We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (368)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveller rating
177
121
34
22
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
177
121
34
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea pines beach club next door twin beds oldest marriott dogwood building marriott property harbor town and south beach time share living room ping pong ocean front second bedroom rented bikes vacation club hilton head island an older property full kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 368 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2018

I was pleasantly surprised with this resort. This was only our second time on Hilton Head and our first in the Sea Pines area. Our room location, layout and renovation was well beyond our expectations. The amenities at the resort were also great; lots of options for the adults and kids; and the bike, chair and umbrella rentals were very budget-friendly.

Stayed: September 2018
1  Thank AmberG8R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your visit with us! Thank you for your review and for making Marriott Vacation Club your home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

This is the original Marriott Vacation Club location on Hilton Head. Currently being renovated in phases. We were not fortunate enough to get one of the renovated villas although we were lead to believe we would. The villas are smaller than other MVC locations and beware, the 2nd bedroom has single beds not the usual full or queen. Parking is limited and somewhat a hassle especially since there are usually 5-6 MVC and cleaning services vehicles parked in prime parking spots. The location is great, on the beach, and it is right beside the Sea Pines Beach Club. You have to pay the Sea Pines gate entry fee, $8, the first time in then they give you a pass for coming and going at check-in. I personally prefer the Grande Ocean over the Monarch.

Stayed: September 2018
3  Thank Chip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

We are always pleased to read about our guest’s #vacationgreatness on TripAdvisor! Thank you for your review and for making us your home away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

The Monarch is like the grand old hotels of days gone by. Yes, as people mentioned there have been renovations but, we were told the renovated units are for the owners (it’s part of Marriott Vacation Club). We stayed in an non-renovated unit. The furniture was worn and felt gross to sit on. There was paint peeling in the hallways, and concrete walkways that needed painting? They needed something. So much was just not up to Marriott level in my view of Marriott. There is a beautiful walkway with lots of books to sit in and relax under shady trees. They have a place for remote control boats but, no boats. No sign or info explaining why they have the controls but no boats. There are 2 gorgeous pools and some things like shuffleboard. But you can not see the numbers to score. Things were just worn out.
The bright spot is really great, kind employees. Enjoyed beach yoga and black jack. Conroy made some great smoothies.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank IMHO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Thank you for letting us know about your visit to Monarch at Sea Pines! We appreciate your feedback and continue with a full renovation project that will certainly provide a great experience for our Owners. We do hope to welcome you back soon to Marriott Vacation Club!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

HHI, on the beach, in Sea Pines, next to the new beach club, units just renovated.....can't ask for anymore than that. Charming location, close to the gate for access to Coligny, dining, easy ride to Harbor Town, plus it's a Marriott. Clean, comfortable, great beds, linens great for families or couples, no surprises.

Stayed: December 2017
2  Thank randy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to let us know about your stay! We are happy you had a great visit to the resort and look forward to more #vacationgreatness with your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

My family of 4 had a wonderful week at the Monarch. The beach access was great right off the property. Condo was clean, well stocked, and comfy. My children (11 &13) had fun playing corn hole, pool, and ping pong. The grills work great and were very clean. The weather was good except for a few showers/downpours daily. This made the pool fill with a fair amount of debris, wish it could have been skimmed more. Enjoyed having the ability to rent bikes right on the property. Spent a lot of time riding throughout Sea Pines and HHI. Having spent time at other resorts in the area we were a little disappointed at the costs for all the activities on the property. Fire pit was nice for smores, brought our own supplies to allow the kids to enjoy this, or you could buy kits in lobby. All the staff was pleasant and attentive. Overall great week and plenty to keep everyone happy.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank svalucka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you for sharing your #vacationgreatness on TripAdvisor! It's great to hear your enjoyed your time at the resort and we look forward to your next stay with Marriott Vacation Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews