work or were not available. There are enough robes to hang in the room, and the two we had or extremely worn. I had to call down three times and finally making a stop at the desk to get one. The very small old tv was not working. Rooms and activities were not available. Wallpaper was coming off, the carpets were dirty. Also, no one talk to us or greeted us. The staff this time was not friendly. Nobody seemed to care we were there and alive. It seems all their energy, money, and time went towards their sister hotel next door. I received an email from them and they wanted to know how the trip was. I honestly told them and I received no feedback whatsoever. They don't care. We felt like we wasted our money, and worse, it wasn't special for our sister-in-law after spending around $500.

Room Tip: Do not go there.
Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlestonHarborMgmt, Front Office Manager at Harborside at Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Donna D,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We appreciate you taking the time to do so. I am very sorry that you experienced issues during your visit and would love the opportunity to discuss it with you. Please contact our Front Office Manager, Matt, at 843-856-0028. Thank you again and we look forward to speaking with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I wish I could give a higher score for this place. It really looks nice online. The sister facility called beach club looks much nicer in person. I would probably choose to stay there next time.
Harborside has some problems. The rooms are very tiny and although they are colorful and pretty, they have only a tiny pedestal sink in the bathroom, a tiny fridge, and very little space to walk or move or place your luggage if you are more than two people. We could not find fresh coffee that tasted good. For the price there should be some type of breakfast available. There is a restaurant close by but it is extremely expensive to eat breakfast there every day.
Every day, several times a day, we had to go downstairs and get new keys because they were having system problems. The first night we were there (Friday night) a band was on the beach on and it was very loud. There were cars everywhere and it was impossible to find a parking space because the local people had crowded onto the beach area. NOT family friendly.
There are no chairs at the beach area either. And the beach area is too far from the water to really make it worth anything. The pool was very small and not exciting. The pools at the beach club were beautiful and we were able to use those thank goodness.
The location of this place is nice and the view across the harbor to Charleston is wonderful. The people were kind but we had to ask for a lot of help. We needed blankets because the bedding was not adequate. The air conditioning system was extremely loud and woke us up several times a night. We had to set the temperature to 66 or 67° just to get it to 74° actually. We called for help about that and they told us that’s just the way it is. Our sliding bathroom door came off it’s track and we had to call for help with that. They couldn’t do it right away and said they would have to come back later that evening. Meanwhile we couldn’t get into our bathroom.
The cleaning staff was kind and did a good job. Pretty sunsets by the marina too.

Like I said, I wanted to love it. Just not at all worth the money we paid. We will not stay here again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The "resort" fee is obligatory, even if you are parking a boat in the marina, and not using the "resort" - it is also obligatory for those staying at the hotels on the foreshore. Having paid for and experienced this "resort" service, I am obliged to write this review, so others might know what they are getting for their non-optional, extra fees.

This review does NOT adjudicate the accommodations of either the Harborside or Beach Club buildings. It refers specifically to RESORT amenities, as follows:

A tiny, un-maintained fitness center with a few machines and free weights. Two out of three treadmills have parts hanging off. Towels tray is empty. Bottled water is sometimes available when a flat of bottles is left, unopened, on a table by a mini-wine-cooler fridge. Machines aren't wiped down, but there is a roll of grocery-cart wipes to do it yourself (if it isn't empty). Roller shades over the windows are broken jerry-rigged in place. There are a lot of mosquitoes in the fitness room too, (I know, weird). On the bright side, it is a nice, cool 60 f.

We are personally concerned about parasites in waterfowl droppings in "The Beach Club" pool (in front of the blue roofed building). The pool and area surrounding it is beautiful, which is why the scavenging seabird situation is unfortunate. There are some overpriced bars, with expensive pool-side service, the food selection is minimal and outrageously priced. If the humans aren't crazy about the food, the seagulls are! Actually, the gulls go out of their way to get at it. We saw one woman chased from her lounge chair by gulls on the attack (ever seen Hitchcock's The Birds?), to get at her food the instant she turned away to pick up a book. We saw this happen while we were swimming in the pool. The servers (plural, might be an exaggeration), are oblivious to, or simply leave, dirty dishes and leftovers out for the birds. We saw seagulls frolicking in the pool, washing their feathers, leaping out of the way of children trying to chase them. But it was only "charming" until we noticed white, gritty, clouds in their wakes. We also saw gulls, fighting over scraps, and then, bombing the pool in flight. Suddenly, the cups, bits of food, and crab shells, lolling around on the bottom of the pool, in cloudy water, made sense. Disgusted (and concerned), we got out of the "resort's" crowning jewel, took long showers, and researched the dangers lurking in seagull poop! Our concerns are: whatever can survive the digestive system of a carrion eating seabird, will survive chlorination. The pool's filters will catch the cysts (if the water they are in goes through the filter), but unless the water is literally pumped from one closed system to another (without returning the filtered water to the unfiltered water, as is the case for a swimming pool) 100% of the water passing through the filters will never be achieved, 'nuff said.

Downtown Charleston is accessible via "resort" shuttle service, as part of your executive-class resort fees. It is a minivan that leaves every two hours during the day and evening and drops you off in the historic heart of downtown Charleston. Make sure you get the last shuttle back or have a way to get an Uber. Actually, that goes for ANYTIME you plan on using the shuttle (have backup transport on standby) Don't count on the van. It has a tendency to have more riders than seats available, and you'll be left standing in the oppressive heat, like some musical-chairs loser.

The grounds are beautiful. The Maritime Museum is fascinating. There are trails in the woods. Don't get caught walking on the golf course, though! Ooh naughty!

All-in-all, the "resort" fees are way out of line. Adding an extra fee and calling it a "resort" is comically pretentious, given what you get.

Room Tip: Aggressive, habituated seagulls (and their droppings) in and around the "Beach Club" pool
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Morgan_Stone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great staff. Central to everything. They have a water taxi and shuttles. Great Fish House for dinner. Next to USS Lexington and water transport to Fort Sumter. Only slight drawback is rooms starting to get worn out. But wonderful stay.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Pattonsghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews