We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST DO ADVENTURE ”

Backwater Cat Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: To book go to our website Backwater Cat Adventure dot com. Drive your own 2 seat catamaran while your guide (on his boat) leads you on an amazing 2.5 hour adventure around the beautiful marshlands of Hilton Head Island. Experience the excitement of being on the water at speeds up to 30 MPH. Slow down to see dolphin, manatee and other sea life. Great for young and old alike!
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Saw this on TripAdvisor and the pictures looked awesome so we decided to give it a try. I was hoping for a fun morning, but wow, it definitely EXCEEDED our expectations. The most fun thing we did in Hilton Head hands down. The boats were quick and easy to get the hang of. Our guide, Patrick, gave a quick lesson and off we went. He did a great job keeping us moving and zig zagging through the water making it fun and challenging. He took multiple pictures along the way and we are excited for them to be emailed to us. We saw a group of dolphins which swam along our party of boats.

If you are questioning the adventure, DO IT! You will not be disappointed. Great guides, great baits, and a blast of a time. We can’t wait to come back to the island just to go again!! Made our trip! Thanks, Patrick for a great morning on the water!!

Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen E, Owner at Backwater Cat Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Wow!! What a great review. It says it all. So glad you had a great time and it made your vacation so memorable! Patrick is a great guide and really goes out of his way to make sure people have a great time on the water. Thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain tom"
in 145 reviews
"saw dolphins"
in 53 reviews
"bull island"
in 13 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 32 reviews
"awesome guide"
in 10 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 34 reviews
"open water"
in 12 reviews
"unique experience"
in 10 reviews
"super fun"
in 17 reviews
"hilton head island"
in 41 reviews
"took pictures"
in 11 reviews
"sunset tour"
in 12 reviews
"great tour"
in 21 reviews
"daufuskie island"
in 23 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 11 reviews
"three hours"
in 8 reviews
"an absolute blast"
in 9 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We took out-of-town guests and did the Sunset Cruise. We had a great time on the Cat adventure. And the sunset was fabulous! Allen was our guide and he was perfect.
We will definitely do this again when other guests come to town. Only suggestion - bring bug spray for the break time on the island beach.

Thank Laurel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen E, Owner at Backwater Cat Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the great review! The sunset tour is my favorite. We now have bug spray for our stop on the beach. They are only out on our sunset trip, so we are considering somewhere else to stop now. Thanks for sharing and the 5 Stars!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I took the cat adventure last week while on HHI. I wanted to do something different then the normal boat activities, and this was awesome! We had a such a great time. If you like water, driving your own cat, and going fast, this is for you!
It is a pricey outing, but well worth the tour, time and talent with the guides. Very fun!

Thank Marcielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen E, Owner at Backwater Cat Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Fun and different...that is a great way to explain our trip. It is not your same old boat trip. Driving your own 2 man cat is exciting and we have such beautiful places to go around HHI. Thanks for the 5 Stars!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've gone on this trip two years in a row. Well worth it. Bailey is a terrific guide who knows the island well. Excellent activity for the whole family.

Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen E, Owner at Backwater Cat Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We absolutely enjoyed this excursion!! Wore flip flops and athletic shorts, with tank and had no issues drying out. There was a place for my phone, wallet and sunscreen. Water was provided. An opportunity was provided to switch drivers mid trip, if you wanted. We ended up pulling up our bimini top for some shade mid trip. Saw some dolphins and the view from water, vs land was just so neat. These little things can really get doing. So. Much. Fun!

Thank Anngenette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen E, Owner at Backwater Cat Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thanks so much for the great review!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Backwater Cat Adventure also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Backwater Cat Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing